We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really good experience here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I went to hotel El Paso at the end of August 2013 with my daughter, aged 9. This was my daughter's first trip abroad and our first experience of an All Inclusive holiday. The hotel was lovely. Very clean and all staff very friendly. We arrived first thing in the morning and receptionist were very friendly and quick at dealing with all the new guests. We were given our key to our room straight away but I understand that not everyone was that lucky. Pool area was a good size and we managed to get sun beds easily enough everyday. Pool was too cold for me but my daughter seemed to like it, especially the jacuzzi. Food at hotel was good. Lots of options and had a theme night. Only downside to hotel was the wasps near the pool. They seem to have a big problem with this and should probably address this.

However the Portadventura Park was brilliant. Entertainment was good at all sections. The Wild West show was the best and we went and saw this twice. The water park was good too but we only went once as the queues to get in were massive. As all inclusive guests we could eat at the theme park in selected restaurants but the food wasn't that great. The theme park was open til midnight everyday so it was really great to go on some of the rides in the dark plus it was a little cooler then too.

Not a relaxing holiday at all because there is so much to do but definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our first abroad holiday with our 4 children aged between 3 years and 8 years in September 2013. Great location close to the PortAventura theme park and Salou town centre. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was fantastic all the time and provided plenty of choice for all the family (And we have fussy kids!). El Coyote comes highly recommended also, we had 2 visits during our week and both times were enjoyable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, although the queue to the reception desk was quite long at times but not a massive issue for us. The theme park is a 5 minute walk away from the hotel or there is a free train which makes regular visits between the theme park and hotel. Theme park itself is excellent, lots of variety and the shows were good to watch. The waterpark was a good size with plenty to do also. The pools were clean and the kids loved the children's pool with the water cannons and pirate ship. Overall, we really enjoyed our holiday here and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DanielleS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here in late June early July 2013 with 3 friends after finishing our a levels. Not exactly a lads holiday but there definitely would be the opportunity if that was your thing based on a decent number of clubs and bars in Salou. Anyway, hotel is really nice, staff are very friendly and helpful, theme park is literally a 5 mins walk and was absolutely incredible we went there pretty much everyday. Weather was about 28 deg C everyday, we didn't see a cloud until we arrived back in Barcelona at the end of the week. Food was nice, not exceptional but it was good enough, the pan au chocolates were incredible though. The gold river hotel looked really nice too but was significantly more expensive when we booked it. Would definitely recommend this to anyone of all ages, probably would be best for a family with children maybe around the ages of 8ish, but we were all 18 and really enjoyed ourselves too (free cocktails and Estrella)!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our 3rd time at Portaventura and got to say, it was top dollar...Hotel el paso is a cracking hotel, clean, lovelly pool, everything you would expect from a top hotel really...the park is as always superb..Salou is only a short walk away so that also is good...The only points i would pick up is there is a lot of wasps in one area of the pool...easy answer is not to got to that bit, and if you can go in the fisrt week of september because the water park as well as the theme park is completely free...Go all inclusive and you can get meals in the theme park free as well.....5 stars from me...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from our holiday in sunny Spain, had the misfortune to stay in the El Paso for one night after we had queued for nearly an hour at reception to book in we were issued our room 2118 tried and fed up with the queue we were looking forward to a good nights sleep. On entering the room we where greeted with Bogeys and snot all over the walls, light switches, shower curtain, huge lunges on the toilet there was even a huge smear of faeces on the bathroom ceiling,absolutely disgusting, refused the room and quickly moved the family to another room which was basic but more importantly clean.
Next we went to eat at the restaurant another huge queue as we had to pay before we ate so €96 for two adults and two children according to the hotel a child of 12 is an adult.
The food was a buffet style array of crap salads cold burgers and soggy chips the staff couldn't care less as there were no tips being handed out . The breakfast was no better, without doubt the worst place I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, PortAventura at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We truly regret that your stay in Hotel El Paso didn’t meet your expectations. We take your comments into consideration in order to improve our service as our customers’ experience is one of our main priorities.

Greetings,
PortAventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our 6th time to Portaventura as the kids love it but our 3rd time to the hotel El Paso as we prefer to go all inclusive. However this time will be our last for a while as most of the shows hadn't changed from the previous year and as being as it was the last week in August the queues for the food in the hotel were horrendous which has really put us off, you were also lucky to get a sunbed! The theme park itself is great and the kids love the shows but I think it's time for a change!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheshire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Me and my family can't wait to come back, we never got bored once, so much choice! Theme park night or day, shows on theme park, trips (family day was great nou camp then Barcelona zoo) water park, trip into town, beach or round the pool! There really is something for every one.
Hotel and theme park was amazing value, very clean and staff are really friendly.
I read some reviews on here but knew we would love it regards to the bad reviews! Your always going to get the moaners where ever you go! People have moaned about entertainment at the hotel!! There was something every night and so many shows on the theme park so I don't know what people want, might as well stay home! I don't know how any one could complain to be honest. We had the best time can't fault it.
Definitely going if you can't decide :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Loumaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#14 of 93 in Salou
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £137 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso
PortAventura Hotel El Paso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing