We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed 1st week in June on AI basis for a very reasonable price. After arriving at 10.30pm did not expect any food to be available but to our surprise the sister hotel across the road had a variety available up to midnight, drinks were also available in the restaurant, staff couldn't do enough for us. We had 2 No rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking the childs pool and grassy area with sun beds, room 1 for 2 adults was plenty big enough, as others have mentioned bathroom tiny but we didn't think it was a problem. Room 2 for 1 adult, 1 teen and 1 5yr old was bigger, normally when 3rd person in room hotel just adds a 'put you up' but in this room there were 3 full beds and loads of room. Both rooms were very clean, cleaned and towels changed frequently.
In our opinion the higher rooms on the pool side are best, level 3 is fine, there are a small number of rooms on the 4th floor in the centre.
All meals were serve yourself with plenty of choice, there was always something to suit your taste, drinks were waiter service. We thought the restaurant was pleasant and roomy with plenty of staff and reasonably good quality food for a 3* hotel.
Bar and entertainment staff really went out of their way to keep you happy, some visiting acts in the evening were quite good. Other entertainment was available at the sister hotels but you can only get drinks in your own hotel ( unless you upgrade to AI gold, think it cost 15 Euros ). It wasn't a problem crossing the road and taking your drinks, sometimes it was quicker doing this than queuing at the bar in the busier hotel.
The pool area was quite spacious with grassy areas, shady spots and sunbeds, also plenty of tables and chairs outside local to the bar. Kids pool local to grassed area so you can keep a close watch when your children are swimming and splashing about.
Location of the hotel is perfect, just off the front main street and beach, approx. 5 mins walk, the beach is really nice and clean. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants close by.
Overall we all had a great time, we didn't find any problems with any features of the hotel, all the staff, reception, restaurant, bar, entertainment team and even cleaning staff were really pleasant and helpfull, we definitely plan to return next year.
Forgot to mention, football games, volley ball, tennis and table tennis available free on site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

very clean and relaxing hotel food was very good great choice would deff stay again was just me and my daughter and we loved it we felt very safe and we met some very nice people the pool was quiet and the tables around it was great too sit and chill out the entertainment staff were all lovely and great too get on with i will deff be goin back again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Had a great time. Excellent location, 1 minute walk to the beach with clear blue sea. The food is great, lots of choice, and available from 7am until midnight. Drinks are served in glasses rather than plastic (except around the pool for obvious reasons) The 4 star sister hotel allows you to eat in their restaurants, you can't however drink in the bar areas. I asked why and was told due to the bars wanting to prevent queues which is fair enough, you can take drinks over from this hotel if you want to anyway. Great entertainment, the guys really make an effort. This trip was only for a few days to celebrate my mums 70th birthday. Considering it was in school holidays I thought it was actually really cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Family of 3 just back from the Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa. Very clean but small room. Extremely small bathroom with a shower tray of about 1.5 foot sq & hitting your nose when sitting on the loo.

Staff very friendly & polite. They could not do enough for us. Particularly Beatrix on reception & Juan & Antonio in the restaurant. I think it helps trying to speak Spanish.

Food was buffet style. Chips were lovely! Various menus each evening including salad, chicken, veal, fish. Snack bar has pizza, burgers & hot dogs.

Swimming pools were cold but that's because of the time of season. By the end of the holiday, as the weather got warmer, so did the pools.

Entertainment was excellent!!! Cindy & the team did a mavellous job entertaining their guests!!! Please pass on our thanks! Sports during the day, mini disco, bingo & shows in the evenings. Perfect!

Thank you for a lovely holiday! We hope to come back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copagirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a good family holiday the hotel is basic, but very clean we got what we paid for. Food was much the same every night choice wasn't great but there was always something we could eat, we were all inc it couldn't have been that bad we all put weight on. The reps did there best to entertain you they were brilliant with the kids, our 2 year old granddaughter loved taking part singing and dancing along with them. The only complaint I would make is the pool was to cold for kids. The hotel is in a great location Its very near the beach, shops and supermarket.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here from 25/05/1213 till 01/06/1213, this hotel is one of three, two of which is over the road however you can use all three hotels for entertainment and drinks, the hotel itself is very clean our rooms were cleaned and beds made everyday without fail, the maids are all so nice and very trustworthy my money was left in the draw the hole week and not one cent went missing I never used the safe at all. Rooms are basic but have everything you need including hair dryers in bathroom, showers are small though so if your big built good luck bending down to clean your feet haha. I was all inclusive and I hate buffets however all the food I ate was nice and i had nothing to complain about plus a wide range of food to suit everyone, you couldn't have your meals in the other two hotels opposite though you must use your own hotel for meals, snaks were available however if you wanted a warm snacks like pizza, chips, toasteys, hotdogs ect ect you needed to use the hotels across the road which I thought was a bit stupid. Entertainment was awesome for adults and children the animation team do an awesome job getting dressed up everyday and walking around getting people involved in games while round the pool also a different show and disco every night, big up to all the entertainment team I loved you guys and keep up the good work you's do an awesome job. I really have nothing to complain about with this hotel I enjoyed every second of my stay at playa and would deffo return here, I've been to Santa ponsa many of time and always had something bad to say about hotels I've stayed but not this one, all the staff are very friendly and helpful and do everything they can to make your holiday a memrible one so many thanks to you all my friends and I'll see you's in a few weeks as I'm returning for a lads holiday. Peace out....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed here on my own and the food in the evenings was terrible - bad selection every night,poorly cooked and the tables were crammed together. Some of the restaurant staff were very rude too and some older people were eating lots of fruit to fill themselves up

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.0 mi away
Globales Santa Ponsa Park
Globales Santa Ponsa Park
#20 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Pionero
Globales Pionero
#16 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#10 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#18 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Playa Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Address: Gran Via Puig de Teix 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £68 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Playa Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel is located in the buzzing area of Santa Ponsa and just 20 minutes from Mallorca’s capital, Palma. The hotel is only a short walk from Santa Ponsa’s beautiful wide and open beach and nestled in the heart of commercial centre of this lively tourist area. It is the fantastic option for a family holiday. The hotel comes with the all inclusive option and forms part of a holiday complex together with the Globales Pionero Hotel and the Globales Santa Ponsa Park Hotel which allows you to enjoy a wide variety services and facilities the complex has to offer The Playa Santa Ponsa has swimming pools for adults and children as well as a solarium for relaxing days by the pool. The hotel is air conditioned so you can enjoy the lounges and bars in comfort. The rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel’s own international entertainment team is on hand to provide you entertainment day and night with scheduled activities, games and sports competitions. In the evenings there is a variety of shows and music performances that will keep the whole family amused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Globales Playa Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing