We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Salou
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed hotel el paso for a week at thr end of may.the hotel is set out lovely.the rooms r basic but clean and in good condition.the food is very good.u would have to b very fussy not to eat anything from the buffet.the ala carte restaraunt is great.not a lot to choose from but its great tasty food.there is a poolside snackbar serving salad.burgers.chicken nuggets.ham cheese toasties.pizza.hot dogs and a choice of cold sandwiches also ice cream.the kids entertainment is great and there is some adult entertainment too.the only downfall to this hotel was it took an eternity to get booked in at reception.eveyday there was massive ques and people were getting very impatient. apart from this the hotel gets a well deserved 10/10. it is 300 meters from portaventura theme pk and only a 20 min walk from the beach.my kids absolutely loved the place and would definitely go back..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank lee1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    699
    404
    142
    95
See reviews for
1,421
176
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Booked 1 night with 2 days at the park. Great location, friendly staff, well maintained. Personally I wouldn't go back for a longer stay as food was average and had to be queued for. Through corridors outside room meant an early night wasn't possible.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Black_Potato. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than what you expected. We understand from your review that your visit to the park was not as it should have been due to restaurant service and queues time. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly the El Paso needs to improve check in. We waited over an hr. Then returned to get room number and queued again for another 15 mins. The reason, they have so much to tell you. This would easily be improved with more staff and someone working the queue to sort such things as breakfast times and meals. Tell people in a group in the queue and it would be better. Also add refreshments to the reception. After flight, transfers and then the queue we were not happy. Not what you want on your first day.
Rooms were basic but very clean and facilities were great.
Not much entertainment for older kids. Disco is outside and only lasts 45 mins and starts at 915 til 10. Then another 1hr of adult entertainment. Not good if raining as all outside. Could be better arrangement of venue as plenty of space at hotel to put on more entertainment.
Very nice pool and bar. Pool very cold but kids don't mind. Range of food is great and coffee and water always on tap. Didn't mind bars opening in different areas at different times.
Very friendly staff
Could have bigger games area. 1 pool table and 1 table tennis table is not sufficient. This is the only entertainment for bigger kids.
Brilliant buffet for breakfast and tea. Yes it's not very hot but there is microwaves and who cares as long as cooked right. Nice theme nights in buffet.
Brilliant area but not in the heart but is easy to walk to salou if you want beach or tourist shops. Not much else there.
Tours from Thomas Cook were good but rushed. Highly recommend Barcelona ultimate tour but you don't get much time there as leaves to late in the morning to get a full day.
Would not rush back but is lovely for all inclusive and very pretty and nice design hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank clairealys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear clairealys. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than what you expected. We understand from your reported that your visit to the park was not as it should have been due to check-in and entertainment service. Please, see that facilities may be out of service, suspended or closed due to technical, weather-related, safety or operating reasons to ensure the visitors safety. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Queued a total of 2 hrs first day to check in and get towels,dinner reservations etc.
Food awful on Sunday, slightly better on Monday and back to revolting on Tues and every day since. Why is all hot food cold and swimming in grease at every meal?
Upset stomach for 3days so far! Have spoken to many people who feel the same as us.
The hotel could be fantastic if only the food was improved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamjam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Pamjam2013. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at Hotel PortAventura El Paso was less than what you expected. We understand from your reported that your visit to the park was not as it should have been due to check in and restaurant service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

First of all, check in was a breeze, after reading comments on ere I was pleasantly suprised. The rooms are basic but clean. The pool was huge but absolutely freezing but my kids didn't care. The pool side bar and snack bar was convenient. The train to the park was good but not needed as its 5 min walk. The buffet and al carte food was spot on. Lots of choice. The bar was one of the biggest downfalls. The main bar only opens at 5 so u av to use the pool bar which is annoying but ok until u get stormy weather like we had. Wen the main bar does open its tiny and can only fit 5 familys of 5 inside so again your sat outside which is fine until it's raining or cold. Also our.room was one the 3rd floor in the main building which from 9-12 u can hear scrapping of chairs on the tiles by staff and guests this at times become unbearable I mean it was a dreadful noise. If it wasnt for the bar issue and the noise issue it could ov been a lot better. Safe to say im a little disappointed

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Craig. We truly regret that your experience in Hotel El Paso wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our bar service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was my second to the El Paso a lovely clean hotel, rooms were cleaned everyday... staff are friendly and very helpful port aventura is just up the street excellent park
with stuff for everyone to do! Food choices were brillant food was lovely cannot wait to go back August 2014

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

One word to describe this holiday, Perfection!! Can not complain about anything. Best one I've ever been on. Only disappointing thing about it is that we didn't stay longer!! Will definitely be back. Short distance from airport. Huge selection of food, fab entertainment. Short train ride to reach Salou, loads to do around the area including the Portaventura theme park which you have unlimited access too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Devilwuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Property: PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso
PortAventura Hotel El Paso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing