We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"best ever holiday" Declan, Jeanette, Jamie and Taylor from Morecambe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Family Life Avenida Suites
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
morecambe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"best ever holiday" Declan, Jeanette, Jamie and Taylor from Morecambe”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I`ve have just returned from a 14 night stay with my wife and 2 children aged 6 + 8, self catering and its the best family holiday anyone could ask for. This is our first trip abroad as a family, usually we stay at Haven or Butlins, and these places have nothing compared to this hotel. So lets go from the start, reception very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English, nothing is too much trouble. Thomson reps also helpful and friendly and joined in the entertainment. Room ready when promised and clean, rooms cleaned everyday and are basic, but your not on holiday to sit in front of the tv. Main road quite noisy some nights but again it is Spain and it is generally people on the way home from a night out. As mentioned we were self catering but ate in the reataurant on the last evening and cant believe what we missed out on, we must have tried nearly all the food between us and it was gorgeous, so if your going, go half board. There is a supermarket a couple of mins away but given the option, i would eat at the hotel. The pool area is excellent and clean, plenty of room even at peak season, the sunbed dash at 8.30am sharp every morning is the talk of the hotel, at first i found it quite sad, grown men and women sprinting round the pool to get their spot for the day, but after 2 days i found myself running alongside them, then laughing about it as you lay out your towels, so remember, snooze you lose, all good fun. Entertainment room large enough to accommodate everyone comfortably even at high season, if required you can sit on the terrace till 12.30am. Bar staff all friendly and enjoy a bit of banter at the bar, never any long faces considering the hours they put in, and they look as if they enjoy what they do, also happy hours are a bonus, 4pm - 5pm and 8pm - 9pm. Didnt really leave the hotel as the kids didnt enjoy walking too far in the heat ( approx 28 - 30c ), did the beach which is nice but busy, but eveything is at the hotel so no need to go out unless you want the port aventura parks, my kids arent too bothered for biggish rides so didint want to risk the outlay in case there wasnt much for them to go on. Now i have saved the best for last, the entertainment team, led by David, Leanne, Davey and Chelsea are second to none and give it 100% what ever they are doing, be it the daytime entertainment round the pool which starts at 10.30am and ends at 4pm or the evening which is 8pm - 11pm with outside entertainers inbetween. During the day all the family gets involved with simple games that eveyone loves participating in and are designed to not be too much in the afternoon heat, all winners be it adults or children get a diploma during the evening prize presentations. The games range from shooting and archery to killer darts/pool, shuffleboard, quiz, crazy golf, the list goes on, fun for all the family.There are also drop in clubs where you can leave your kids with the kids club team who are great also, great fun for the youngsters for approx 2 hours. The evening begins with some party dances that all the chidren join in with and then prize bingo, which again is so popular and everyone joins in. Then its gameshow time which is audience participation, again there are always willing participants and is very funny. Unlike Butlins and Haven where the evening entertainment is laden with activities where people are wandering around with cheap toys that light up and cost a fortune, and are a required for the kids to join in. The previously mentioned entertainment team are the best i have ever come across and always have no problem getting people involved, they work extremely hard and it pays off, i myself have a stack of diploma`s, cups, beach bags, t-shirts and medals from my families participation, myself personally, took part in several of the evening gameshows and even performed the Haka with the Polynesean performers which was hilarious. Overall this is the place to go with children as mine loved it so much my son didnt want to leave, we also came away with new friends from Newcastle ( the happy caravaners ) who we spent alot of the 2nd week with and are planning to meet up with again soon, a lovely family and great fun. Would def go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Declfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    463
    160
    47
    15
See reviews for
1,028
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We only booked this holiday 4 weeks before we travelled and it was much cheaper to book the flight and accommodation separately rather than take the package deal but we were still fully covered through Thomsons. We stayed for 10 nights on a half-board basis. Our party consisited of myself, my mother (senior citizen) and 2 children aged 16 and 13. We had requested a low floor but were offered a room on the 5th floor. As we were assured the lifts were always operating and the rrom had a pool view we accepted. The room was totally acceptable (1 bedroomed apartment) and exceeded my expectations for the price paid. The food choice was very ggod - everyone in our party always managed to find something they liked each day and the inclusion of an alcoholic drink on an evening was a nice touch. We found the bar and reception staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't have much contact with the reps to comment. The only negative things I could say was the early morning scramble for sunbeds was pretty sad and there were a number of thefts reported during our stay. Also, the info said bed linen was changed twice a week and ours wasn't changed at all. The beach is within walking distance but it is quite a stroll. Take a taxi to the theme park - it is cheaper than getting the bus if there are 3 or 4 in your party. All in all a canny hotel and a grat holiday without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s10pey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This hotel was Amazing there was no faults we arived there on the 31st of July and went for a explore round salou which I didn't like every where smelt like piss and made us gip we got closer to the beach and people stood out side bars and pubs shoving leaflets in your face this got us mad .
So the hotel staff are truely brill the effort them reps put in to make the kids smile is unbelivable and 1 rep david was so funny and kind they all desurve a treat
only down fall about the place was people letting there kids run up and down corridoors at midnight shoutingg got me angry and also a kid [-] in the indoor jiquzzi and rubbed a girls shorts in it DISGUSTING
all together great place <3

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

After reading the majority of comments on trip advisor I was hoping for a decent hotel and that's exactly what I got. It was clean, comfy and accommodating. The rooms are basic but extremely clean and well looked after by staff on a daily basis. Don't pay attention to any comments regarding the food, it was lovely, plentiful, varied and better than any I have encountered at other hotels. Anyone who complains about the food needs to broaden their diet and leave the burgers and chips back in blighty. All in all the hotel was very very good, staff were approachable, friendly and entertainement was brilliant for families with young children. The pools were good, although an early rise is necessary for a sunbed. I travelled with my husband and two teenage daughters and would definitely return should I go back to salou. The only negative comment I would give this hotel, and I stress this is not the hotels fault, is the noise if you are unlucky enough to be on the roadside. Should you be travelling with young children I would recommend you ask for a poolside view if possible; the noise is tolerable but can be worse on weekend nights. A very enjoyable stay and one which I would highly recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

great hotel ,spotlessly clean ,staff fantastic what more can i say. booked with thomsons no probs there but when looking to book tours to nou camp and barcelona use hotel they are half the price the reps on their buses know the towns etc and so are passionate not reading from cards etc

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Returned 23rd July after 2 week holiday. Travelled with hubby and 2 kids (aged 12 and 15). Managed to book 2 bed apartment which was clean, roomy but basic. Some limited english satelite channels which was nice. CBBC was ok for kids.
Food very good, became a little repetetive after 2 weeks but good quality. My son is vegetarian and the chef recognised him after a couple of nights and went out of his way to cook a seperate meal for him if he could not eat of the normal menu.
All staff very helpful, bar staff good fun and worked VERY hard, long hours. We were fortunate to be there during for the World Cup final! Great atmosphere in hotel after game but VERY noisy most of the night.
Be aware -if you book a 2 bed apartment, they all face the road side only so very noisy with traffic. Took a few days for the air con to really build up, the first 2 nights were very difficult to sleep with the heat. Leave the small black key in the electric slot all the time. Take it of the keyring to make sure the air con stays on (all balcony doors need to be shut for it to work).
Entertainment was 5 star - the Thomson team (Dave and Leanne) and the hotel entertainment team (spanish Dave and Chelsea) were brill. Made it worth staying in the hotel worthwhile. The hotel provide professional entertainment every night and it was generally very good. The exeception was the magician using live animals, he manhadled them a bit and my vegetarian son was quite upset and we left. The acrobats were amazing! There was daytime pool activites all day (quizes, pool tournaments, sangria making, water volleyball, water polo etc). Our kids did not use the kids clubs but the kids looked very happy to go and were having fun during the outdoor games in the shade).
For us, the biggest complaint is the smoking around the pool and on the terrace. Most of the guests are brits and seem to loose all sense of respect for the non smokers. A high proportion of guests smoke and are happy to blow it over children and non smoking guests - if you smoke - PLEASE CONSIDER OTHER PEOPLES HEALTH !!
Good location for Port Aventura and Aquapolis - approx 8 euros each way.
Would recomend to families with kids < 12 yearsof age. Make sure you ask for pool side room if possible. Salou sea front is nice, the town is smelly and dirty along the main strip of shops and bars. Go the House of Illusion show - very funny and brill magic.
Be warned if you have young children, drug use equipment and pornographic items are on open display in most of the souvenir shops.
Don't forget to ppack your trainers for the sunbed dash at 08:30am!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The hotel is fairly central so you can get to local places. The staff and thomson reps are brilliant, they know how to look after you. The hotel was very clean and the housekeeping was spot on. The rooms are quite spacious, with kitchen which helped out with the snacks at lunch time. We went half board, the food could of been hotter and it was very repediative, but we got by most nights.The kids entertaintment is very good, i think they could have better acts come in from outside though. The most exciting thing is watching the sun bed dash in the morning at 8.30am, talk about linford christie's, there was even a fight one day, with people wanted the blue beds as they are more comfortable, if you didn't get a bed by 9am, then you lost out. If you get the chance go to portaventura, its a must!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle196446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Port Salou
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Avenida Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Avenida Suites

Property: TUI Family Life Avenida Suites
Address: Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Golden Avenida Suites)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#3 Family Hotel in Salou
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Family Life Avenida Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Family Life Avenida Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Park Salou
TUI Family Life Avenida Suites Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing