We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Try and keep this short and sweet.

The hotel was great! I researched it quite a lot before going and most reviews you read are not far wrong!
Me and my girlfriend absolutely loved it!
The hotel resort is really nice, we had a pool view, amazing weather, all inclusive, food was great....lots of choice with several themed nights for food styles and an optional Mexican restaurant.

All I can say negatively is the beds were a little too hard for me, I slept okay but they weren't very comfortable.
Another extra, for times you just want a little normal they have an English music Channel mainly and on like channel 24 or something there is like BBC 1 or something which I did find nice.

Very family orientated place but as I said we went for a coupled holiday (early 20's) and it was great.

Theme park was absolutely awesome! GO ON FURIOUS BACO AND DRAGON KHAN! Two amazing rides, dragon khan is just unreal! The themed sections are such high quality they really haven't done a bodged job of anything it's the best theme park I've ever been too in terms of quality!

The waterpark I found isnt a full day thing, it gets RIDICULOUSLY busy so go at 10am be waiting for the gate to open and first thing you do, get a locker and get on stuff early because 2 hours later, there is no room to swim nevermind waiting an hour for a single slide!
Great couple of hours spent there in the AM of the day and PM spent in the park.

Overall review I loved it, my girlfriend loved it, but I've done it now and I probably wouldn't go again due to the price of 1 weeks stay totalling £1600 no spends included but loved it none the less.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickGilmovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 2,299 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed at 2 of the other PA hotels; chose el Paso this time as (strangely) it was cheaper as AI than HB at other 3 hotels.
Hotel pretty much as we'd expected.
We though it was actually the best of the 4 hotels as others are so quiet, yes there's not much evening entertainment after kids disco, but it is actually better than the other hotels.
Food good. My only disappointment was no morning omelettes, but otherwise, everything well cooked and lots of choice.
My advice would be to cancel transfers with holiday company and use the money saved towards a taxi (28euros) and arrive before the masses so you don't queue at reception.

Room Tip: Also, ask for block near pool - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coweam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hotel was nice and the food was ok apart from the desserts i thought there was not enough effort put in. the bedroom was good a queen size bed very nice with tv. the shower was useless kept running too hot or too cold we told reception staff on several occasions but nothing was done had to have a bath everyday. the pool was very good and surrounding gardens was pretty.
the kids entertainment was rubbish they didnt cater for english kids and everything was in spanish and it was the same songs everynight. staff was nice apart from the odd miserable one.. no kettle in rooms so be prepared for a long walk if you want a cuppa in the morning. the transport into salou is rubbish you have to pay 3 euro each way but be prepared for a long wait as there not on time. free bus starts at 10am and finishes at 11am then restarts at 4pm until 6pm. after that its 10 euro there and 10 euro back. we thought that the hotel was ok but it was far to far from salou. the theme park and water park was great.

Room Tip: room by the pool as the kids entertainment is by the lobby and other surrounding rooms the pool is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Travelled 2 adults 2 children. Room was nice and big, large double bed and bunk beds with a small balcony. The food was always hot and always found something to eat, the beer and spirits watered down of course but what do you expect from a all inclusive. Excellent location for the theme park which was included in our package. The only thing I can really fault is the evening entertainment in the hotel there is nothing for the adults after the mini disco I think they rely solely on people walking up into the park for the shows but when you have a tired 8 year old sometimes something to watch and chill in the hotel would have been nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have just returned after 14 nights. Very nice hotel, gardens maintained. Food repetitive, but nothing differant to other AI I have stayed in before. Close to park for me was the only bonus although only went 4 times as felt you didn't need more time there than that. So could of stayed cheaper in another hotel and just paid for a pass for the park. The season is now going into their winter season therefore park closes at 8pm. Which is a bit of a shame because it was open until 12pm the first week and that's when you got to go on most rides within 5-10 mins. Paid for a express pass but waist of money unless you are a theme park freak as it only includes the big rides. Shows ok but only last about 15 minutes. Rooms cleaned daily but never felt they had been swept. Stairs going to apartment never swept in 2 weeks. Overall a good 3 star very overpriced for a 4 star only worth the money if you are going to the park a lot. Hope this review helps

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleycolchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I can't really say this is a review, but this is due to our fantastic time at the hotel Caribe in Portaventura, that i have already booked next years holiday, this time for 2 weeks at the El Paso. I took one evening whilst the children were in the Park to familiarise myself with the only all inclusive hotel in the Portavenura group. Also because we have Mexican family roots, the El Paso made me think of my 2nd home where all my late husbands family are and a place i miss sooo much. It is very different from the Caribe in the way that when you walk into the foyer area, it is a lot quieter and more open. My surprise was when i opened the doors to go outside and found this authentic courtyard with tables and chairs set amidst beautiful trees and twinkly lights everywhere. Then just on the other side was this amazing little stage/arena where i watched some great spanish flamenco dancing. It was such a treat and a real magical atmosphere, i didn't want to leave! the front part of the hotel entrance is my favourite as i love the trees in front at night with the lights all wound round the tree trunks. It looks so inviting. Unfortunately i can't say anything about food, pool, service etc as i was just a passing guest, but from the reviews i have read i believe my two children and i are in for another Portaventura treat, except this time we will have more time to explore other areas around salou, and relax in the massive hotel jaccusi, eat as much as we like all day long and love it !! Can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
4  Thank dranrab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 1 week at beginning of September 2013. Room was dated with marked walls, marked bathroom tiles, dirty looking shower curtain, weird painted purple wooden doors, tatty bedding, hard squeaky beds, shower that turned hot to cold without touching it and stairwells that resembled council tower blocks! The reception area was understaffed and you queued for everything, including towels at reception! Wrong information was given. We were told park shut at 10.00pm, when it was midnight. We were not told that you had to get separate entrance tickets on the day you required them by queuing at reception each morning! We also did not like the restaurant routine, the wasps and the very poor choice of drinks with limited availability. Everything came out of plastic containers in the bars, so cocktails were awful. I would rate the hotel as a 3* at best. They do not need to provide any kind of service. Nothing was done about noisy inconsiderate people at night.
Good points were pleasant grounds, despite wasps and broken fountain! Food was quite nice and it was nice to be further back from the park and an easy walk. Not easy to walk into Salou though and taxi cost around 8 -10 euros each way!

Room Tip: Avoid Iguana. Not sure about the other rooms. Always noisy until late in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4starmin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#14 of 93 in Salou
470 reviews
1 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#45 of 93 in Salou
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#20 of 93 in Salou
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £120 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso
PortAventura Hotel El Paso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing