We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service poor if you're not All inclusive....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have today just returned from a few days away in Salou and stayed at the Medplaya calypso. I have been going to salou for many years and have stayed in many hotels in the area, but never this one. We wanted a cheap and cheerful few days away and for that it was perfect.
With most things there are pros and cons my pros would be, good value for money (we were half board) we could always get a full evening meal each night and finish it. We found at some of the other hotels that it would be a mix of everything and you ended up with a random selection of food on a plate. The meals here were good. Only a select few but very tasty.
Rooms very basic (no hairdryer but can put a deposit down for €20 to get one) pillows were a little hard but nothing we couldn't deal with.
The downside for us were the staff and entertainment.
We were half board, and it felt like everyone else was all inclusive. There were separate lines for the different guests in the bar area, but we found it very hard to get served because we didn't have a wristband. One guy in particular actually told me to move out of the way, and served the person behind me who was AI. It was pure rude.
The entertainment was interesting. We were pleased to see Dirty Dancing was on the night we arrived, and after it had finished we thought that was an hour we would never get back!! It was a complete mess, no structure to what was being performed and all they did was mine along to the film (badly) and wear costumes almost taking the mick. I know we wasn't going to receive a west end show, but it was very poor. I actually wasn't sure if they were being serious or not.

Kids wise the part before looked good, they knew how to look after the children and entertain them.
For a cheap holiday it's ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

This our second year at the Calypso, once again, it did not disappoint, the rooms are clean (in fact the whole hotel is clean) bar staff are very friendly, nothing is too much bother Encarna (the barmaid) is wonderful, plenty of choice food wise, for those who are fussy, the al fresco terrace is BRILLIANT.... Now what can i say about the Med Playa entertainment team?.... WOW.. WOW.. WOW..... They work tiredlessly every day to put on first class shows... well done Laura, Torres etc..... and as for Mafalda... she is mad, crazy lovely (hope your ankle gets better soon) thankyou CALYPSO for a wonderful holiday.... we will be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Heather R
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the popular Hotel Calypso.
We are very pleased to hear that the hotel ticked all the boxes for you and in particular your lovely comments regarding our staff, who we are particularly proud of.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations, Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here 2 weeks AI in May 2014. The staff, entertainment team and First Choice kids club staff were great. Games during the day were fun and entertainment in the evening was very good. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and the food plentiful, although its cake every night.....but there is also plenty of fruit and ice cream. The hotel is in easy walking distance of shops, bus stop, tourist train and beach. The down side was there were a lot of school children staying, with apparantly no supervision; screaming and shouting til the early hours.

Room Tip: Pool view gets afternoon sun,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sixbarsduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

All food was catered for the Spanish the only bit I reccommend is the snack bar most of it is cooked In front of you, we was there a week a family of 10 we ate out every night cos there was nothing there that would fill us and we aren't big eaters. 6 school trips turned up while we where there is when it came to meal times it was like a cattle market. The rep advised us to go to the theme park as it would have something for all the children which are 5, 12 and 14 we went but didn't stay long as the 5 year old could go on out they even have a separate kids part which he still couldn't go on half the rides with out in adult so it was just a waste of 200 euros

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Samantha F
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso in Salou.
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the Hotel or the resort.
At the start of season, the Hotel Calypso does take groups of children, who are coming to visit the popular theme park of Port Aventura. The Hotel Manager and her staff do their very best to keep these groups as far apart from other guests as possible, but this is obviously not possible all the time.
We hope that in spite of some disappointment you and your family were able to enjoy some parts of your stay in this popular resort
Kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations, Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel was poor the food was not possible to consume, the hotel gave the impression that their guests were thieves for example the pool chalk was chained to the table. the atmosphere of the hotel was a sense of paranoia on the staffs part. For example I was walking out of the dining are and i saw some oranges as we had payed all inclusive the dinner was free so i picked up some oranges then the staff accused me of stealing I then explained myself and I then walked away. At the very start of the hotel we had to pay a 15 euro deposit and we were told we would lose this if we we damaged any property in the room or hotel. This further gave the impression that the guest were hoodlums and trouble makers. I felt unsafe around the hotel and did not feel like I was in a Developed country. A budget hotel should not violate human rights that is not to say they did violate human rights but the state of the hotel should come under such a violation.
Not to mention we got stuck in a lift, granted there was six of us packed into the lift but the capacity was eight and therefore we should not of gotten stuck in the lift. We were stuck in the lift for ten minutes in an are of two meters squared I have been to Spain before and this wasn't it there was not a hint of spanish culture such as a tapas bar. I advice any people to avoid solou go to Corduba or Andulucia. The staff only gave one key and this made it difficult to enter my room as there were three people on of us would be away each time so after waiting and hour for the key I felt compelled to go into the room next store and climb the balcony. Someone had filmed me doing so and gave to on member of the security he then asked me to follow him to the reception and I followed him to the reception and then I was given a brash message by the staff warning me that if I climbed the balcony again I would be forced to leave the hotel but as they they didn't give more than one key i felt forced to find a way to my room in the first place. I hope this review will aid any who read it and make them avoid this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Christy O
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso.
We are very surprised by your comments about the hotel and the surrounding area. The Hotel Calypso is a popular hotel in Salou to which many guests return year after year, and the Hotel Manager and her staff do their utmost to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the very best holiday experience possible.
We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the lift. Our lifts all meet local and European legislation, and are fitted with alarms, intercoms etc, and all give a guideline of the max number of people and weight limit to ensure correct use.
We are particularly concerned to hear that you felt it was acceptable to climb from one balcony to another, whatever the reason for this, this behaviour is not acceptable in this hotel or any other hotel. It puts your own safety, and that of other guests at risk.
Salou is a lively cosmopolitan resort, with plenty for families, lots of nightlife and golden beaches, it is not a cultural destination as Cordoba, and we are sorry if you were not made aware of this at the time of booking.
We are sorry that Salou and the Hotel Calypso was not the right choice for you, and hope that your next holiday is in a destination more suited to your requirements.
Kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been here three times and it has gradually got worse. Bar staff are ignorant, food was cold most of the time, rooms are tired. We purchased inflatables from the hotel shop only to be told they were not allowed in the pool ??? Only plus were the kids entertainers. We went all inclusive and ate out four times. Definitely the last time we will ever go to the Calypso.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 12gage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear 12gage
We are very sorry to hear that you with disappointed with your recent stay at the Hotel Calypso.
The Hotel Manager and her staff do their very best to ensure that our guests have the very best holiday experience possible, and your comments regarding the food in the hotel have been passed on.
With regards to your comments regarding inflatables, these are not permitted in the pool due to health and safety restrictions, we are sorry that you were not aware of this.
We are sorry that you are considering not returning to this popular hotel, and hope that you will change your mind and give us another opportunity.
With kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, except for the food, great at the BBQ area(plenty for kids) but restaurant food didn't have a great variety and wasn't very warm. Bar staff and animation team fantastic, lovely pools, would definitely stay here again, but will eat out.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcarla647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#23 of 93 in Salou
2,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,941 reviews
0.3 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#8 of 93 in Salou
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £42 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing