We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villamarina Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villamarina Club
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Alloa, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was second time at this hotel and must say it was as good as the first. The good and bad points for me are:

Good
Staff
Food
Rooms clean

Bad
Entertainment team at kids mini disco appeared to be more concerned with showing themselves off - didn't look good for the kids
Beer - pretty poor
Wash basin not in toilet area
glass door to toilet
not enough storage space. Unironed clothes kept in case under beds

This may sound that we did not enjoy the holiday but we really did.

Would we go back again - yes, but not for a while as been to Salou twice in three years but would go to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZyphAlloa_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for returning to the Villamarina it is always great to see familiar faces. And thank you for your review it is more than appreciated
Apologies you do not like the layout of the rooms, the reception building does have the sinks on the inside of the bathrooms, these rooms can be requested but not guaranteed.
Apologies you were upset by the entertainers and I can assure they love what they do and love entertaining the kids and adults but will pass on your comment to them
Great you enjoyed the food and hospitality of the staff
We hope to see you again if you return to salou
Kind regards
Lindsey and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    704
    349
    172
    148
See reviews for
1,488
451
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family visited this hotel first week in may this year and also last Sept 2013, and are booked again to go in Aug 2013. The hotel is very good, staff all speak English and are very friendly, very clean hotel, food was the best i have had from hotels so far. Any problems are sorted out straight away like noisy neighbors etc. The pool are clean and you always manage to find a lounger to sunbath. There is a hotel taxi that's free that takes you to the beach and town. The location is good. taxi too portaventura theme park is 10 euro taxi or 20 walk and beach is 20 min walk.There are plenty of shops and a great market on a Monday.My family now go back every year as we like it so much. mobility scooter we hired was very handy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review, everyone’s feedback is important, And great that you return year after year to be with us. It gives great pride to me and the staff knowing you have a good time and seeing guests repeat.
Apologies you had noisy neighbors but glad we was able to resolve the problem for you

Kind regards
Lindsey
and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I booked this partly based on Tripadvisor reviews as I usually do. First lesson learned - don't believe everything you read on here!

I travelled with my husband and 7 year old son during the May half-term. On arrival and after dropping off several other holiday makers at some very nice looking hotels, our first impressions of the hotel were not good. It looks dreadful - absolutely dreadful and seems to be not very well located. My husband actually stated later that he could have cried when he saw it. We usually stay in at least a four star hotel (Riu, Iberostar or something like that). This looks like a 2 star (at the most).

We later discovered that the location is not actually that bad (not great though) - it's a good 10 minute walk down to the beach front and probably what you would call the wrong end of the beach away from the main tourist shopping and bar district so another 10 minute walk along the beach front to get there. This wasn't a problem for us as we enjoy walking but bear in mind if you don't!

The room was truly awful. One of the smallest I have stayed in for a long time. The beds were mismatched camp-beds so my husband's and mine were at different levels and looked extremely uncomfortable (it turned out they weren't as bad as we first thought although this may have been masked by the gallons of alcohol we consumed to drown our sorrows). There was very little storage and we actually ended up storing our suitcases outside on the balcony as this is the only place available to store them. The balcony is not a proper balcony by the way - it is standing room only - no room for tables and chairs.

The decor around the hotel generally is old and jaded.

The pool areas are small as are the pools themselves and, even though the weather was rubbish whille we were there, if there was the slightest hint of sunshine every table, chair and sun lounger would have a towel on it. It's definitely not just a German thing then as this hotel is only frequented by UK and Irish clients. Definitely no policy on not allowing towels to be left to reserve sun loungers here!

To be fair, the hotel does have some good points - the food is very good, especially the English breakfast, and so is the service.

Not good enough to warrant the glowing praise on here that this hotel receives though. If you enjoy staying at 2 star establishments then this place is probably the best you could get, It definitely isn't 3 star; If, like us, you wanted a slightly lesser rating than you usually go for just to get a cheaper week - don't book this hotel - choose somewhere else!

It is one threshold that I will definitely not be crossing again!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FOXY44Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Villamarina with others.
I apologies the Villamarina was not for you, and can completely understand, if you usually travel to 4* hotels. The Villamarina is a 3* hotel and tries to ensure the advertising is as correct as possible, so you are aware of what the hotel is like prior to travel.
During the time you were here with us, may school holidays the hotel was at full capacity therefore you are going to find the pool areas and outside areas very busy, apologies that you did not like this.
It’s a shame that you did not feel it necessary to bring your dissatisfaction to mine or Monica (guest relations) attention as we could have looked at alternative room options for you,
We do state the rooms are small and in many trip advisor reviews this is also stated.
Glad you enjoyed the food and the service your comments will be passed over.
The weather of course did not help everyone’s enjoyment as the hotel was at full capacity and with lots of children with it been school holidays.
With regards to the location, we do offer a free shuttle service to town 10.00-11.30 and again 16.00-17.30 for those who do not want to take the 10 – 15 min walk passed shops on the flat down to the beach. Many like the location as they are away from the centre and all the night clubs etc, especially as we are a family hotel.
Once again thank you for your feedback
Regards
Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days in June half term, me and my mum came for a short break just the two of us (I am 20) the hotel is generally okay but just not for everyone please give this honest review a read before you book!

We got the coach from the airport which was a very quick process, online it said 40 min transfer but actually took no longer than 15 minutes, on the way back to airport was slightly longer as different route but again definitely not 40 minutes so don't be put off by transfer time.

Check in:
When we arrived we were asking to play a 4 euro tourist fee or something, no idea what it was but we had been told nothing about it before and staff did not explain what it was, so we had no choice but to just pay it as we had been traveling all day so wanted to just check in obviously. The staff gave us room key and our all inclusive wristband then directed us to our room, but didn't actually show us to the room which would have been nice, guess it's just not how they do it here.

Room:
We have a double room, with two single beds, however it seems when they want to make it a double room for a couple they just push the beds together! Overall the rooms are fine, you aren't going to need to spend much time in them anyway so they do the job. Room had plenty of mirrors, one wardrobe with hangers and a desk style surface which is useful for you to put makeup, toiletries etc. The bathroom is very small, the sink is actually in the bedroom, the bathroom has a bath which would only fit a child so only really has a shower, we didn't really have any problems with cold showers during our stay.
Our room was visited daily by the maids which gave fresh towels and made the beds (pretty sure they never changed the sheets just made the beds which is not that much of a problem as we were only there few nights but might be nice to have fresh sheets if staying for longer)
The balcony was not even a balcony it had one plastic chair on it and was that all that could fit basically, we were on the ground floor and our view was looking at the back of the kitchen, there was stuff all over the floor lots of rubbish and what looked like old food. When we used another room after checkout to shower it had a massive balcony looking with a much better view, not sure if the hotel do different rooms with better balcony but we were never given this option. (Our checkout was 10am but coach not until 5pm, we were able to use all hotel facilities including all inclusive until we left and the staff managed to get us a free room to change and shower in even though the room they have aside for this was busy)

Pool and rooftop terrace:
The hotel has two pools one mainly for smaller children and one normal pool, both pools are ok, but surrounded by crammed sun loungers that were a bit dirty and some broken, they looked fairly dated. One of the pools had a poolside bar serving drinks and a buffet of food most of the day and then until 11pm which is useless but the food is chips , crisps, burgers, hot dogs, no healthy options and a bit bad for kids that just seem to continue to eat all day long. A lot of cups, plates etc left around the pool, not at the fault of the hotel staff, it was mainly due to the rude guests that thought all inclusive meant they didn't have to get up and use the bins provided, I would agree with previous reviews about rude guests like benefits street! I would also like to add I think the hotel should have some kind of gate at the entrance because the hotel is right on the road and children could so easily run out of the hotel into the road, most parents didn't seem to find this an issue, all to busy at the bar or scoffing their faces but if I was a parent I wouldn't be able to stop worrying about this!

The rooftop terrace was one of the only good things about the hotel, if this wasn't here I don't know what we would have done! It has nicer sun loungers than the pools although a few broken most were good quality, it has two jacuzzis and a bar and was for over 18s only so no noisy screaming children and rude parents like the pools. The bar man Winston was very friendly with all the guests and very helpful with jacuzzis I.e. Heating them up if it's cold etc. the only problem with this was it was only open 10-6 it would be so much better and make the hotel so much more appealing to guests without young children if this was open in the late evening with some entertainment for adults to relax in the evening.

All inclusive food and drink:
Food at meal times was ok, you wouldn't go hungry but then also I don't think you left fully satisfied.
Breakfast buffet included English fry up options, cereals, some fresh fruit and some continental options so breakfast did have good variety.
Lunch and dinner buffet were similar things, mainly hot food, pastas, some meat dishes, chips, rice, salad, pizza etc, so something for everyone however things are a bit of a mismatch. There is also a show cooking option at the buffet with different meet every night, however I did not try this as I am funny about eating meat abroad.
There was French bread and rolls available at every meal so you can make sandwiches, bacon rolls etc. over all the food was always plentiful and hot just average options, mainly English food no Spanish options.
Deserts were always very poor, some horrible bright coloured cake options was about all they had really, and all inclusive ice cream at the bar was just a little yoghurt tub like box of completely frozen ice cream-not really nice.
One night we decided to go out for dinner at a local restaurant called Sapri pizza, for 11euro per person you got a starter which was big enough to be a main! A main, desert and drink so would recommend a visit! We managed to live on the food as only there for 5 days If staying longer id definitely recommend bringing money to eat out a few times!
At meal times there was a coffee/tea machine and a juice machine and bottles of wine free to all inclusive guests which is good.

The bar for all inclusive includes a good range of drinks including soft drinks and cocktails, all drinks are served in fairly small plastic cups but understandable with children around the pool etc.

The only issue with the all inclusive was some guests were just so rude leaving mess everywhere whilst the staff ran around all day everyday trying to clean up after them.

Staff:
The staff worked so hard at the hotel, you could see the same staff working in the restaurants, on the bars, on reception all day everyday and they always remain friendly, which I can't imagine is easy with some of the guests that come to this hotel!

Entertainment:
Literally like a butlins resort, definitely not for me, but if you have young kids this probably would be good, the entertainment staff do work all day and all night putting on things for the kids, but can be very loud and irritating for audit guests as very kiddy oriented. Hence why I think the rooftop bar should put on adult entertainment as I mentioned above. The hotel became very busy at night with somewhere to sit in the bar/entertainment area or even in the reception lobby where it is slightly quieter.

Location:
Before we came we were unsure on how far the beach was as there had been mixed reviews, the hotel provides a bus (cannot remember times as didn't use) to the beach but it is only a 15 minute straight walk, leave the hotel turning left then walk straight down across the train crossing and you'll end up at the beach. The area in Salou is very nice with lots of shops, bars and restaurants so the walk is pleasant. I think the bus takes you further down the beach into a more touristy area so I guess just depends what you prefer.

Overall:
The stay wasn't bad overall, mainly thanks to the rooftop terrace, we didn't have that many issues with noise but our room was a bit further away than others to the bar so that might be why, however I would say during the day down by the pool would be very noisy with rude chavvy guests eating 24 hours a day! I'd recommend the hotel extend hours of rooftop and add adult entertain up their to cater for adult guests travelling without kids, I'd also like to see more food options on daytime poolside bar maybe some fresh fruit etc would be nice!

Probably wouldn't come back unless those changes were made but overall for what you pay it is good and staff very helpful!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tashasmith94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 7, soon as arrived the noise and the people cramed into this place was dreadful. Took over an hour to get correct keys. Room had 4 beds, with not enough room to swing a mouse. We stayed in the apartment which is out the back and along the street in residential area. Luckily we got moved out of this hell hole. Staff on reception were helpful, but i would not stay here if they paid me £1000 per night. Swimming pool had thick scrum and very cloudy, cups filthy, no place to sit quietly as the noise of the entertainers was deafening. One night in this place was more than enough. It is in the back of beyond. My son went into a local shop for a lighter and was not locals only

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your dissatisfaction of the Villamarina.
The Villamarina is a very busy family orientated hotel, when you arrived in the evening of course this is when the evening entertainment starts and there is a lot movement within the hotel for the evening meal and settling down for the entertainment. Apologies you did not like this.
I will always say to anyone who arrives, give yourself 24 hours to see what the hotel has to offer and if you’re still not happy then of course look in to alternative options
I am please you found reception helpful, as I believe they were looking at alternative rooms etc for, and this is why it took a while to get your keys, but my sincere apologies.
The apartments are advertised of been off site of the main complex just 2-3 mins walk from the hotel, and apologies you was not made aware of this prior to travel by your holiday company. Like many hotels rooms at full occupancy give you limited space.
The pools are cleaned every evening when the pool closes at 19.00h and be rest assured these are inspected and have not seen any scum on them??? If it is the apartment pool you are referring to, this pool is not maintained by the hotel, as we have 2 pools in the hotel for hotel guests.
I have to disagree with your comment on the location of the hotel we are situated a 10 min walk from the main beach and 5 mins from all shops etc, if you had have waited and give the hotel an opportunity you would have realized this. We also offer a free shuttle service to the centre of town daily from 10-11.30 and again 16.00-17.30.
I am please your situation was resolved the next day and you was moved hotel but can only apologies the Villamarina was not for you.
Anyone who has any concerns about this review please do not hesitate to contact me directly

regards
Lindsey manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Went august 2013 with my parents, wife and 2 children and we all really enjoyed ourselves. Food was great, beer was even better, entertainment was great, bingo every night, and a show. This place is worth a visit. Book a cheap flight and book hotel direct cos it'll save you a bit and hotel gave us a free transfer from the airport. Oh and they put on a free bus to salou city centre. The rooms are small so don't expect anything else but they are clean, I would go back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayholiday111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review especially since you travelled in 2013 it is much appreciated.
From everyone here it is nice to know you enjoyed your stay and would return to us in the future
Kind regards
Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a great 5 day break 2 adults 2 kids (6-9) food very good very clean entertainment staff great Sam and Simon ( TIMMY LEE ) plus the other staff you couldn't fault the hotel at all even the snack bar was goodwill be back as it was that good

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Combridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
2.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
2.5 mi away
Festival Village
Festival Village
#8 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#7 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villamarina Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villamarina Club

Property: Hotel Villamarina Club
Address: Carre Ciutat De Reus, 42, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Villa Marina Club)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villamarina Club 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Marina is a friendly family orientated hotel offering all inclusive holidays for families to enjoy and not have to worry about entertainment, food and drink for the duration of your stay. Everyone can relax and enjoy the facilities of 2 swimming pools, one with child section, adults only rooftop solarium with Jacuzzis, buffet style restaurant, snack bar, Play Park for the children, outside cinema screen, large terrace and bar area. Our resident English Speaking Entertainers are here for you 7 days a week keeping all the family entertained day and night, and to give you that little bit extra in your evening entertainment we have external, professional shows, to add to your all inclusive package. To ensure our customers have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday the entertainment and bar finish at 00.00 This friendly 3* all inclusive hotel is only 15 minutes away from Reus Airport, 10 minutes away from the Port Aventura theme park and a 10 minute walk to the beach giving you the ideal holiday base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com and Onthebeach so you can book your Hotel Villamarina Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villamarina Club Salou, Costa Dorada
Villamarina Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing