We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartments California
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre(Salou)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Daurada(Salou)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace(Salou)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
24
51
34
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
51
34
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel across the roadhalf boardbit naffspacious apartmenthotels poolwee traintwo single bedsplana busessaladearly hours of the morninglight sleeperporkbeanseach eveningroom numbercleaning staffbad reviews
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week in September, it is a budget hotel but the room was clean and adequate, air con. was free, TV was also free but very few English channels, no WiFi in the hotel but free in the bar next door out the back.The hotel does not have a pool but you are able to use the one across the road. The hotel is very central with only a short walk to the beach. the meals were ok, with a good choice buffet and eat as much as you like.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have just returned from a week at the California appartments in Salou; last minute get away to find some sun and do no cooking for a week. Salou is Blackpool with sun; if you are not British, try to think of the tackiest resort you have ever been to and that will be a good guide. However, we went there knowing what to expect so no great surprises awaited us. The appartments were clean, except for a horrible sofa that smelled! beds were very comfortable and the apartment was a spacious 2 bedroom version with a decent sized balcony; no view as it faced another apartment block over the street. With the exception of the first night, the food in the restaurant was good; plenty of variety, decent quality and you could eat as much as you liked. Excellent breakfast that set us up for the day. On the downside, the streets in the immediate vicinity have a look of inner city decay; a leaking fountain that floods an untidy square, broken paths and some horrible `British Pubs`; ok, the last part is in the eye of the beholder and plenty of people seemed to want to drink British beer all day long and eat British food. There are some good quality hotels in this immediate vicinity too, and I found it surprising that they put up with the couple of streets surrounding them. The sea front area is impressive and very well maintained; it is possible to reach it via nice tree lined streets away from low class establishments. The apartments are noisy at night; in the main this is because they are built in a rectangular shape with an open centre; everywhere is tiled and every noise is amplified; especially when the morons begin to filter back from the bars in the early hours of the morning and take delight in slamming their apartment doors. This was the worst feature of the California in my view; even when someone accidentally let a door go it echoed terribly. We were unfortunate enough to be near the lift shafts, and the winding noise from the lifts was very noticeable. There is a sister hotel over the dual carriageway to the right as you exit the appartments; the road can be crossed safely by pedestrian controlled traffic lights. The hotel has a nice pool area with plenty of sunbeds and a pool bar, if you want that sort of thing; it was nice to cool off there in the early evening. The apartments are popular with visitors from eastern europe, and there were many of them there; no rude Germans I am happy to report! Most people arrived for dinner in smart casual dress, however there just as many who looked (and smelled) as if they had just walked off a hot beach; shorts flipflops and offensive tee shirts being their idea of dressing for dinner; in some cases I wondered if they were used to eating at tables at all, the manners of some were appalling. We found the staff pleasant and had no complaints with the way the hotel was run, however, they do need to impress upon their guests the need to close doors in a considerate manner. If you do go, take a trip along to Cambrils, 10 minutes on the excellent bus service takes you to a classy resort; we would consider staying there for a holiday in future but would not go back to Salou. Take in Tarragona with its nice architecture and Roman remains, which are amongst the best in western Europe.

Room Tip: Unless you are on a budget, don`t stay here; seriously, do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Very basic hotel , room was very clean apart from the bed settee which thankfully we didnt have to use!.it was really smelly. Towels changed every day , bed once , cleaner in every day to sweep, mop , etc .Breakfast was great , although , did get a bit fed up with the very rude German people we encountered. Biggest draw back was about the pool. We had to use the sister hotels pool , we were early risers , but could never get a sunbed!.Towels everywhere!.Used the very beautiful beach , but fourteen euro every day for beds and umbrella , was a bit silly. Salou is a fab place to visit , but maybe another hotel would serve better .The thomas cook rep was a waste of time , late to the meeting , and never encountered her again!.

Room Tip: Higher floors were best
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks in August 2011, party of 5 adults ranging from 16 to 50+.

As previous contributors have commented, this is a fairly basic hotel - you are not paying 5 star prices so don't expect 5 star service. However it is clean, comfortable and adequate as long as you keep your expectations realistic.

Plus points:
- Good location, very close to the covered walkway (shops, bars etc) leading down to the fountains. You can also walk up to Port Aventura in about 15 minutes (although the bus is only EUR 1.45 per person per trip and much quicker)
- hotel room cleaned each day including fresh towels
- good space in the apartments
- food was good - dinner range varied (best point is that if you are there 2 weeks the menus are not the same in week 2 as it was in week 1). Also there is a chef cooking food each evening in the main restaurant - this is often the best on offer.
- friendly and helpful staff

Minus points
- Rooms are basic and a bit tired - old furniture, minute TV, no satellite TV, no wifi, limited kitchen equipment
- you have to cross the road to the California Gardens hotel to swim (or walk to the beach - much better)
- the waitresses in the restaurant need training on service - they lean right across you all the time to collect used plates, even if you are eating
- breakfast menu is a bit repetitive (fried eggs every day - can they not scramble occasionally ?)
- there are internal windows so you can get noise at times. If you are on the side overlooking the main road then you can get noise from people leaving the disco opposite

Verdict
- keep expectations realistic - remember you are only paying for a 2 star apartment.
- go half board not full board. You pay extra for drinks (remember to order and pay for these on the way in to the restaurant)
- 2 stars is about right but could easily be improved to 3 (see below recommendations)

Recommendation to hotel management:
1. refurbish the rooms
2. Install larger TVs
3. Install satellite TV
4. Get wifi set up
That would substantially fix this location.

Overall we agreed that yes we would go back.

Room Tip: Ask fo a high and quiet room - that minimises the noise from the disco
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon_in_Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

hotel room was cleaned every day
towels changed every day
food basic but good
central to all amenities
hotel staff friendly
no swimming in this hotel need to cross the road to the sister hotel (california gardens) to use the pool, you need to get up very early for a sun bed or you wont get one. We had to go on the beach for three days it costs 4 euros a bed.
With this in mind i wouldn't both going full board as its cheap enough to eat out , drinks are pretty cheap at 1 euro a bottle in some pubs.
would go back at the right price

Room Tip: beds hard room clean and tidy
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews