We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be brilliant but theres a few big flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could be brilliant but theres a few big flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

First of all, check in was a breeze, after reading comments on ere I was pleasantly suprised. The rooms are basic but clean. The pool was huge but absolutely freezing but my kids didn't care. The pool side bar and snack bar was convenient. The train to the park was good but not needed as its 5 min walk. The buffet and al carte food was spot on. Lots of choice. The bar was one of the biggest downfalls. The main bar only opens at 5 so u av to use the pool bar which is annoying but ok until u get stormy weather like we had. Wen the main bar does open its tiny and can only fit 5 familys of 5 inside so again your sat outside which is fine until it's raining or cold. Also our.room was one the 3rd floor in the main building which from 9-12 u can hear scrapping of chairs on the tiles by staff and guests this at times become unbearable I mean it was a dreadful noise. If it wasnt for the bar issue and the noise issue it could ov been a lot better. Safe to say im a little disappointed

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Craig. We truly regret that your experience in Hotel El Paso wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our bar service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    697
    404
    141
    95
See reviews for
1,418
175
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was my second to the El Paso a lovely clean hotel, rooms were cleaned everyday... staff are friendly and very helpful port aventura is just up the street excellent park
with stuff for everyone to do! Food choices were brillant food was lovely cannot wait to go back August 2014

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

One word to describe this holiday, Perfection!! Can not complain about anything. Best one I've ever been on. Only disappointing thing about it is that we didn't stay longer!! Will definitely be back. Short distance from airport. Huge selection of food, fab entertainment. Short train ride to reach Salou, loads to do around the area including the Portaventura theme park which you have unlimited access too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Devilwuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic holiday at this hotel. No complaints at all. Food was great with huge selection at all times of the day. A bit of a trek to the town centre but right next to portaventura so we could pop up every day. Most suitable for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We paid too much for our 1 week break compared to others. There were 4 of us, 2 kids and 2 adults all squashed into a room. No place for the kids to play, we couldn't go outside the room as there were ants everywhere. The air conditioning was rubbish, might as well not have been on. There were cracks in the bathroom tiles.
The food was ok, lots to choose from. We used the train a few times to go up to the parks. The theme park is aimed at older kids and adults really, but we loved the water park.
Sunbeds are a nuisance, or should I say that some holidaymakers were quite selfish. We saved our beds as everyone else did one morning and to go back to see our towels removed to give a group of 12 people 2 extra beds even though they weren't using all of them. Arrogant and selfish, not German but English! That actually spoiled our day and if we had a proper room to go back to it would've been ok so the kids could play safely. We resigned from then on to only using the pool late afternoon/early evening as the selfish holiday makers were rushing to queue for their dinners. We won't go back here for free. The only good thing was the distance from the airport and choice of food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mamiddau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Mamiddau, We truly regret that your stay at Hotel El Paso didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Please, accept our apologies. Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

really good hotel, good selection of food available all inclusive was brilliant, water park just up the road with 50% discount due to staying in the hotel, staff very friendly rooms clean and tidy always clean towels if required,defiantly would stay in the hotel again if I was to visit portaventura.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here in June 2013. It was brilliant, lovely, clean spacious rooms with a nice balcony and view of the park in the distance. The pool was never that busy during the day so there was no need to reserve sun beds. There is a train/car that passes every 10 mins to take you back and fore to the park which was perfect when we were tired but the hotel was only actually a five minute walk away! I can't really comment on the entertainment as it was only aimed for young children but the atmosphere in the hotel was lovely at night.

The all inclusive option was great, lots of branded items, the buffet had a variety of food on offer so was never boring, but it was great having the pool bar there for a slightly lighter lunch! You also have the option of having your lunch (and dinner during the high season) inside the park which meant there was no need to plan ahead.

The park was fantastic, there's all sorts of rides for everyone, if you love the bigger rides I would definitely recommend paying for the fast track passes for the week, they were only 50€ each for the week when we went and saved us a lot of time queuing (the longest we spent in a queue was 10 minutes, when the regular queues were estimated to be 90 minutes long). We actually only spent around 200€ in total for two people for a whole week (100€ of that on fast track passes) as everything we needed was included. It was a great holiday and I can't wait to go back there in a few years time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Emm932014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Property: PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso
PortAventura Hotel El Paso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing