We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE, GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
DURHAM UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE, GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked a late October getaway and got a really good deal. 5 nights all inclusive, so we weren't expecting much but were pleasantly surprised.
We had a spacious room with a balcony looking out at a cliff wall, although the food was not of the highest standard, there was always a good selection.
The staff were very helpful and gracious with no bias against British visitors even though this is a German owned hotel chain.
We were blessed with glorious weather and so were able to make use of the many outdoor sun beds and pool, the indoor pool looked stunning as did the keep fit facilities. There was another quieter pool area adjacent to the third floor.
For the money we paid we were more than satisfied with this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DAVEDurhamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    143
    132
    73
    41
See reviews for
112
221
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked for 9 days starting on the 18th September and departing on the 27th. When we arrived we were told we would be staying in the hotel next. We accepted this without question and our co-operation paid off a few days later when we were offered all inclusive for two days.
I have other reviews concerning this hotel and i found it far to believe that these clients who are moaning were there at the same time as me. The staff were friendly and were very helpful in all departments. This is an international hotel and you should expect clients from all nations which was the case.
I found the selection of food very good and to a find standard.
Anyone who comes here not wanting to meet Germans,Dutch etc or want only English breakfasts and fish and chips should go to Blackpool

Room Tip: Ask for pool or sea view but you may pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WILLIAM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a good room with balcony and at reception the staff were welcoming and efficient as were the staff in the dining room. The food was good except for the main dishes that only one word can describe...horrible. As for the snacks, they were pathetic.
The girls and waitesses at the bar were lovely, pleasant and talked to us. The barmen were so ignorant. They served the german people before us and could not even smile. Entertainment was very poor.
Is it a lovely hotel but we wouldn't go back again. Once was enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank well_travelled_119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby Uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

well we book with alpha rooms , hotel looked great , but we arrive they put us on 7th floor , wat was only a basic room , it was ok spacious bathroom , big room but nothing like on the photos , it was full iof germans so they caterd for germans only ate in a few times , as i was poorley with there food , suim meals were lovely veal most nights and german sausage , turkey and pork , the soup was like water , the only thing i like about hotel was the indoor pool and spa , safe was 40 euros for one week but u get 20 back ,if u have a drink at bar or food area they put it on ure bill at end so b aware they only caterd fro germans , veg wasnt nice , and tehy did rabbit , squid etc . fruit was nice , breki , was ok but didnt go down after 3 morning as was poorley, with the runs , think its the oil they use ,bar rumba was good english bar , and watering hole wat add a swimming pool in back food was lovely in tehre , so we payed 395 for two alpha rooms and ate out alot . tv only add english news too ,

Room Tip: 7th floor but ask for pool view much better higher floor r quiter , we was on 7th and it was great j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorralaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had yet another lovely holiday here with my husband and daughter (19) in August.
Excellent rooms and great breakfast. We went for bed and breakfast to have more freedom as there are great restaurants in Santa Ponsa.
Main pool was very busy and sunbeds were always booked up early. However, there is a lovely quiet pool on the 3rd floor which was where we spent our days relaxing.
New this year is a lovely rooftop terrace.
Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KathW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just back today and had to write a review straight away. Was worried by some of the other reviews before leaving but now wondering if I stayed in the same hotel as some of the other reviewers! We were a party of 10 fun loving ladies celebrating our 50th birthdays and we found this hotel to be perfect. The staff couldn't have been nicer, my room was larger than average, the food was lovely. Yes the pool area was perhaps on the small side but you are close to a beautiful beach. The guests come from various Northern Europe countries, but surely that's part of the holiday experience! Our party only have good things to say about this hotel and we would like to thank the staff for a pleasant holiday experiences. The location is also perfect for shops and nightlife, plenty to do until 4 in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10Sunday_Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is fine, the pool area doesn't get the sun till midday and there are not enough sun beds for the guests we stayed in late September so can only imagine how bad it is in the peak times. Definitely caters for the German/Dutch guests staff very rude to the English in general. The bar staff are very good at ignoring you and wiping around whilst you stand and wait, we were all inclusive so not sure if your paying for drinks if you get a better service but deffo if your German.
We had a pool view great room. The food was worse than expected not 4 star I've had better 3 star. The indoor pool area was amazing, tranquil and deserted most of the time I made use of the sauna and jacuzzi and the slightly warmer pool. This is for older couples not much going on at hotel. Santa ponsa though is a great resort lovely beaches and a good nightlife. I will visit Santa ponsa but not this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view don't think you can go wrong. We used a courtesy room on last day with no balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macca15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delfin Siesta Mar
Delfin Siesta Mar
#21 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin Mar
Hotel Delfin Mar
#26 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Hotel
Address: Avenida Rei Jaume I 74, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia del Sol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa
Sol Hotel Bahia Del
Bahia Del Sol Santa Ponsa
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing