We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay but some faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay but some faults”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife, out 10 year old son and I stayed here from 28 May - 4 June 2014.

We travelled independently, booking flights with Ryanair and the hotel reservation was via Travel Republic. We arrived at the hotel around 11pm on Wednesday evening and at reception we showed our accommodation voucher and passports. After going through the checking in process we were advised there was a problem, they didn't have a room for us!
A few nervous moments were suffered before reception were able to confirm their sister Hotel the Belvedere some 100 metres away did have a room for us for the night. We were to go there, stay the night, take breakfast there and come back in the morning at 10am when there would be a room. The receptionist also added that because of this they were upgrading us from half board to full board with free wine and water at every meal. When presented with this complaining seemed a little futile so we left to the Belvedere for the night.

Next morning we returned at 10am as requested and our room wasn't ready but we stored our luggage, no problem. We finally got our room after lunch and it was fine, on the third floor (3112) overlooking the pool. Having said that the air conditioning controller was hanging off the wall but being early in the season we assumed the air con wasn't yet operational as there was probably only 2 nights during our stay when it would have warranted turning it on. In addition one of the plug sockets near the bed was loose but not what I would have termed unsafe. Tip regarding the tv, take a flash drive and put some films or series on it as the tv is modern with the appropriate connection. Also if you use the remote you can change the language on Discovery channel to Ingles (English).

The hotel itself is picturesque, done out with murals depicting roman scenes and a lovely large stained glass skylight in reception.The outdoor pool area is very good, well maintained and clean. Similarly the indoor pool and spa is also well maintained.
The restaurant is large and can get busy at peak periods but this is a busy and popular hotel so to be expected. The food quality and range was good, there is enough on offer to please all but the fussiest of eaters and for those who really like to party all day, there is bubbly on the breakfast buffet every day!
On certain evenings there were themes, Italian night and Seafood night for example. The only thing that does need attention are the menu's displayed outside the restaurant. All too often what was actually served bore little or no resemblance to what had been listed, it seemed as if the chefs cooked dishes that either weren't displayed or variations of what had been listed!

The Animation team did a fantastic job of keeping guests entertained both inside and outside by the pool. If you visit, join in the Water Polo played late afternoon, what a laugh.
The entertainment in the evenings was a bit hit and miss. I'm a musician so watching a girl sing to a backing track really doesn't appeal at all. They could have really done with a live band to get people up dancing.

On the day of our departure we paid extra to keep our room until 5pm which was great as our flight wasn't until 10.30pm from Reus. However, on arriving at the restaurant for what we thought would be our final meal (a meal we had paid for not, part of our upgrade) we were advised it wasn't included. We took this up with reception who said our evening meal should have been taken on our first night. This had been impossible due to not arriving until 11pm and then the no room debacle so us moving hotel and we told them of this but to no avail. It did leave a slight bitter taste in the mouth especially as they had done so much at the start of the holiday for us.

So, in summary we enjoyed our stay and our son had a great time making friends and joining in the Animation Teams activities.
The menu's need sorting outside the restaurant and a little more attention to detail with the fixtures in the room would help.
Guests arriving should never have to be told there is no room for them but they did make up for this with the upgrade.
An evening meal on our final would have sent us home happy and not hungry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Clients,

First of all I have to apologise, of all the inconviniences we could cause, unfortunately sometimes the incidents happened.

The day of your arrival we had a technical problem in your room, so we could not solve it till next day.

I feel very sorry because of the last lunch, if you would get in touch with me, I would arrange it.

In any case thank you very much for your comprehension, we hope to see you back here very soon. If you decide to come back, please contact me, I will make your holidays very spetial, you deserve it.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    738
    287
    94
    62
See reviews for
1,607
612
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I am writing this review to all of the people who have complained and whined about petty little things whilst staying at this hotel.
Firstly, we are due to return to the Vil La Romana again for the 8TH TIME ! On JULY18TH 2014 for 2 weeks.
OK , so you were not keen on the food ?
We are a family of 6 (2 adults 4 children age 15,12, 12, 7). We have never had a problem with the food or the variety of it.
Maybe your complaining about load of kids running around. Well sorry IT`S A FAMILY HOTEL !
Animation Team (Pepito, Toni, and Fanny) were absolutely fantastic. By the way animation is done in several languages (Spanish ,French German, Dutch, and English).

Now the big one.!
Never at any time have we felt that any staff member was rude to us.
In fact the last time we stayed we were given such a friendly welcome (including the hotel manager).
WHICH IS THE MAIN REASON US STAYING HERE.

I am personally offended by these unfounded comments of rudeness to the people who have become friends to us.
So to all the people who are thinking of booking. BOOK IT ! You won`t be disappointed.


To all those who have whined,
Try talking to people in a fair manner, because if you don`t they will treat you the same way.
( NOT NICE IS IT ?)
Spend more time getting along with everyone and having a good time,, and you may even enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Clients,

I am the new Manager this year, and I am looking forward to meet you here!!!

Thank you very much for all your compliments and coments, they are encouraging us to keep on going with the good job, and we are trying every single day our very best to improve our hotel for you.

Thank you very much once again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Third year running at this hotel and it just gets better. All staff friendly , entertainment team (Perpito / Toni / Estaban) excellent good fun and very approachable.
Food excellent even the fussy eaters could find something they would like. Excellent location , great indoor facilities (Pool / sauna ? gym).
Rooms clean tidy- maids brilliant and friendly.

This is a 4 star hotel and anyone who thinks not did not visit this hotel.

Room Tip: wanted pool view got front view , but lots of early morning sunshine so no complaints.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your comments, and for choosing once again our Hotel to enjoy your holidays.

We hope to see you back here very soon!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location a 15 minute walk from Portaventura theme park and 10 minute walk from the resort centre and beach. The rooms were fine, quite spacious but could do with upgrading in the near future. The safety deposit box was expensive to hire at 23 euros for the week which we thought should be reduced. The food was great, a good choice for us and our two young children. There were long queues for the show cooking and it would have benefited from another chef although all restaurant staff worked very hard. The reception staff and maids were friendly but the children's entertainers were the biggest asset to this hotel. They were fantastic and the kids loved them! The evening entertainment was excellent with great singers and dancers. The pool area was lovely but poolside food was a limited choice. Would definitely go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.

We are looking forward to having you here again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visted Villa Romana,8th Oct 2013 For 14 nights with Thomsons.
Stayed in a third floor room near reception, looking out over Portaventura.

Good Points –

General Staff, Professional and Helpful. Any Issues (Minor) were sorted out.

Pool Area, plenty of sunbeds and very clean, David the pool attendant was really nice and seemed interested in the pool users, Its October, pool was cold, but ok once you were in.

Entertainment Staff, Made a big difference to the fun we had, Toni and Pepito where amazing. Night entertainment was inside and looked cramped, never stayed for it so cant comment, Other guests said it was good.

Food, Kids loved it, We loved it, Some repetition but very varied, never needed lunch as breakfast was so good. Restaurant manager was really nice, Service staff seemed busy, Chefs were brilliant, looked like they enjoyed their jobs.

Reception area, Nice size, good ambiance for chilling after dinner.

Wifi, Worked in our room and around the pool, reception ok some drop outs, Blocked bbc news pages though?

Location, 10 mIns to town centre/beach and portaventura, why we came to salou again.

Powerful hot showers

Rooms Cleaned daily

Some Minor points :

Towels were thin and grey, some days cleaners only left half the amount they picked up

TV did not work (No biggie, never came to watch tv)

Wardrobe doors jammed easy.

The sofa bed was very hard to sleep on, mattress very thin and offered no support. Needing updated / replaced.

No aircon, some residents said they did have it, having a room at 29 degrees to sleep in is too hot for us, kids very uncomfortable, opening windows just let the mosquitos in, This might be cool enough for the locals but not for residents coming from much cooler climates.

Lifts are small, some long waits.

Have been in more luxurious hotels as rooms are quite basic, Overall it was great for what we paid and we were very happy, Visiting again 28th june 2014 for 2 weeks. This is the first time we have went back to the same hotel as we felt it was very good and are looking forward to it, Will review again once back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Clients,

In the name of all staff thank you very much for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate your comments and suggestions that will help us to keep on improving our hotel.

Looking forward to having you here again.

See you in a few days!!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from one week at the villa romana and what a fantastic time we all had. I travelled on my own with 3 children (5,8 & 11). From the very start everything was easy. We arrived to the hotel around 11.30am and we were allocated our rooms straight away. Having a safe will cost you 23 euro's straight away plus the local tax... 7 euro's per adult, so quite a chunk as soon as you arrive. We had interconnecting rooms (interconnecting via a private corridor, which the main door can be locked and both bedroom doors can be left open) Our rooms were very clean and nice white fluffy towels, hair dryer, Rooms were cleaned daily. Only thing I would say is it would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities.
Breakfast and our evening meal were always lovely, plenty of food on offer, fry ups, omelettes, fresh fruit juice and loads more. Evening meals again chef cooking fresh meats, burgers, hot dogs, curry, stir fry, loads of choice. Only thing I would say is we had been out walking and went straight to dinner with a small bottle of opened water.... This was taken off us before we were seated, I explained I was about to buy more water and sangria for the table but the man said I'm not allowed the take my little boys water into the restaurant as we may drink it in there!!
Swimming pool was fun to be around, entertainment team put up inflatables, danced on the bridge, music on all the time, played games with water bombs....really fun. Swimming pool was cold but the kids loved it! Sorry but I was one of the ones who saved sunbeds, I found most people with small children were trying to save beds around the shallow end so they could watch there children, I was up every morning by 8ish and there were still lots of sun beds available.
Hotel itself is lovely and great for families....the cocktails aren't to bad either. 10/15 minute walk to beach. I would return but only if they would offer all inclusive, drinks and food are quite expensive, we went to the local supermarket and got lunch and drinks for around the pool.
Overall we has a great time.... Thank you for a great 2014 holiday, kids will always remember x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.

We apologise for any inconvinience we could cause.

We are working in your comments to improve our hotel.

We hope to see you back here very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here when it opened and were not impressed, but this time ( 24th May until 7th June) it is no doubt one of the best 4 star hotels we have stayed in in Spain. The food and variety was amazing. The staff in the dining room allways had a smile for you and were first class. Front desk and booking in was a pleasure and very quick. Overall a great hotel.

Room Tip: Floor 5 with front of the hotel view for sun from dawn until 3-00pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pampolonapete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your comments that give us full power to keep on going!!!

We are looking forward to having you here again very soon!!!

We wish you all the best!!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,017 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#7 of 93 in Salou
1,749 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Port Salou
Golden Port Salou
#6 of 93 in Salou
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Property: Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou
Ohtels Vil.La Romana Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing