We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel calypso” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“hotel calypso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

hi we just got back from the hotel after a weeks holiday there.we have been here 13 times.it is great place for familys .and the entertanment is good in the day and evening .and all of the staff are all so freindly

Room Tip: we always ask for pool view as in afternoon you can relaxon balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baza186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    683
    408
    150
    193
See reviews for
1,084
437
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel in early september 2013, after reading some of the good and bad reviews I was half and half about this hotel but as it was our first holiday I couldn't wait. When we arrived it was extremely busy and over crowded but after checking in and waiting around for a few hours, we finally got into our room. The room was good quality a bit dated but it was prefect for the both of us, the beds were comfortable and the balcony was prefect for our privacy the walls were paper thin but we could hardly hear anything which was good. The staff were amazing. At reception the staff were always welcoming even when they were busy, we always had a laugh with them and we went there everyday either for change or to drop the keys off. The main staff member at the food court was really nice, she always made sure we had a table to sit at and by the end of the holiday she knew who we were and always greeted us. The entertainment was amazing perfect for kids and adults, they were so good we made sure to go see the show every night. The food was pleasant had something for everyone, it maybe not to everyones taste but it was very good and filling. the drinks were watered down but the cocktails were really nice. The pool was cold but as long as you jumped in and go straight under you'll be fine. the surrounding area was amazing you have everything you need around the corner and it was a lovely walk to the beach . in fact we loved it so much were going back there sadly not to the same hotel but if we hadn't got a better deal this year we would have defiantly stayed there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathrine_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from this hotel on the 9th of may 2014.The hotel is easy a 3*, food good, kids activities good pools good.while we was on holiday my father in law passed away which is your worst nightmare.The staff were good in helping us sort things out even lent us 40 euro for taxi to hospital.They helped with language barrier with doctors and also helped my 8 year old son and 4 year old daughter try and have some sort of holiday, also the thomson staff were great. THANK YOU DAVID HOYLANDS FAMILY

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f_allsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear f_allsop
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the popular Hotel Calypso.
We are very sorry about your bereavement, this is always a sad time wherever you might be, and in particular when you are in a foreign country. We are pleased that our staff were able to help you and your family wherever possible throughout this difficult time, and that in spite of everything your children were still able to enjoy part of their holiday.
Please accept our sincere condolences
With kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Absolutely brille even though some activities were repeated in the second week we never got bored. Lots of good food in the inclusive menu. Good childcare and good evening entertainment early on for the kids and later for the adults. My only grumble would be only one game of bingo per week. But even my husband joined in and won the darts. The multi talented group who did the inhouse entertainment I can still remember their names.So well done Diego Torres Mariia Mandi Mafalda Reuben Josh Julia Katie and the rest. Julia from Latvia was particularly kind to my daughter who reminded her of her sister when she was younger. This meant a lot as unknown to them my daughter was getting over her brothers suicide four months earlier. All I can say is brille brille brille.

Room Tip: Queues for lifts at busy times and stairs were a good work out shall we say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liznolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I was recently in hotel calypso and it is a hotel I would not return to. The staff were very rude and not in any way helpful or polite. I am coeliac and beforehand I read that they catered for me but on arrival this appeared to be quite the opposite. There was ice cream which was gluten free and green beans but these do not make a meal. The rooms were quite small and did not have a fridge which was a problem as nothing could be kept cool. All in all I did not enjoy my stay in the hotel and would not return nor tell anyone else to go.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank French10178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hotel Calypso.

We are very sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the hotel, and the services offered. At the Hotel Calypso we do our very best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and that we offer the facilities advertised.

We do not offer fridges in our rooms as standard, and we are very sorry if you were under the impression that we did. We are particularly concerned that you feel that we were unable to meet your dietary requirements. At the Hotel Calypso, as in all of our Med Playa Hotels, we do our utmost to satisfy our guests dietary requirements, and our restaurant manager is always available to offer alternatives in cases where food on the buffet is not completely suitable. We are extremely sorry that this was not possible in this case

We hope that in spite of your disappointment in the hotel, your overall stay in Salou was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It was the first time for me going to calypso hotel and I was with my parents and younger sister , the rooms were ok food not bad entertainment they didn't have any , pools were dirty with dead insects in

This hotel shocking and vial and I never would like to return to calypso hotel

Also staff were rude

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellaellitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us in May of 2013. We are sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with this popular hotel, and that you do not appear to have brought your disatisfaction to the attention of our staff or manager during your stay.
The Hotel Calypso is a popular hotel in Salou with many of our guests returning year after year. We are very surprised with regards to your comments regarding entertainment, as we have an entertainment team in the hotel in summer months, although we do not offer entertainment in winter. The pools in our hotels are all cleaned on a daily basis.
We are very sorry that the Hotel Calypso did not meet with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea, south wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

rooms clean, basic, but nice, our room was in the main block, and very quiet, with a view of the camping site, very pretty at night, with all the little lights on, we had a free safe for all inclusive, free bottled water, ideal location, just off from the main hub of salou, fifteen min from beach, the beach really nice but very busy, but we did go in aug, so you would expect it to be busy, my teenage daughter and myself went by ourselves on this trip, and can say salou is a safe place, we never saw any trouble anywhere, loads of shops around the hotel, and within walking distance, the food at the hotel was the best we have ever had anywhere, fresh, loads of choice, and I am picky, alcohol the real stuff, try the calypso cocktail, there was always food to be had as once the main restaurant closed after breakfast the alfresco restaurant was open, and open for the whole day, the entertainment in the hotel was quite good, kids club first, then the entertainment team would do a show, mama mia etc, all the entertainment was outside while we were there as the weather was so nice, and there are plenty of seats and tables to be had if you didn't want to sit too close to the stage, as then you would have to get there earlier, we did find it strange when going to the bar in the night at first as you have to queue in a long line if your all inclusive, the line does go down fast, and I suppose it makes sense as you are then served in the correct order, the entertainment stopped at eleven pm and last orders for all inclusive stopped at 11 also, there is a one grip we had and that is the pools (there are two) are not big enough for the number of quests and there are not enough sun beds, and when you could get one you had to put it miles away from the pool area, saying that we never got up early to try and get a better spot, but if you have kids that you want to watch in the water it would mean a you would have to get up earlier than us lol, but salou is quiet hazy in the morning till around 10ish, the hotel has free wifi in the main bar, the hotel is very family friendly, and we really enjoyed our holiday there, and if we decided to go back to salou then I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#31 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.9 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#24 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#26 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing