We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing! Not for young families in April.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing! Not for young families in April.”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Booked this last minute and was happy with the price we paid for all inclusive. Travelled with a 2 year old and an 8 year old.
We were upgraded to a superior room after eventually being able to check in. Room was pleasant enough but was small, so would have liked to have seen the standard room!
We quickly realised that the hotel was mainly occupied by Spanish pensioners. Not that much of an issue until you realise that they believe they have more of a right to their holiday than you have to yours. They really seem to not even acknowledge your presence, and clearly believe they have a priority to lifts, dining queues etc. We were one of two other British families and was expecting some entertainment for the kids. There was nothing! Due to this we spent most of our time away from the hotel. There is a Spanish bar called fordies in the next street which is friendly and cheap and the food is lovely. There is a British pub called the rovers return just down the street and the main shopping area with bars, restaurants and the beautiful beach is a 10 minute walk from this hotel.

I imagine this hotel would be totally different in the summer months. It has two big pools, a play area and an arcade. Be aware that there is a bar in the hotel called the apple bar which opens until 0100. Totally fine if your in there enjoying yourself not great if your room is directly above it and your trying to get your kids off to sleep.

Would we return to this hotel...possibly but never in April!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laffinfew2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    715
    430
    163
    203
See reviews for
1,138
466
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We went to Cap Salou in October and enjoyed it so much we decided to have 7 days in Salou last week in March to be more in the centre of things. I chose this hotel because it looked cheap and cheerful and I thought the entertainment would be lively. I made a big mistake, for the first 3 days I believe my husband and I were the only British people in the hotel everybody else was elderly and Spanish. I realised immediately that we had chosen the same week as the Spanish pensioners holiday however this isn't the first time we've been to Spain during this period but we have never been the only British people before. What was also strange was there seemed to be no British people in the resort either until about the fourth day when a few people arrived. Spanish bars in the resort we're open but no English or Irish ones until the Sunday we flew home which was a shame. We are really social people and don't go abroad and expect everybody to be British but it's a good job we get on really well together because we had nobody else to speak to! Anyway back to the hotel, it was lovely and clean, the staff we're mostly really pleasant, the food was ok , the entertainment consisted of putting the same Spanish music on every night and watching the pensioners go round and round the dancefloor. It would have been nice, especially when a few more British families arrived later in the week if we had at least been acknowledged by the Entertainment staff. I would like to say that I am absolutely sure that had we holidayed here a little bit later into the season we would have got the holiday we wanted as when we left things were already livening up in the resort but this holiday has made me really aware that we need to me more careful on where we chose to holiday out of season.

Room Tip: We were in the main part of the hotel on 3rd floor we were pleased with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank villaval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Positives: food excellent, staff brilliant and helpful and great with kids, pool area fab!

Negatives: room very small for family of 4, tiny storage space for clothes for 4 people, corridors a bit grotty, 2 parts to hotel - seemed to be older,not so nice block for Brits and the lovely, plush block for Spanish.

We only slept in room so could live with it not being very nice!!
Well situated although some dodgy characters offering ladyfriends and drugs to us when walking up main street at night.

Bus service to Port Aventura & Aquapolis runs frequently - Port Aventura was fab - we went nearly every evening as its much quieter at night.

Wouldnt return to this hotel or Salou but will try Cap Salou or surrounding resorts as we'd defo go back to Port Aventura.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I took my three children there in the summer 2010
The night entertainment was great the best i have seen
food was excellent i went 1/2 board drinks were expensive if you can go full board or all inclsusive even better
Pools a bit small but thats being picky very hot there staff great lots for kids and adults to i woul drecommend
this is not a hotel for snobs great for families looking for a value for money holiday

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank truetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I went there with my wife last summer in the peak of the season. The hotel looks like accommodation for working people from the outside and is a bit squashed between other buildings if the area. Not a lot of space on the back of it where 2 rather small swimming pools are located. It's a family hotel so constant children high pitch voice is normality. Food is 95% same everyday. Only 2-3 traces are exchanged . Service is fine. Some waiters are talkative some not but none of them pushy for tips .
No annoying excursion salesmen around! Nice town centre. East access to local sightseeing marks.
Also booked trip to Barcelona.
Good for experience !
All over its 3/5 note. Go outside the hotel if like new experiences .
Plus all the working class all tattooed over 50's don't add to attraction either. Customer service is nearly all Spanish, a bit reserved people but this suits me !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marke32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Entertainment classic on a night, was quite good. Bar staff brilliant and really friendly. Wide variety of food, I.e themed nights, however if you dont have a mature pallette might be a little disappointed, saying that they have an alfresco restaurant on an over looking pool balcony ... Food brilliant there however you can only book one night for a meal if your going all inclusive other than that its only available for lunch. Typical run to the sun beds in a morning if you want one. I went with 5 other friend all of us 18 and all the bars are close, literally the street behind the hotel. The portaventura water park was a bus ride away and was okay. The hotel was abit family orientated even though adult entertainment was provided late at night however was still really enjoyable. No problem with cleanliness, towels and beds changed everyday. I would recommend all inclusive. Lovely restaurants and bars along sea front. Overall was a brilliant holiday and would definately go again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kazzabab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

we have been to this hotel 3 times and we are going back in july for ten nights,it is great for families.the entertainment staff are lovely and the shows are great for the adults and the kids.the alfresco buffet through the day is great,lots of choiche,wasnt keen on the restaraunt food but my dad thinks it is great,would defintley recommened this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lindsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,973 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#13 of 93 in Salou
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing