We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buyer be "aware"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Reviewed 23 August 2013

holiday date 11/08/2013 on arrival allocated a room with no balcony old fashioned and worn out with a concrete "cliff face" 10 feet from the one window with the usual excuses " hotel is full sir". come back tomorrow and we will allocate a different room. Talking to others it seemed not to be uncommon for the british to be treated this way, but true to their word we were re-allocated the next day by a nice lady receptionist and offered a choice of two rooms in the "annexe!!!". It is a little trek along corridors and two lifts but in my opinion it was worthwhile. pleasant modern and decorative like a breath of fresh air. food wise, good quality but unimaginative, repetitive, boring and pandering to our European neighbours. having said all this and to be fair a pleasant hotel nice features ideally positioned, just don't be bullied on arrival, " have a nice holiday"

Room Tip: don't be bullied on arrival ( speak german if u can) don't be afraid of the annexe ( room 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I'm going to be balanced in my review and can start by saying the hotel was clean and well maintained with staff readily available to help. They were called upon regularly around the pool area to sweep up broken drink glasses which when there are children running around isnt the best. Liked the padded sunbeds and towel rental. Thank god for meeting some really friendly English families who were like minded and therefore we ended up entertaining ourselves.. The professions entertainment program was severely lacking any 'entertainment value' resulting in us leaving the hotel nightly to fine fun elsewhere. This was an unnecessary cost dispite bring it to management attention nothing changed which was really disappointing.
Santa Ponsa is definitely a resort I will revisit but it won't include a revisit to this hotel which is a shame as the location is really good.

Room Tip: 4th floor pool side also looks over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed all inclusive for 10 nights Aug 13. Had a great room (416) with spectacular views over the bay. This hotel isn't geared for children, we found the food great with plenty of choice, but if your looking for fish fingers and pizza every night this is not the place to be. Plenty of loungers around the pool, which due to the lack of children was wonderfully relaxing. The lack of British people can be an asset too ;0). Evening: There is a little bar on the roof terrace serving Prosecco at an additional cost, the dj plays Ibiza sounds, and its very chillaxing. The hotel entertainment itself is very poor, with bingo, karaoke etc but why stay in the hotel each evening when the resort has so much to offer, even a moonlight walk around the beach is beautiful. There's loads to do in Santa Ponsa itself, and fortunately the hotel is just far enough away from the nightlife and bars to enjoy a good night's sleep! We never seen any mosquitos or beasties, this hotel is immaculate! We found all the staff very helpful and accommodating. Definately would revisit this one again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comercialbahiadelsol, Guest Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks very much for taking your time to write a comment in holiday check.
We are happy to find out that you had a great time in our hotel and you are considering coming back next year
Here in the hotel all the staff will be happy to welcoming you back.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone it's for Germans only, the food is disgusting and the same slop night after night. The staff are so rude and very slow they take about 6 years to serve you. We were all inclusive and ended up eating out every night which cost us a fortune. The entertainment was terrible ( if you like bingo u will be ok ) . I would never go back here even if paid me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at the Bahia Del Sol from the 6th to the 11th of August and found it to be a fairly comfortable hotel in a great location.

On arrival we were given room 402 and told we would have to change in the morning. This being due to the fact that the hotel was full to maximum capacity! This room was no bigger than a shoe box with no view and no air con. Wasn't what I had paid for but on the reassurance this would be sorted in the morning we gritted our teeth and got on with it.

The following morning we were given room 106 which was a lovely clean and spacious room with a balcony over looking the pool. We ended up happy. But down side was that the air con barely worked. We asked for a fan at reception,which helped although we could hardly hear ourselves speak when it was on!!!

We personally found the staff to be very helpful and polite. As were the staff at lunch and also the maids.

We stayed all inclusive and found breakfast, lunch and dinner to be nice. Lots of choice and something for everyone.

Snacks during the day weren't amazing and bar staff at the pool bar were extremely slow at serving.

There were plenty of sunbeds for everyone, although the earlier you get up the better spots you get around the pool!
Lovely peaceful indoor pool for when you want to get out of the heat.

Entertainment at the night time was disappointing, karaoke and a parrot show.....not the best.

Aswell as other reviews have mentioned. There are far more German, Dutch and Italian holiday makers here. And English people were out numbered. If you are want to keep your self to your self then this hotel is perfect.

Despite this there is a fabulous roof top terrace. Which has the most amazing views out over the sea. Great to watch the sunset.It's very trendy and ultra cool......ands has a dj at the weekends playing out the latest funky tunes ;)

For me the location of this hotel was perfect. Just a five minute walk from shops, bars and nightlife. Lots of things going off at the night time near the beach. Street preformers, artists and singers. We did this walk every night and found it a good way to work off dinner. The beach in the day is just perfect. Clear water and golden sand, what more could you ask for?

I would most definitely do this location in Santa Ponsa again....but unfortunately not the hotel. But only due to the lack of English people who stayed there. You can feel quite out of it.

All in all a okay stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunloving85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Booked in January with Broadway travel on half board for one week. Arrived 6th August and advised we would have to stay at 3 star sister hotel next door for the first two nights (this is becoming common it is the third or fourth time we have had this happen to us) anyway they did offer to upgrade us to all inclusive and give us a room upgrade with a sea view for the last five days.

The room was very nice the only down side was the air con did not work on day one but it was fixed quickly after reporting it to reception. The only other complaint about the room was the TV did not have BBC1 or ITV1 asked if it could be tuned in but was told only BBC NEWS available lots of choice if you are fluent in German! So the satellite tv for us was completely useless.

Food was OK usual four star buffet and beer tap for all inclusive and help yourself to reasonable wine. Majority of guests were German so the usual early morning 7am towel race antics! The pool area seemed a little small for the size of hotel but my wife and I used the roof terrace which was quiet and we often had it to ourselves OK but no bar so needed a few trips down in the lift to top up with drinks.

Although I have pointed out a few of the negatives overall we had a good holiday it is good value for money and I would book again and return most of the staff were friendly and helpful for the

Room Tip: Sea view I understand some of the side rooms look out on to a wall of rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived at Bahia del Sol Hotel on the 1st August at around lunchtime. The hotel staff were very helpful and very apologetic as our room wasnt quite ready. So we went across to the restaurant diagnally across the road from the Hotel which was fantastic and good value for money. When we returned our room was then ready for us to unload our belongings so that we could get straight on the beach.

We hadnt realised but we had 2 choices of beaches that we approximately 15 minutes from either side of the hotel. We preferred the quieter beach which was the smaller one. Tip for travellers it is cheaper to buy a parasol and use a beach towel than rent a parrasol and beach chairs as this equates to 14.50 euros per day - where as I paid 8.99 Euros for the parasol.

The beaches were cleaned and raked every day and there is food available on the beach if required although I would suggest buying your water from the mini supermarkets as this is cheaper.

The food in the hotel was lovely (travelling with in a party was 2 adults and 1 child (14yrs). She thought that the food was ok especially the deserts - there was plenty to choose from and mix and match as you pleased. Although the paella's were a slightly too salty.

There was a slight problem with the aircon in our room as it wasnt cold enough - as the heat outside was around 40 degrees it would have been nice to have a colder aircon. Unfortunately this was the standard temperature and there was no individual thermostat available in the room.

All in all the place was lovely and clean and staff very helpful.

Been warned that the hotel is owned by Germans so you must get up early if you want to secure a seat at the pool. lol

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at the front of the hotel or over looking the pool - unless you are not bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria_coward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Delfin Siesta Mar
Delfin Siesta Mar
#18 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#19 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin Mar
Hotel Delfin Mar
#26 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#4 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Hotel

Address: Avda. Jaime I, 74, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £64 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia del Sol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bahia del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa
Sol Hotel Bahia Del
Bahia Del Sol Santa Ponsa
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing