We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was ok, empty and unfriendly”

Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 353 Restaurants in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$21
Cuisines: Balti, Indian, Asian, Pakistani, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Only Indian restaurant serving you since 1996 with Freshly cooked food, Friendly staff, Comfortable Atmosphere.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was ok, empty and unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went for a birthday meal here, and the place was deserted, no one was in there apart from us, the guy serving us, the manager or owner, didn't seem too friendly, he wanted to bring out the starter and mains at the same time and kept saying that, we had to remind him to do it separately. Once the starters came, the dishes were left at the corner of the table as to help yourself, so we had to pass the plates down to all 12 of us. Then we had to eat our mains in the same plate as the starter dish. for the money we paid, I would haven expected a better table service and manner. Wouldn't go there again, the food was ok, some starter dishes smelt weird and one of the main curries was so spicy it bothered us all for a while. Would not recommend it, there are much nicer halal places to eat from in Salou

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    77
    19
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visited this restaurant last week with my wife - Perswari narn tasted like it was made of flour & water- curries where bland and had no taste - rice & papadoms ok
could not recomend this restaraunt to anybody - person who served us was OK
How this place won an award I do not know

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank telephone-man-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a fabulous curry and all the trimmings here.
Lovely food, friendly staff and very reasonably priced!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice meal after a busy day at the theme park.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We went here for a meal after port aventura. Two of us had the set meal which was great. We all enjoyed our meals. The chicken pakora is a must, one of the best we have tried. My partner also went back for some pakora and a donner kebab a few days later after a day away at the fishing. Thanks for a lovely meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xjanine88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complete rubbish an insulation to any curry lover”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Place was nice and clean but when the curry arrived it was in a very small bowl and tasted like it had come out of an asda own brand jar. Pillau rice was ok. The nan bread was tiny and tasteless. They say theyve been open for 15yrs !!!!! Think the chef needs come to england for a few lessons. Im no chef but my home made curries are ten times better than this . €26 lighter now. Never again . Fancied a curry but il stick to uncle sams nextdoor cus Atleast your full when you come out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonyc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant also viewed

Salou, Costa Dorada
Salou, Costa Dorada
 
Salou, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing