We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Salou
mountain ash
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“return visit”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

stayed here in october 2012 and going back next saturday 20 april 2013 fab hotel all you could want for a good holiday lovely staff fab food entertainment exelent cant wait to go back idel for couples like us or familys very friendly atmosfier rooms very clean and spacious resturant fab with theamed nights we even had oscar night fab

Room Tip: we overlooked the outside stage fab but noy to loud if you want an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    725
    436
    165
    204
See reviews for
1,169
467
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Hotel has all the facilities needed to enjoy a holiday in Salou . Went AI in March 2013 with a total of 12 poeple and all had a good time. The food at dinner wasnt brilliant but i guess it was the time of year as it improved in the last day or two when the hotel got busier. The night time entertainment was all in spanish too with locals coming into the hotel to dance, No real involvement for the kids..... again i think it was the time of year.
The drinks were excellent for all inclusive and crisps and pizzas could also be eaten in between meals.Wifi in the bar and lobby is excellent for all gadget loving families.Rooms were comfortable and clean , Calypso 2 block had more modern rooms.Pools were lovely altough a bit cold in March.Train to portaventura just outside hotel door 3euro adult 1.50kid.I wouldnt recomend getting it back though as it takes about 40 minutes and the hotel is around the last stop i think ! Same with Plana Bus from Reus....It goes to Camrils and all stop in between before it drops you near the Calypso.Great for going back to Reus though, quick and painless !Playa Cappelans in just straight up the hill outside the hotel , turning right about half way up the hill,
This hotel had all the facilities for a great stay and i would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We decided to stay in Salou for a week as i wanted to visit the Nou camp for my 18th birthday.. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly English/Spanish speaking staff which was very helpful. When we arrived in our rooms they were spotlessly clean. A bit dated and could do with a re decorating. Pool clean, not a great deal of sun beds but that wasn't really a problem as we got up early and reserved them. Food was great different choices everyday (i would advise all inclusive) different Entertainment every night (Greece, Mama Mia, Dirty dancing, Micheal Jackson) a mini disco every night for the kids, Really enjoyed this hotel and can't see why anybody wouldn't.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyVillaLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Had a week in September 2012 at this Hotel with my partner and our baby. Stayed All inclusive hotel was clean and tidy, plenty of food choices something different everyday. Bars open early till late, grill bar open most of the day so snacks available all day. Staff where all freindly, Hotel is in a ideal location just around the corner are the shops and a 5 minute walk to the beach.
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone thinking of booking a holiday in Salou, as i would definatley be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ade76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Arrived at hotel immediatly allocated room and wrist band for all inclusive. Good size room, clean and secure. All inclusive included all normal local beers and spirits. Food choice changed every day. Ice creams available for children all day. Good base to enjoy a walk through the shops to the beach. Road train outside hotel linked to the beach and port aventura.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poperinge, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

went to Calypso in July 2011 and 2012, allready booked for july 2013 (3 adults) ! don't really have any negative experiences in this hotel ! In 2012 my wife had a foot-problem (swollen) and I got a wheelchair at once from the lobby. Food-entertainment-service-rooms-swimming pools-staff...... fantastic ! see you back in july 2013 ! We're Belgian and LOVE to stay with all those Brittish people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorre61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hotel Calypso. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Calypso again in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I'm 19 and my boyfriend is 20, we came here on our first holiday together in august 13-20. As I have never been to salou before I was very sceptical ,specially the reviews I had read before I came, some of which were apauling . From my experience I think some of the reviews on here have just been over the top and things arnt as bad as they are made to seem. We arrived miday and was checked in straight away without any problems . Most staff were plesant but some were slightly rude .first of all our room was in the calypso 2 builing on the sixth floor, which we had requested. The lift only went to the 5th floor but we didn't mind it was only o few more steps. The room was really quiet even though tere was a pool below us it wasn't noisy. The rooms had great airconditioning and shower ect. Plenty of room for storing clothes and a tv with a few english channels. The maids were plesant we had clean towels and our beds made everyday . The only complaint I would have about it was the plastic curtain on the balcony doors which blocks the sun out created a slight burning smell when got to hot. Next the food the dinning area was set out lovely the food was average just like any other spanish hotels always a variety and ure bound to find something that u like. The alfresco terrace was lovely for a miday snacks with a variety of fresh meats cooked in front of u . Although one time we was served with a undercooked piece which we took back and they apolagised and gave us a fresh piece. Yes there was a few flys and wasps around but that's to be expected we get that back in england. The entertainment was brill always activities to do for children and adults in the daytime. They also had brilliant entertainment on the evening even though we spent it out a few nights.The pools were clean and if u wantedaa sunbed it was best to get one in the morning even though there are still plenty left in the afternoon. The location is fab just a 15 min walk to town centre and beach and plenty to do in the sarrounding area . There is a bus stop outside for u to get to portaaventura. We went to aquapolillis waterpark and the house of illusion they were fantastic. Overall we had a great holiday and are planning to come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank shanon_p_hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Hotel Calypso. We are really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we can look forward to seeing you again in 2013, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
1.4 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#48 of 93 in Salou
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing