We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“top class holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our 3rd time at Portaventura and got to say, it was top dollar...Hotel el paso is a cracking hotel, clean, lovelly pool, everything you would expect from a top hotel really...the park is as always superb..Salou is only a short walk away so that also is good...The only points i would pick up is there is a lot of wasps in one area of the pool...easy answer is not to got to that bit, and if you can go in the fisrt week of september because the water park as well as the theme park is completely free...Go all inclusive and you can get meals in the theme park free as well.....5 stars from me...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    697
    404
    141
    95
See reviews for
1,418
175
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from our holiday in sunny Spain, had the misfortune to stay in the El Paso for one night after we had queued for nearly an hour at reception to book in we were issued our room 2118 tried and fed up with the queue we were looking forward to a good nights sleep. On entering the room we where greeted with Bogeys and snot all over the walls, light switches, shower curtain, huge lunges on the toilet there was even a huge smear of faeces on the bathroom ceiling,absolutely disgusting, refused the room and quickly moved the family to another room which was basic but more importantly clean.
Next we went to eat at the restaurant another huge queue as we had to pay before we ate so €96 for two adults and two children according to the hotel a child of 12 is an adult.
The food was a buffet style array of crap salads cold burgers and soggy chips the staff couldn't care less as there were no tips being handed out . The breakfast was no better, without doubt the worst place I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gelatomaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, PortAventura at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We truly regret that your stay in Hotel El Paso didn’t meet your expectations. We take your comments into consideration in order to improve our service as our customers’ experience is one of our main priorities.

Greetings,
PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our 6th time to Portaventura as the kids love it but our 3rd time to the hotel El Paso as we prefer to go all inclusive. However this time will be our last for a while as most of the shows hadn't changed from the previous year and as being as it was the last week in August the queues for the food in the hotel were horrendous which has really put us off, you were also lucky to get a sunbed! The theme park itself is great and the kids love the shows but I think it's time for a change!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheshire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Me and my family can't wait to come back, we never got bored once, so much choice! Theme park night or day, shows on theme park, trips (family day was great nou camp then Barcelona zoo) water park, trip into town, beach or round the pool! There really is something for every one.
Hotel and theme park was amazing value, very clean and staff are really friendly.
I read some reviews on here but knew we would love it regards to the bad reviews! Your always going to get the moaners where ever you go! People have moaned about entertainment at the hotel!! There was something every night and so many shows on the theme park so I don't know what people want, might as well stay home! I don't know how any one could complain to be honest. We had the best time can't fault it.
Definitely going if you can't decide :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Loumaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the El Paso in June 2013 with my 2 kids (11 and 9 yrs)
Food was excellent, usual buffet stuff but always plenty choice, hot and always something for the kids. Pool side snacks during the day were great for the kids.
Rooms were fine, ours had a double bed and bunk beds for kids. Safety box in room too.
Pool area was fantastic with a big play area for the kids and, probably due to the themepark, you could get a decent sunbed any time of the day with no need to put towels down before breakfast.
Bar area good but a lot of queueing when the entertainment finishes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Fantastic holiday. Went with my 2 year old. Went off season as it's less expensive but was certainly worth the money. Just up the road from the theme park which we visited every day. Food was amazing. Best all inclusive I have ever stayed in. Photos of this place do it no justice, it is huge!! Went on the provided free shuttle bus to the beach front a few times. It was very clean however i don't think the stairs had been swept at all during my stay. Rooms are very basic, I'd say more 3 *. I was a bit disappointed there were no tea/coffee making facilities or a fridge. (Essentials when travelling with a toddler).
My only real complaint about this place was the children's disco was situated on a rather high concrete stage. My 2 year old loves a boogie but I was terrified and running round after her Incase she fell off and broke a limb or two.
However this is a place I would visit again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I thought i had to write a review after reading some of the not so positive reviews regarding this hotel , firstly the place is spotless rooms cleaned every day (including floors being moped) , staff around the site continually cleaning and maintaining the site throughout the day to the point that it reminded me of the Lee Evans joke regarding Mc Dondalds and the clean clean joke lol. The food was varied but its mainly quick easy food with three different theme nights a week some better than others ,so if your going there expecting top restaurant food then this place wont be for you or all these now so called foodies or in other words some that wants to pay through the nose for a over payed cook to serve you up a half cooked piece of meat with two posh chips and half a lettuce leaf . Perhaps all inclusive is not the type of holiday you should be going for ,this hotel is really for family's so there has to be a selection for the kids and they want burgers, hot dogs,chips , pizza etc(after all your on holiday) these are plentiful as well as salads cold meats and hot meat and vegetable dishes with cooked chicken and fish on offer every day.Drinks are on tap from am to pm alcoholic drinks available from lunch time till midnight ish .
The entertainment is mainly for the kids with face painting during the day etc and then music on the stage at night with dancing and various family activity`s till 11 pm ish no load music till the early hours as the towns nightclubs supply this in abundance if that's want you want and to be frank the entertainment is the theme park witch when you you stay at this hotel lets you go in and out as you please till it shuts . so that in its self offers massive value as it is around 2 days is approx £50 per adult so that would have cost us for our 7 night stop £600 plus for the week and we also had the water park included which was superb as well .
The hotel swimming pool is great with a bubble pool and kids pool with a half sunken pirate ship and water pistols , lots of life guards and the snack bar has drinks on tap and ice cream as well as tea and coffee and snacks. The only down side to the holiday apart from coming home was some of the other guest and there lack of manors and not having a clue for the meaning of queuing.

Were going back next year because for the price we got this holiday for i cant find anything that really comes close to the value and fun we had top marks PortAventura El Paso keep it up see you next year .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank price l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#20 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Property: PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso
PortAventura Hotel El Paso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing