We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, clean, wonderful kids club staff, poor food, ignorant Spanish guests” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, clean, wonderful kids club staff, poor food, ignorant Spanish guests”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, except for the food, great at the BBQ area(plenty for kids) but restaurant food didn't have a great variety and wasn't very warm. Bar staff and animation team fantastic, lovely pools, would definitely stay here again, but will eat out.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcarla647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    683
    408
    150
    193
See reviews for
1,084
437
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I went at the start of may for a week and the entertainment was brill but the food was horrible. Rooms were basic and squashed together but hotel is close to the airport and takes about 20 mins transfer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awesomeman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

just got back from salou stayed at the hotel calypso on a all inclusive deal with first choice on arrival the first thing they hit us with was a tourist tax of 7 euroes before we even checked in then to cap it all low and behold the food was average surprise surprise ? it was only warm and no variety so we decided to try the alfresco food bar on the sun terrace no change there either same food served every day so we ended up eating out at fordies bar across the road food there was amazing and dirt cheap the only good thing about the hotel was the staff who were fantastic and very polite needless to say we wont be going back to salou

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Maurice A
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso in Salou.
We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of the hotel which did not meet with your expectations. At the Hotel Calypso we aim to offer our guests the very best holiday experience possible, and we are sorry that you were disappointed with the food selection and service during your stay. Our Hotel Manager and her staff do their very best to ensure that any issues our guests have during their stay are resolved on the spot, and we are sorry that you did not bring your disatisfaction to her attention. We are also sorry to hear that you had not been advised prior to your arrival regarding the tourist tax. This is an obligatory tax and is not included in the hotel pricing, unfortunately we have no control over this.
We are pleased to hear that you rate the staff in our hotel very highly, it is always rewarding to hear positive feedback about our staff, who we are very proud of.,
Thank you again for your feedback and kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

we have just come back from our holiday at this hotel and cannot praise the staff enough,from the quick and friendly check in to the lovely lady in the shop and the fantastic entertainment team,who work realy hard keeping the children entertained all day and the adults at night. The room was clean and comfortable with the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in at any hotel.The hotel is only a short walk to the beach which was good as i cannot walk too far and the train also stops right outside the hotel which will take you all around Salou.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

hi we just got back from the hotel after a weeks holiday there.we have been here 13 times.it is great place for familys .and the entertanment is good in the day and evening .and all of the staff are all so freindly

Room Tip: we always ask for pool view as in afternoon you can relaxon balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baza186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel in early september 2013, after reading some of the good and bad reviews I was half and half about this hotel but as it was our first holiday I couldn't wait. When we arrived it was extremely busy and over crowded but after checking in and waiting around for a few hours, we finally got into our room. The room was good quality a bit dated but it was prefect for the both of us, the beds were comfortable and the balcony was prefect for our privacy the walls were paper thin but we could hardly hear anything which was good. The staff were amazing. At reception the staff were always welcoming even when they were busy, we always had a laugh with them and we went there everyday either for change or to drop the keys off. The main staff member at the food court was really nice, she always made sure we had a table to sit at and by the end of the holiday she knew who we were and always greeted us. The entertainment was amazing perfect for kids and adults, they were so good we made sure to go see the show every night. The food was pleasant had something for everyone, it maybe not to everyones taste but it was very good and filling. the drinks were watered down but the cocktails were really nice. The pool was cold but as long as you jumped in and go straight under you'll be fine. the surrounding area was amazing you have everything you need around the corner and it was a lovely walk to the beach . in fact we loved it so much were going back there sadly not to the same hotel but if we hadn't got a better deal this year we would have defiantly stayed there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathrine_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from this hotel on the 9th of may 2014.The hotel is easy a 3*, food good, kids activities good pools good.while we was on holiday my father in law passed away which is your worst nightmare.The staff were good in helping us sort things out even lent us 40 euro for taxi to hospital.They helped with language barrier with doctors and also helped my 8 year old son and 4 year old daughter try and have some sort of holiday, also the thomson staff were great. THANK YOU DAVID HOYLANDS FAMILY

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f_allsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear f_allsop
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the popular Hotel Calypso.
We are very sorry about your bereavement, this is always a sad time wherever you might be, and in particular when you are in a foreign country. We are pleased that our staff were able to help you and your family wherever possible throughout this difficult time, and that in spite of everything your children were still able to enjoy part of their holiday.
Please accept our sincere condolences
With kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#31 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.9 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#24 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#7 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#26 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing