We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This holiday was excellent value for money, the food was very very good lots of choice and plenty for the kids to choose from. Okay the rooms were not four star i would say three star (there was no fridge in the room) which was a nuisance but you can manage as there are water coolers everywhere. We used to fill a drinks cup up before bed and take back to the room. The kids entertainer Elaina was the best one that we have seen her energy and enthusiasm was awesome. Only complaint was that the entertainment started a bit late for the younger children 21.15 and finished at 22.00, at which point my boy was dragging his feet after being in the park all day!! The pool is the best one ive seen it was huge (very cold) once your in though it was fine, we stayed in block 4 which was overlooking the pool and a lot quieter than the main hotel where the entertainment and bar was. Portaventura park was excellent along with the water park there was so much to do that we could have easily have stayed for 2 weeks, the shows in the park were brilliant, we bought the express passes from the hotel as the last week we stayed was half term and was busy (long waits for rides) this was excellent value as we could just hop straight on the rides. They are very strict with the height restrictions at the main park. All in all we will be coming back again in a few years once my legs have stopped aching after all the walking!!!!! brilliant

Room Tip: For more peace and quiet choose rooms nearer to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank locket30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from a 4 nights trip to this hotel. We had an amazing time and the hotel was everything we wanted it to be. The all inclusive package got us our food, drinks (including alcohol), entry into Portadventura park, the water park and food in these parks as well. This hotel is very family orientated and evening entertainment reflects this. The rooms were clean and basic though a kettle and a fridge would have been ideal. There's a safe included in the room which is free and wi-fi.
The queues for the buffets were fine, didn't have to wait any more than 5 mins. There was enough sunbeds without having to get up really early to reserve them.
We had to check out of our room by 11am, but our coach was picking us up at 5pm, and the hotel offers a courtesy room for you to get showered and freshen up after a day at the pool.
All the staff were really polite and very helpful.
As mentioned above, we highly recommend this hotel and we are considering going back next year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank jc120283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at El Paso, All inclusive.
There was a problem with the room, but we were moved straight away. The rooms are a little tired and is not up to 4* by my standards. But overall great location, happy and helpful staff, enjoyed the food, pool was great and the short walk (or tram) to the theme park was the icing on the cake. Would recommend to anyone wishing to go for the theme park. I wonder if we were a little early in the season as a lot of things advertised is only available in July & August.

Room Tip: If you want wifi it is best to stay in the main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandychats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is 15mins from airport 5mins walk from theme park and water park and if you have any energy left a very pleasant 25min stroll into Salou it's self.
Group of 14 went two weeks ago 3-47 and we had a ball. Weather was a bit on and off but had it's benefits as going early in the year queue's were 20mins tops (would not like to go in peak season waiting 2 hours for a ride is no holiday)
Hotel it's self was fine we enjoyed would recommend to any family with kids

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We went with a 7 year old and 4 year old and I would say this hotel is perfect for young ones but may not suit teenagers. We got a room in the main building opposite the evening stage and was dreading the noise but actually we were either at the mini disco there (9.15pm) or fell asleep through the noise. Rooms are relatively basic but the hotel is kept really clean most of the time although one lift appeared to have blood in it for several days. Food is actually really good for mass catering- breakfast is same everyday with the usual but there was always a lot of choice although my two went for bolognese pasta most days!! My son loves fruit and there was plenty available. There is the usual burger hot dog and chips at nearly every meal but they did other things like salads, pork, steak, fish etc. We went to the El Coyote restaurant twice and loved it- they do things like burrito, chilli, ribs etc. drinks wise I was really impressed with the quality of wine- ice cream was strawberry, vanilla and chocolate but if you wanted Calippo, Magnum or Carte D'or then you paid for these. We brought Sesame Street soft toys from the shop which were quite expensive (€23) but after one day and having got back to the UK it fell apart. The biggest tip I would offer is the land trains as it takes a while to get used to. There are 2 trains which go to the Portaventura hotels (blue/yellow one and one marked Hotel Caribe)- this takes you into the park and back- whilst the park entrance is super close we found this ideal for tired little feet. This train does not go to Salou- the Salou trains are marked L1, L2 and L3- each one does a slightly different route round Salou but all go to Portaventura- not all stopped at our hotel so we walked to the park entrance and got them from there- they were €3 for adults and €1.50 for kids - you may find it cheaper to get a taxi when there are more than 4 of you but we found it a great experience particularly for our son- I heard others complain that there's not enough to do at the hotel but their reply was that you have all the entertainment you need in the park and I would tend to agree- the only negative experience was the choice of restaurants to eat all inclusive in the park- we tried Bora Bora but it was total chaos- La Cantina was closed the whole time we were there and we never tried Jeremiah's - we ended up either nipping back to the hotel to eat or buying a sandwich- sandwich choices are limited to ham, cheese or Spanish omelette!!! The staff at the hotel were efficient and professional but not friendly- if you've ever been to Majorca or Menorca you will have experienced the effort locals make with children and the importance they place on families- I expected it to be the same here and it wasn't- staff responded to any questions you asked but friendliness was totally non existent- the pool area was amazing and is one of the best assets of the hotel- it was a beautiful pool- I would recommend this hotel for access to the park and go prepared to use the hotel as a base rather than an entertainment complex for kids- (there is a Catalan tourist tax which most of us weren't aware of - you only pay for adults and when we went it was €12.60 for the 2 of us)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemmyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we stayed for one week from 25/5/14-1/6/14,this is our 3rd time and sadly the last.2 adults and 2 children, firstly Reus airport on arrival was pretty quick considering 3 flights arrived at once, total wait less than a hour. Onto check in at the hotel, very slow but this is because there is loads of info they give you, a good thing if your on your 1st visit here, nothing worse than just giving you your keys and getting lost around this huge hotel.at reception you also get a time slot for your breakfast, for example 7,30-7-45,8-00-8-15,you pick your time slots when you check in for everyday of your stay. Also a quick tip, you get to eat in el coyote Mexican restaurant twice in a 7 day stay, once you have checked in move to guest services to book your 2 nights as the Monday and Tuesday were fully booked up we stayed in room 1220,just above the reception area, yes there was abit of noise from coaches coming and going but compared to the rest of the hotel pretty good. Rooms are very good in all honesty, we had 2 double beds in and still had plenty of room, having said that please be aware if your sitting on the toilet and your youngest child bursts through you will get a face full of door, also watch the water temperature, its gets very very hot, also if you have the shower on full your tiled floor will get a good soaking as the glass shower screen is useless. All staff are very friendly, from the cleaners to the bar staff all very happy to serve you no problem at all, I think the cleaners were in our room everyday, apart from one day we put the do not disturb sign on the door, when we returned later that day a nice letter was under the door saying our room had not been cleaned, but if we wanted it done we just had to contact reception, nice touch I thought.ok heres the bad news the food is not 4 star, please please please go with a open mind, Merida is the main restaurant that serves your breakfast, lunch and dinner, there is also a poolside snack bar which you can get burgers, toasties chips salad ete.my opinion the best food is cooked here, and el coyote which you must book for as mentioned, if your expecting anything English forget it, fatty bacon floating in grease, stone cold beans, the cheapest Tesco sausages, still pink in the middle, toast machines you feed your bread through 8 times before it changes colour, oh and not forgetting the chips, yeah chips for breakfast, you help yourself to tea/coffee/juice unlimited, you will also find plenty of coffee/water machines round the hotel again all inclusive. Never ate in Merida for lunch, ok now dinner in Merida, now it wasn't peak season yet, but at 7,30pm there were 40-50 people waiting to get in, my advice get in early, or be like the French and just push your way into the front, you will experience plenty of that. Evening meal on pasta night on the Tuesday, pasta freezing cold, complained to the manager, who took the full section off, great I thought, until the manager left and the chef placed the food that should of been wasted back into hot water and put it straight out again, previous reviews have stated they have microwaves, excuse me but if I pay £2500 I want hot food, as soon as you walk into Merida on the right hand side they have a hot plate don't eat from that side as they put the food out then switch the heat lamps on, also no water in the bain Marie, so how does the food stay hot? Friday night in coyote restaurant was a joke, its table service here, but they aren't good at getting your order correct as there English isn't very good. We got served raw chicken, pink ribs, we walked straight out and down to reception to complain, the manager give him some credit apologised ,and offered us to return with another couple who complained of uncooked food, to return on the Saturday night and he would oversee our meal personally, we were waiting to go into salou on Saturday afternoon, the manager pulled up outside the hotel to start work, stopped us and asked if we were coming for our meal, we declined but he still remembered our complaint, we have spoken to the other family since and he did oversee there meal so top marks to him. For those who don't get told you can also eat for free in the port Aventura park. bora bora/jeremias/la cantina you get a starter main pudding and drink, this would cost you16.95 euros each, when you see your food you will think I wouldn't pay 1 euro for it, la cantina is the best out of the 3,bora bora is terrible, I know this is only my opinion and everybody's taste is different but the food is not good, don't forget you will need all your room cards and all the cards the reception give you so the restaurant you choose can stamp it, warning they are very very strict on this. Don't be put off by my negative food comments like I say only my version, but make sure food is cooked, after all you have paid for it. now the park is fantastic. Loads for older ones and sesame street is brilliant, park was very busy considering the low season, for example furious baco 2hour wait, shambhala 1hour 40,dragon khan 1hour,now its expensive for fast track tickets,54euros at the hotel (45 in the park) but unlimited access to all the rides and no waiting,15 euros for a one day ticket, but this only gets you on the main rides once so be careful. I appreciate its a big extra to pay on top of your holiday, but so so worth it.costa Caribe water park is super, loads of new things to go on, quick thing I noticed, there is no shade/covered area around the kids pool which could be a problem in the heat of summer. Sorry about the long review, but I hope you can pick up a few tips so you can enjoy your hard earned holiday.one last thing, the worst invention ever the RUCKSACK the French/Spanish love these things, some of them are the size of suitcases, what they fail to notice as they turn round they normally knock 3 kids out at once. Its funny to watch until its one of your kids, happy holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank darren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel El Paso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Darren. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than you expected. We understand from your report that your visit was not as it should have been due to the quality of our restaurants and its service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions and we look forward to see you again. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed hotel el paso for a week at thr end of may.the hotel is set out lovely.the rooms r basic but clean and in good condition.the food is very good.u would have to b very fussy not to eat anything from the buffet.the ala carte restaraunt is great.not a lot to choose from but its great tasty food.there is a poolside snackbar serving salad.burgers.chicken nuggets.ham cheese toasties.pizza.hot dogs and a choice of cold sandwiches also ice cream.the kids entertainment is great and there is some adult entertainment too.the only downfall to this hotel was it took an eternity to get booked in at reception.eveyday there was massive ques and people were getting very impatient. apart from this the hotel gets a well deserved 10/10. it is 300 meters from portaventura theme pk and only a 20 min walk from the beach.my kids absolutely loved the place and would definitely go back..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank lee1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £139 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Tumbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectaculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso
PortAventura Hotel El Paso Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing