We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalunya(Salou)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,214)
Filter reviews
2,214 results
Traveller rating
607
763
458
173
213
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
763
458
173
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal frescodirty dancingapple barmed playasnack barentertainment teammama miaevery nightsaladburgerbar staffgames roommichael jacksonmain restaurantgreat holidaykebabevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,147 - 1,152 of 2,214 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

just come back from the calypso,it will of been the 4th time we have been, and every time we go it just gets better,the kids love it and never want to come home, the food is really nice, especially in alfressco,and the breakfasts are really nice,there is lots of selection, and the entertainment is amazing the team work really hard,dont no were they get there energy from!! of a day they play games not just with the kids but with the adults,which is good fun, and the staff are really nice and freindly they make you feel very welcome, met loads of great people this year who are all going back the same date next year so it will be like the tv series benidorm ha!! really good for families..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer201155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Mark them cockney people made the holiday mate you just got the hump because you had to wait for a drink you toby why did you not say nothing to them haha . Funny how every one else had a great time. The hotel was great had a right laugh apple bar was popping off !!! SALOU BANTER !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 04108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

just come back from salou , calypso hotel. we all had a fantasctic holiday. Loads of families got on together. We had a really good time. Weather was really lovely. Staff were really nice and freindly. but some families were unpleasent from diffrent countries and left their manners at home. Food was fantastic. Kids occupied all the time. Entertainment was good. but bit of a carryone with getting the sunbeds on the morning but soon as you get them it is all calm plus we went all inclusive and the kids got loads of coke and we got loads of lager. would go again next year

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Goldbrough family
Thanks so much for your review of your stay with us at the Calypso. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

cannot believe some people putting on a bad review about this hotel .They must want BUCKINGHAM PALACE. we have just arrived back today and as there was 9 of us .usually u cannot please everyone but we were all happy with the holiday .ENTERTAINMENT was good for all ages.we had mexican ,polyannese, chinese nights in restaurant .We had a very good variety of food including snack bar that was open from 9 am till 11.30pm .IT WAS ONLY WALKING DISTANCE TO PORTAVENTURA.and aquapolis is a brilliant water park

Room Tip: Only tip i can give is take plenty high factor sun cream it was scorching .
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I feel need to write this review because I was apprehensive before going to this hotel from reading the reviews. Cant understand the negative comments about this hotel, I spoke to various families whilst at this hotel and all families would return to this hotel.
We travel every year during August for an all inclusive holiday. 2 adults 2 kids. This without a doubt was one of our best holidays.
Half an hour transfer from airport, quick check-in, 30 euros for the safe but this is returned to you, when safe key is returned to reception.
Rooms- we stayed in calypso 2, over looing the pool, 4 beds, large wardrobe with loads of storage space, dressing table with mirror. Balcony with tableand 4 chairs. quiet efficient air con,Bathroom spacious with brilliant power shower, always hot water! cleaned daily, bed made, floors mopped and bathroom cleaned.
2 pools plus small lazy river for younger children.
The sunloungers are locked up until 9.30am each morning meaning there is no need to panic if you havent got up at 6am to put towels out. I always set alarm for 9am walked down just as the caretaker was unlocking the beds, we never once didnt have sunloungers in 11 days.
Plenty of chairs and tables also available around the stage area. (a total suntrap!) Lots going on at the stage both day and night- games, bingo, jenga,competitions
Games area with bowling alley, grab machines, and arcade games.
Free wifi in the main reception area plus internet room.
Staff- amazing from the caretaker, cleaners, bar staff to animation team, all worked really hard. A video is shown before each nightly performance of the hotels song called "friend".All the staff are shown dancing and enjoying themselves, this I thought was brilliant.
Food- the terrace during the day offers fresh cooked meat-chicken, pork kebabs, steak, hot dogs, burgers plus fish paella and a ish of the day. All the usual buffet and salad is also available. Try the chips and gravy YUM!
The terrace at night turns to a restaurant where you are waitered on, you can book to go once a week at recpeption- was really nice we had chicken kebab, lamb chops and belly pork.
Downstairs the dining hall offers breakfast either contiental or english. Lunch, Evening meal and snacks from 10.30-11.30pm, we didnt venture in at lunchtime but the evening meals were lovely, always varied, Tex Mex, Roast beef and Yorkshire puds, Italian.
Never had to queue more than 5 min for a drink, kids loved the ice creams and cherryade.
Nightime entertainment- the performers worked really hard and you coud tell enjoyed their job. I particuarly enjoyed Grease, Mamma mia and Dirty Dancing.
The kids were always entertained if they wished from facepainting, dancing, talent show, jenga. My children didnt go to the kids club so cant comment on that.
the hotel is opposite the landtrain stop which you can ride around salou or to portaventura.
We went to Portaventura, my 3 year old was dissapointed because she wasnt tall enough for most rides, older daughter loved it. Eldest daughter disabled and the theme park accomodated her well. Firework and water show lovely at night (11pm)
Behind the hotel is the main strip, a lovely handcrat market if there from 7pm each night, also if like ribs go try them at metropolitan, we saw someone having them the first night we arrived and decided to go back later in the week, my partner tells me they were the best ribs he has ever had!

Super holiday ignore any bad comments, we will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misst21chesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews