We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the calypso hotel 27 May 14 for 1 week and we were very happy with the hotel, great place to stay, central location only minutes from the shops and pubs and about 15 minute walk with small kids who walk slow. The staff at the hotel were so friendly, in fact we go on hol twice a year and this has been the most friendly. Even close to port aventura and aqua polis, only 5-10 mins in a taxi which is only around 12euro. Already looking to book up again for next year would def recommend. Also rooms were cleaned every day. And good served all day was wide variety of food, would say even fussy eaters would have something to choose to eat

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Hayley D,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Calypso for your recent stay in Salou and for taking few minutes to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations and that you had a great holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Hotels Medplaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    683
    408
    150
    193
See reviews for
1,084
437
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We're just back today from a week at the Medplaya Calypso in Salou. I had read mixed reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to make up my own mind and I'm glad I did. Sorry for length of review but I wanted to provide the info I would have liked before going.

Myself and 16 year old daughter arrived at midday from a pleasant and on-time Jet 2 flight, taxi transfer (takes about 10 mins and costs 30 euros for 2 people). I had booked the hotel and flights separately and jumped in a taxi at the airport. I saved more than £100 doing it this way as opposed to booking with an agent or big operator (Thomson, First Choice and Jet 2 Holidays) online. First impression was very clean, large hotel. Checked in and were allocated room in Calypso 1 on the first floor overlooking the pool. The pool view rooms also overlook the stage for evening entertainment which is great to watch from your balcony if you fancy it but loud if you decide to go to bed before midnight or have small kids trying to sleep. The pool bar closes at midnight so no noise after this and we didn't have much bother with anyone above dragging furniture around late at night.

The hotel itself is fairly big with the 2 buildings joined by a corridor. Breakfast, lunch and dinner served in large restaurant which could get busy at breakfast and dinner where a queue would form at peak times. It seems to move fairly quickly though. No problems at lunchtime that I could see as most people seemed to eat at the terrace grill. As food is available all day at the grill, there were always tables free at any time. Spanish school kids arrived on day 5 of our holiday (and unlike other reviews say, they were very unobtrusive and kept in their groups with the adults present). They seemed to be accomodated in Calypso 2. Many others arrived around this time also and you could see the difference in the queues as until then we had none at all anywhere. I think if you were to go July/August it might be incredibly busy.

The food at breakfast was meats and cheeses, various muffins and pastries, eggs (varied between fried, scrambled, boiled and omelette) Spanish bacon, sausage (sometimes British style links, sometimes tiny frankfurters), tomato, beans, fried bread at times, hash browns at times, toast, rolls, tea, coffee, fruit juice, cereals and fruit.

Lunch and dinner food was similar - always the same salad selection of tomatoes, onion, lettuce, pasta salad, sweetcorn, gherkins with 2-3 meat and 2 fish choices. Also pasta and two sauces usually tomato and a cream sauce and chips. At dinner there is also soup, pate, cheese potatoes done various ways, chips and bread rolls. Drinks are from the bar during lunch and dinner. We only ate 2 lunches and 2 dinners in the restaurant preferring the Alfresco grill for lunch and out for dinner. All bars serve bottled water.

Alfresco grill had the same food each day but you could vary it as there were lots of choices to get round. From the grill there are chicken fillets, burgers, hotdogs, kebabs, pork steaks, and a few other items. Always a paella or stir fry available and a chicken casserole style dish. Self serve toastie machine. From the buffet at the Alfresco there were various salad items, pasta and sauce, beautiful baked potatoes, pizza, calamari, cheeses, meats, bread and rolls, chicken burgers or ham and cheese escalopes, chicken nuggets, beans and several other items. This was definitely the best place to eat. Hotel advertises snacks between 10pm and 11pm but we saw none. Maybe later in the season.

All bars served the same selection on All inclusive. Almost any spirit but the cheap version, cava, wines, beers, soft drinks, tea, coffee, chocolate hot and cold, bottled water, ice cream and crisps. Four cocktails, one of which is non-alcoholic. You can also buy slush for 2.25 euros. I thought this was a bit mean as its only crushed ice with a splash of syrup but I still bought them!!

Rooms were very clean and the beds we had had memory foam mattresses which felt new. (maybe new this season). Very clean rooms, maid service daily and towels changed daily if required. Wall mounted satellite TV, mirrored sliding wardrobes and balcony. Safe costs 30 euros which is returned when you hand back key on check out. I felt this was ok for us as it paid for our taxi back to the airport without having to keep money aside.

Kids entertainers worked really hard and the kids around seems to love them. Evening entertainment was actually quite good. Starts at 10pm and mostly its a show put on by the reps but good quality. Someone said it's all mimed and some of it is but also there are reps who can sing and dance very well and do so live. Dirty Dancing was our favourite and the guy who plays Patrick Swayze part was a great singer and fantastic dancer. Other shows on offer are Grease, Michel Jackson, Broadway, Flashdance, Disney and about 8 others. The Beatles tribute band were brilliant.

Pool areas are good and no bed race while we were there although a few families did put towels down before 9. Plenty of beds to go around but I think the problem in High season would be where to put them as there is limited space around the pools. I can see the race for beds happening then.

We found all the staff to be nice and they were always friendly with us. I like to ask for what I want in Spanish if I can and thank them in Spanish and it's amazing the difference when you do this. No loud lager louts around while we were there and everyone was friendly. Very, very hot in the afternoon around Calypso 1 pool as it's a suntrap but plenty of areas for shade too.

All in all I would return to this hotel with family but not as a couple I don't think. It's very geared for families and offers a good, decent service for the price you pay. We chose to eat out for dinner. This was always the plan and no reflection on what was offered at the hotel. Staff work hard to keep everything very clean. Well done Calypso and I think maybe I'll see you again. By the way, Salou is great, I really enjoyed the place and would definitely return. (Beach is gorgeous). Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Dakota1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORBY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here as always. We've stayed here quite a few times. The staff are great. The hotel is lovely and in an ideal location. There were times when the pool bar was quite untidy but the guests are more to blame for this. We loved the AL fresco dining at lunch time. My only request is that the hotel invests in a pressure washer and cleans the floor outside. There is dried in chewing gum everywhere. We hope to return next year with a bigger group of us. A big thank you to all staff especially Rosa, Domingo, Jose-Luis and Samba.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank VINNYB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear VINNYB_9
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the popular Hotel Calypso in Salou.
We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday and very much look foward to welcoming you back to stay with us on future occasions
Kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

went in july 13 enjoyed the visit so much we have booked up exact same holiday for july 14 could not fault the hote lstaff, rooms, food or entertainment in any way the whole holiday was brill from start to finish even the resort and beaches were some of the best i have been to all of the family cant wait to go again i would encourage any family to go to this hotel and resort
theme parks are only a short bus ride from hotel and the hotel is only a short walk into the main street of salou so the surrouding area is nice and quiet

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night break here, firstly, let me say the hotel is a great place to eat, drink and stay, the bars are well set up, one near the main pool and another in the alfresco dining area, which is great, freshly cooked food off the grill, the pools are clean and tidy, there are two pools, one for swimming only the other allows inflatables, which makes a change from usual pools, the entertainment was ok, not saying it was bad, but hey, if you've been to Spain before you'll know what I mean lol, only downsides are not enough staff about on reception during peak checking in times, and the bloke on the pool bar during the afternoon must be one of the most bad tempered barman I've had the misfortune to be served by, that's about it for bad points, the animation team are good with activities all day for young and old alike. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Calypso is a very good hotel. Having stayed in much 'fancier' hotels abroad I have to say my partner and I were pleasantly surprised! The hotel all inclusive food was excellent...the drinks the usual for all inc. the staff were polite (esp reception staff) and never stopped cleaning. The 2 pool areas are spacious and clean. The hotel is roughly a 5/10 min walk to the main strip and 10/15 to the beach. There is a road train stop across from hotel that will take you everywhere for 3 euros a ride. Only downside was the room! We booked a superior room which turns out are perched on the roof and very small! The balcony is also a wall so has no view unless your standing up! Also the shower is a seethru screen with holes (for groping?) which may not be too everyones taste....however we tend not too stay in our room a lot on holiday so it didnt bother us too much!

To summarise we would come back but wont be booking a 'superior' room again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billybhoy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just got back from another week in this hotel, this was our second time staying here and what a disappointment the premium room was. The rooms are situated on top of Calypso 2 which isnt very nice to start with, you catch the lift to floor 5 and then have to walk up the stairs with all your cases to level 6. On the hotel website it states The 10 guest rooms hotel Salou with premium double bed feature all the charm and personality that distinguish this hotel, with their modern decoration and wood furniture. This type of room has a large sunny balcony and is equipped with all the comforts of home: satellite TV, telephone, welcome pack with beverages, hair dryer, bathrobe and slippers, air conditioning and heating and hydro-massage shower. Optional safe deposit box. Includes unlimited access to the hotel jacuzzi. The rooms are not modern and could do with a good lick of paint and new fittings. We did not receive a welcome pack with beverages. The hairdryer is not included in the room you have to go back across to Calypso 1 and hire it for €20 which you get back when you return it, nothing about this in the description. The shower is a death trap they leak all over the floor and you have to put a towel down to collect the water or you will slip. The exclusive use to the jacuzzi, we tried to go to the terrace to use the sunbeds and jacuzzi but was told by maintenance it does not open till 1st of July when I queried this at reception she said it says on the website. (Someone please show me where ) . The large sunny balcony is not large neither is it lit at night so you cannot sit out on it and the chairs must be the most uncomfortable ones in the hotel. Calypso 1 seats are far better. All in all dont bother paying for Premium you get less than what you get in Calypso 1 and a better view there to if your on pool side. We returned to this hotel as the food service bbq is excellent and we enjoy something different in the afternoon. The evening meals 2 of the nights were shocking and we picked at a few things. The entertainment shows were also the same ones the hotel had 2 years ago so we didnt bother watching them again as they are not that good that the staff perform. We wont be returning to this hotel again as have decided we have stayed in much better over the years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evorocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear evorocks
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Calypso.
Our Hotel Manager and her staff do their very best to ensure that our guests enjoy the very best holiday experience possible. We understand that during your stay you met with the Manager and the Housekeeper, but that at this time there was no mention of the problem with the shower, the hairdryer or the location of the room. A room change could have been arranged if this would have been a solution at the time.
We are sincerely sorry that we did not have the opportunity to resolve your issues whilst you were in our hotel
With kind regards
Sue
Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#31 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.9 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#24 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#7 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#26 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing