We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 18 June 2012

ive only just come back from calypso hotel, staff are very friendly, one barman from downstairs bar with short dreadlocks was obnoxious and arrogant. the rest were absolutly lovely. location was excellent, shops just round the corner. the hotel was beautiful and clean throughout, the buffet food was absolutly fantastic, and also the restaurant food aswell. the only bad thing about it is the entertainment, the kids disco doesnt start till 9.30pm, and the music doesnt stop till mid night, plus with it all being outside, its so loud. the hotel rep was absolutly brilliant, lovely person, could not have asked for better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June 2012 The hotel itself was really clean the rooms are avarge but again clean. The Hotel is situated about 10 mins from the main strip and there is a train stop outside the hotel which runs the whole lenth of the main strip this costs €3 each way. We found that it was cheaper to get a taxi if the walk was too much as it cost only costs between €5 and €8 for up to 8 people.

We stayed in Calypso 1 but did view the rooms in Calypso 2 these seem to be more modern with plasma tv and newer furnishings however calypso 2 seemed o be for full bored guests only.
We stayed all inclusive the Sam Miguel draft was really nice and you could get 2 drinks at a time. However spirits were way too strong and they wouldn't put them in a large glass and top them up with coke so I ended up queuing twice jut for more coke. The soft drinks too were nice and not cheap rola cola.
The food
Although there was something I liked every day the food got quite repetitive and we often ate in the alfresco bar which was basically a BBQ serving chicken and steak and burgers and kebabs with a selection of salad and pizza etc oh and if you like fries you will be fine.
The not so good bits
We found that you had to be up quite early if you wanted a chance of a sun bed but there are plenty of tables and chairs for everyone.
The entertainment was a bit hit and miss the michael Jackson night was quite good and childred are kept entertained but the comedy night was poor and just rude not funny.
Ice may not be a good idea or it might have been the water even though it was bottled but our entire party had a case of the runs.

For the money this hotel is worth a go we had a good holiday and I would defo go back.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are available so it's worth asking at the time of booking. Don't pay the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

hi this is my first ever review so here we go lol. well what can i say i thought the hotel was brill. good points were the big pools and the elfresco bbq terrace they cooked for your snacks which were chicken, steak, pork, kebabs on sticks, hot dogs, burgers plus salads and deserts and fruit available between 10am and 6pm entertainment was good too they did grease and michael jackson on our week. food in resturant was ok same as most hotels always found some think to eat. rooms were clean and big enough. plenty of bars to get your free drinks from too. heres my bad points and to be honest ther only small problems which you can sort out ya self if up early enough. not enouth toilets about hotel only 2 what i found but like i said im being picky. bar staff were not to happy. not all like that though..

Room Tip: we stayed in a room on calypsos main hotel bit. was a bit noisey at night till 1 am.. so i wald rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kevandolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have just arrived home after a weeks stay in Calypso 1. I was a bit worried about staying here after reading other reviews but I decided I dont know what people expect from a 3* Spanish Hotel. I am a fussy eater and could always find food to eat, Breakfast was full english or continental. From 11 - 6 everyday there was a BBQ serving steak, chicken, burgers, sausage, kebabs, hotdogs and fish and with this you had a choice of salads, chips. Evening meals is where I can see people moan, but there was always something on it to try and the last 3 nights has been theme nights so the food was much better. There is also food of burgers and nuggets etc served again between 10.30 and 11.30 pm so you will never go hungry!!
Its a good 10- 15 mins from beach but a nice walk through the shops which are plentytful. I am glad we got in Calypso 1 as 2 looks like it was noisy with students, which you only really saw in a morning and in the evening. The bar staff were friendly and did let you have more than 2 drinks if you had children. I did complain one night about a noisy neighbour with tv on full at 2.00am the security told her to switch it off and we never heard a sound from her the rest of the week. The great thing about this hotel is they give you free wifi, dont charge for the safe, and free crisps all day
The entertainment team tried very hard and was great for kids but the evening shows was quite poor from them , it could do with bringing in outside acts every other night just for something different. To get a good bed around the pool you had to be up at 7.15 at the latest as people had already put towels on alot by then. The pool area could of done with a hose down as drinks were spilled and it looked untidy, A group of lads came and was drinking in the pool and the life guard never stopped them infact I think he let anything go as he could not be bothered. The rooms were cleaned everyday literally as my husbands England top disappeared into thin air !! which we only realised when we got home and was looking for it to wash. I throughly checked all the room under beds and cupboards before we left so know it was not left there. I would stay there again for the location and hotel but make sure I check all clothing has been accounted for before leaving.

Room Tip: Ask for Calypso 1 pool view seems to be even numbers we was in 406 which you could see the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank evorocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We went to the calypso for 3 nights June 10th,
Myself, my mum who is 66 and my 2kids age 10 &4, I'd give it overall 6/10
We upgraded to all inc which was great, we has a quad room which was huge!
The great bits.......
Breakfast brill! Everything you could think of, lunch.... Brill again! Outdoor BBQ, lots of lovely food, all fresh. Rooms.... Spotless, towel and beds made every day, couldn't fault it.
Pools.... Spotless! Play park..... Super for ages 2-9 years, and right next to the pool
The good bits.....
drinks..... Not much of a que, reasonable quality! Plenty of sunbeds and tables to drink at.

The not so good bits......
Evening meal...... Wasn't great but edible, a lot of bad cuts of meat but never went hungry,
Entertainment..... Poor, boring, could be a lot better! However we were unlucky with the shows that were on,,,, later in the week they were advertising better shows.
Outdoor areas..... Never washed down and made the place look scruffy, unlike the inside of the hotel.
Location.... A good 10-15 mins to the beach.
Transport...... Taxis are an absolute rip of, €32 to airport! Takes 10 mins!
€7 to the beach

Lots of great things about the hotel and a few bad!
I'd recommend it tho and would return!
Met some lovely people and had a super time.
Much better than other salon hotels I've visited.

Room Tip: Book all inclusive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prestons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Me and my partner stayed here from 9th June, I'm currently here now! We are both 19 and it's our first holiday abroad alone! We got here at about 9 on Saturday night and were immediately checked in, we stayed in calypso 2. The rooms are clean and spacious but the hotel doesn't do double beds unless your in a family room which is silly if your a couple. We were situated right above the terrace where all of the entertainment is all day and night. If you want an early night don't count on it.. You wont be getting to sleep until 12 oclock, but If you dont mind loud music you'll be fine. The entertainment is good and the childrens entertainment is also good a bit repetitive but you expect that! Pools are nice but a little cold, calypso 1 pool is warmer than calypso 2! Get up early If youd like a subbed in a good position, otherwise you'll only get one in th shade! Food is good, basic but nice! Drinks are also good, very heavy on the alcohol In cocktails but it's all good!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leahwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Went away for a week with my husband and 2 children aged 6 & 8. We found the hotel very clean and staff helpful. We did not have the best of rooms initially as was overlooking the road, however they found us another room the next day over looking the pool which was fab.
There was plenty of choice for food at breakfast and evening meal, although not that much of a choice on the lunchtime. However, they have an Al Fresco Bar/Restuarant outside where they do things like salad, pasta, jacket potato, burgers, hot dogs etc...which was open from 11am to 6pm ... so something for everyone.
Although it says you can only get 2 drinks each with your wristband, we found this was only for alcoholic ones and if we wanted to get kids drinks at the same time, it was never a problem.
The pools were lovely and clean and no problems getting a sunbed. They also have a litle play park by one of the pools, which our kids enjoyed.
Rooms were cleaned everyday and had everything you needed including air conditioning.
Hotel has own entertainment staff who worked hard during the day preparing for the evening entertainment and did various kids/adults games around the pools during the day where everyone can join in.
We were situated in Calypso 2 which is where all the school kids stay, and yes they were quite noisy coming back to their rooms on an evening, but were away on trips during the day and didn't effect our holiday at all.
Overall, had a great stay and looking forward to going back next year with our friends.

Room Tip: Calypso 1 is best for families as Calypso 2 seems to have school visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Caro2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,086 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
1.4 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#48 of 93 in Salou
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#8 of 93 in Salou
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £40 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing