We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, unhelpful staff”
Review of California III IV

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
California III IV
Ranked #66 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have never written any type of review before and am certainly not someone who goes on holiday and tries to find fault with everything but just had to write something about these apartments. Good points : apartment was comfortable and situated close to beach, shops, restaurants and bars. What spoiled our stay was the female receptionist and the little guy who normally worked in the afternoon/evening (but spent most of his shift standing outside the front door). They were two of the most rude, unhelpful people we have ever met. Arrived at about 10.30/10.45pm and checked in - basically "here's your key, here's your room number, sign these forms - away you go, you're bothering me!" Got to room, no controls for air conditioning or tv... back down to reception, then told you need to pay deposit for tv remote and that your room key works the air conditioning. Fair enough, but is that not the sort of information you give to people as they're checking in?? Woke next morning to find bathroom light not working. No problem, bulbs go, won't be a problem to get it fixed - wrong! Receptionist never passed on message to maintenance man and nearly three hours after reporting and another visit to reception and being very rudely spoken to, we finally got it fixed (by two really nice maintenance guys who had been unaware of the problem). From then on every time we left or entered the apartment building we were glowered at and felt very uncomfortable. No "good morning", "hello", nothing, just your key slid across the desk without them lifting their heads. On a couple of occasions when waiting to request our key, we were totally ignored while they acknowledged people who came to the desk after us. Our paperwork said that, due to having a late flight home, we would be able to arrange a late check out time. Was told by the female receptionist that our room was not free and that all apartments were full so we couldn't do this. Was told by another member of staff later on in the day that the place was pretty much empty so they couldn't understand why we would have been told this. Seems to be if you're British you do not qualify to be well treated which is a shame as, like I said, couldn't complain about the actual accommodation. My overall rating is poor, purely because of these two staff members.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Visited here in September 2012. The apartment was huge and had everything we could need. It had a TV but no remote, not that we would have watched it anyway. The bed wasn't great and neither were the pillows. The bedroom window was shuttered and led onto the stairwell and not all guests were considerate. The doors to the apartment were heavy and people slammed them all day and night.
The food was terrible. It was buffet style food with no variety for two vegetarians unless we wanted dry looking pasta or sad looking salad. We ate out most evenings instead, which was annoying because we had paid for dinner! Breakfast was a bit better, but trying to find a table was a nightmare. The waiting staff were pretty rude.
The apartments were safe and clean, though, with lock boxes available at reception.
Salou itself is lovely. The apartments are across the road from a supermarket and a five minute walk from the beach. It is a ten - fifteen minute walk from Cap Salou (a much quieter beach). There is a lot going on and you can get the land train pretty much anywhere you want to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbowfrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Me my husband and 2 year old child, stayed here for a week, very noisey window glass was like sheets of paper you could hear everything, traffic going up and down. when i got there, there wasn't any cot for my child, so i went down to reception they told me i would have to pay an extra price for the cot, 8e a night which i thought was all inclusive with the package i got, as i requested a cot. Food was nice, there was no pool you would have to cross the road to the other hotel to go to the pool, and that was always full.
If your a person that likes sleeping in, after a night out not the right place for you a cleaner would wake u up a t 9.30 every morning which was to early for us, as our child slept later.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolineCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank angcc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Montse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#61 of 93 in Salou
1,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
0.6 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#7 of 93 in Salou
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
California Palace
California Palace
#49 of 93 in Salou
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#58 of 93 in Salou
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments California
Apartments California
#17 of 69 in Salou
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California III IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California III IV

Address: Prat d'en Carbo, s/n., 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range: £42 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your California III IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California III IV Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing