We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalunya(Salou)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,214)
Filter reviews
2,214 results
Traveller rating
607
763
458
173
213
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
763
458
173
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal frescodirty dancingapple barmed playasnack barentertainment teammama miaevery nightsaladburgerbar staffgames roommichael jacksonmain restaurantgreat holidaykebabevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 2,214 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been here three times and it has gradually got worse. Bar staff are ignorant, food was cold most of the time, rooms are tired. We purchased inflatables from the hotel shop only to be told they were not allowed in the pool ??? Only plus were the kids entertainers. We went all inclusive and ate out four times. Definitely the last time we will ever go to the Calypso.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 12gage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear 12gage
We are very sorry to hear that you with disappointed with your recent stay at the Hotel Calypso.
The Hotel Manager and her staff do their very best to ensure that our guests have the very best holiday experience possible, and your comments regarding the food in the hotel have been passed on.
With regards to your comments regarding inflatables, these are not permitted in the pool due to health and safety restrictions, we are sorry that you were not aware of this.
We are sorry that you are considering not returning to this popular hotel, and hope that you will change your mind and give us another opportunity.
With kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, except for the food, great at the BBQ area(plenty for kids) but restaurant food didn't have a great variety and wasn't very warm. Bar staff and animation team fantastic, lovely pools, would definitely stay here again, but will eat out.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcarla647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I went at the start of may for a week and the entertainment was brill but the food was horrible. Rooms were basic and squashed together but hotel is close to the airport and takes about 20 mins transfer.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awesomeman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

just got back from salou stayed at the hotel calypso on a all inclusive deal with first choice on arrival the first thing they hit us with was a tourist tax of 7 euroes before we even checked in then to cap it all low and behold the food was average surprise surprise ? it was only warm and no variety so we decided to try the alfresco food bar on the sun terrace no change there either same food served every day so we ended up eating out at fordies bar across the road food there was amazing and dirt cheap the only good thing about the hotel was the staff who were fantastic and very polite needless to say we wont be going back to salou

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Maurice A
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso in Salou.
We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of the hotel which did not meet with your expectations. At the Hotel Calypso we aim to offer our guests the very best holiday experience possible, and we are sorry that you were disappointed with the food selection and service during your stay. Our Hotel Manager and her staff do their very best to ensure that any issues our guests have during their stay are resolved on the spot, and we are sorry that you did not bring your disatisfaction to her attention. We are also sorry to hear that you had not been advised prior to your arrival regarding the tourist tax. This is an obligatory tax and is not included in the hotel pricing, unfortunately we have no control over this.
We are pleased to hear that you rate the staff in our hotel very highly, it is always rewarding to hear positive feedback about our staff, who we are very proud of.,
Thank you again for your feedback and kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we have just come back from our holiday at this hotel and cannot praise the staff enough,from the quick and friendly check in to the lovely lady in the shop and the fantastic entertainment team,who work realy hard keeping the children entertained all day and the adults at night. The room was clean and comfortable with the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in at any hotel.The hotel is only a short walk to the beach which was good as i cannot walk too far and the train also stops right outside the hotel which will take you all around Salou.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews