We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go after 15 October” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Salou
1 review
“Don't go after 15 October”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just got bak 26 October hotel ok weather good 4 time of year only fault (did not no beforehand) that after 15 October its Spanish o a p holidays wat government subsidise they r rude take your your seats if u go 4 drink wen u come bak seats gone they don't even av a drink they sit there playin cards an ludo entertainment all Spanish

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    683
    408
    150
    193
See reviews for
1,084
437
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had just a week all inclusive in this really lovely hotel 5th October - 12th October '13. Everything was perfect, the room was clean and beds changed twice. Towels could have been changed each day, but we made them last for two days. There is shower gel in the bathroom, so don't worry about taking any! We stayed in room 108, and the outside BBQ didn't worry us one little bit, although we didn't sit on our balcony as we in fact spent a lot of time at the terrace bar where we had the sun from around 11.30am, just nice to relax, read, do a crossword or two, whilst enjoying the AI options. The staff were very friendly, and soon came to clear plates, glasses etc. I can't understand how people can moan about plastic cups, how would they react if they stood on a piece of glass and end up having to visit a hospital?? The food was good and plentiful, not once did we leave either the terrace bar or the restaurant and didn't feel full! The drinks were not watered down, and on one occasion I asked for a Baileys, I got the real thing! Our entertainment was excellent, a different show each evening. The staff put everything into providing stunning productions, eg Disney, Mamma Mia, Grease. The Spanish Beatles were brilliant and had us all singing along. We took a boat trip to Cambrills, which is a lovely place, but quite expensive (12 euros for a jug of sangria, whilst along Salou seafront it was 8) The little train runs from outside the hotel at quarter past and to the hour, although we did have to wait about 20 minutes! It costs 3 euros for a round trip which takes over an hour and takes you up to Port Adventura and right along the sea front. We booked through Thompson, who were brilliant. They phoned our room twice to make sure everything was okay.
From the flight out to homeward bound, we had a really lovely holiday. Everything was just so relaxed and enjoyable. Thank you to everybody who made our weeks stay at hotel Calypso so very enjoyable. We will return in the future.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be nice, but to overlook the pool is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itfclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is desperate for Kim and aggie to go in and clean we got a letter saying all was changing due to Spanish arriving meals etc. the hotel entertainer ruben is rude they did 1 show in7 days where he had boxers only on stage in front children speaking Spanish. We asked for a English song told apple bar for English in 7 days we had 3 meals. All drinks in plastic cups unless u are Spanish I wrote 4 emails to hotel during stay and never no reply we got letter saying mr and mrs through door when we are too men. Would we go again answer noooooooooo disgusted poor service poor food dirty hotel and no response from Managers. Tamara first choice very good bless her

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Isle of Lewis, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just back from a 7 night trip to Hotel Calypso. All hotel staff (reception, maids, cleaners, bar, restaurant) were helpful and polite. The hotel, pool area and our room was very clean and we had a good view of the pool area.

We did have 400 pensioners who joined us on 14th October but to be honest, it was a pleasure to share the hotel with them - they were keen dancers, full of fun and they weren't rowdy - what more could you ask for! And well done to the Spanish government who subsidised this holiday for their older people.

There were a number of beaches close to the hotel, the nearest one being a 10 minute walk, with another two, 5 minutes either side of that.

The food was very good, with plenty of choice and it (as well as the 3 bars) was available from 8am to 10.30pm.

We booked through Thomsons/First Choice on an all inclusive basis and it was very good value for money. It's only 15 minutes transfer from Reus airport. Reps on site were very helpful and have alot of local knowledge.

Ask at reception when you book in for access to the safe in your room. They will give you a key and lock for 30 euros which you get back when you book out.

Room Tip: Bring your own tea bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewissman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

After reading the reviews about this hotel we decided on a last minute holiday. The first couple of days/nights were very good, food entertainment everything....THEN we all received a letter pushed under door to inform us that from 14th Oct the hotel would have 400 Spanish pensioners staying (free holiday) and everything would be changed, food, times of meals, entertainment which was every night (dancing) to cater for them. It was as though us British people no longer existed. Whilst appreciating that it is their country, we were the ones who were paying for our hols and yet pushed out...disgusted. On another note, the hotel is ready for a refurbishment but was clean and we had lovely soft towels every day and nice bedding, couldn't really fault it on this point as the price of the holiday was great. Don't know where they get 10mins walk to the beach from, more like 20/30 mins and really should have some more comfortable seating in the lounge and never seen so many plastic chairs and ridged plastic sunbeds. Oh another gripe was that the Spanish got glasses and cups and saucers where as WE had to have plastic beakers for EVERYTHING even in the lounge (expect it outside but not inside). MOAN over, lovely hot weather, met some nice friends, staff were great and friendly but would we go again NOOOOOOOO
No senior management available to listen to any complaints,

Room Tip: Room 106 directly above outside BBQ very noisy and a bit smelly from the food cooking but got the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marybaxter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso.
We are pleased to hear that in general you were happy with the standards offered at the Hotel. We are sorry to hear that the arrival of our Spanish guests impacted on your overall stay. The Hotel Manager and her staff do their very best to ensure harmony between different customer groups and we are sorry that this was not the case during your stay.
We hope that in spite of this your overall stay in Salou was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I actually really enjoyed myself in this hotel clean everything I needed beach close hotel clean. But all this doesmt matter now came home on 8th oct checked bank account as debit card was taken abroad as an emergency but kept in a locked room in my case in my hamdbag in my purse.. 3 fraudulent payments totalling 310pounds was flagged up on statement now my card never left the room 518 fifh floor and only people who had access was myself my bf who also has a fraudulent payment may I add!!! and the maids! Now I know my card was cloned because on one occasion I was at bon vista market when it was used in salou. Im currently getting this investigated and will make sure I get my money back!!! I camt believe there are such nasty unkind people who do this never had this before in any places abroad or in england I would not come back here unless it was to confront whoever in this hotel did this and make them pay every penny back im very angry! ! Never ever would I recommend a stay here after this such a shame but cannot be trusted keep valuebles at home because a safe and a locked suitcase still get robbed beware wish I never went!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso. We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with your holiday, accommodation and service, but are very sorry to hear that you had issues with your Credit Card since your return.
We would like to say that we have every confidence in our staff at the Hotel Calypso, and we have had no problems at all with this type of issue. In the case of credit card cloning, until the credit company have investigated, it is very difficult to identify where the card has actually been cloned, and your allegation that the Hotel or its staff is a very serious one. We sincerely hope that you identify where the responsibility lies and if you would like to contact us direct would ask you to email us at contact@medplaya.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just returned from the Hotel Calypso.couldnt ask for any better holiday.staff were great except for 1 bar man very grumpy time he left his job.our room 336 looked like it had been painted and our mattress was memory foam food was good also drinks not watered down like you find at some all inclusive.surprise was the free safe paid deposit but got it back entertainment was great better than some of the west end shows I have seem.
One point I would like to make is ,it would have been nice to see the manager (Benet Presas)
walking around talking to the guests.
We will be booking to go back next year.

Well done Benet Presas Director/Manager and staff .

Diane Worcester

Room Tip: Try and get rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyatownsenddiane19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#31 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.9 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#24 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#7 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#26 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing