We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy of 3 *” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worthy of 3 *”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Playa Santa Ponsa and were impressed with both the accommodation and the all inclusive package. The rooms were more modern than shown on previous reviews, the hotel itself was spotless and in a really convenient location. Only downside was our room was on the 'not so quiet' side of the hotel (ie, the main road) which was a pain come 6 in the morning, delivery trucks, bin lorries and countless motorbikes - not good. Food was good, bar staff a bit on the slow side, however, the restaurant staff could not do enough for you. Would recommend for a short stay/week long holiday, very small but beautiful resort but then you have Palma Nova/Magalluf practically next door for those wanting a longer, more livelier holiday.

  • Liked — Food, location
  • Disliked — Noise, tiny lifts
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    136
    89
    38
    30
See reviews for
120
126
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

We have returned from a 3 night All Inclusive stay at the 2* Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa.

We arrived late afternoon and given a room facing the afternoon sun that reeked of smoke and the air conditioning and ceiling fan did not work. When we complained, we were told the hotel was full, but that they could help tomorrow, maybe?

Meanwhile, as the room was like a sauna, we could not get washed or changed or even put make up on.

Next day, after a fashion, we were offered a room facing the morning sun and it had a ceiling fan that worked!! Yipee .The only drawback was the noise of the air conditioning system which was located at the side of our balcony!! Never mind.

Yes, the bedrooms are tiny but adequate, but the shower/toilet room is even smaller!!

As for the food, I thought the meat and fish dishes were cooked to perfection, and I enjoyed every meal I had there .. so definitely hats off to the Chef!!

Having said the above, if we had been staying half board we would have thought yes it is ok for a 2* hotel as it is in a nice position and close to the beach and shops.

However, if you are All Inclusive, and you go to the bar for a drink they keep you waiting unnecessarily and make you feel as if you are a beggar. And one barman in particular tried his best to avoid serving any guests at all!! .. This scenario especially was already a topic of conversation amongst the guests at the hotel.

My advice would be give this Hotel a miss altogether .. and go to the Hotel Santa Ponsa PARK or the Hotel Pionero as they are both 3* hotels and are in the same street!! .. (And please note you can only use your All Inclusive wrist strap for the hotel you are staying in as each hotel has a different colour band!!)

  • Liked — the central position
  • Disliked — the rude bar staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Ponsa hotels

Limerick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

Stayed here for 9 nights in June having stayed previously at its sister hotels across the road. Basically you get what you pay for here. It is 2 star and no more but comfortable. The breakfast and dinners varied from very good to awful depending on which chef was on duty. There seemed to be 2 chefs a young guy that lacked interest in his work and an older guy that seemed to take pride in his work. Some of the staff are very pleasent, while others are downright ignorant but do what we did give as good as you get. The entertainment guys were brilliant. All in all good value for what we paid 420 euro half board for 9 nights.

  • Liked — Entertainment and location
  • Disliked — Some rude staff and a very tiny lift.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy_limerick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

My boyfriend & I got an excellent deal of all inclusive for 8 nights which we would definately recommend to others.

The hotel is very central in an excellent position set back just a couple of minutes walk from the beach.

The room was basic, comfortable (probably the comfiest bed I've ever had on holiday) & cleaned daily (fresh towels every day if you wanted). We requested a pool view after reading some comments about noise on the road side & had peace & quiet the whole time. The room had a fan which cooled it down perfectly for us with the window open & although it could get warm if you aren't getting air conditioning there's only so much you can expect. There wasn't a fridge but this isn't self catering so why would we expect one? We never saw a single bug or cockroach so I'm surprised to read other reviews talking about there being a 'problem'.

The pool was fantastic, huge & spotlessly clean. There were plenty of sunloungers but the only thing was that there were so many tree's alot of them didn't get sun for a large part of the day.

The animacion team (while we didn't take part in anything) seemed very good, different activities each day like football, archery, bowles, water polo, then at night different shows (the one with the acrobatics being really impressive eventually after being a slow starter!)

The bar had only one person on during the day but we never had to wait too long (besides your on holiday whats the rush?!) & we found everyone polite enough bar the guy who seemed to be in charge at night who could be incredibly rude to people. At the beginning of the holiday there were only 2 people on at night & the service was slow but midweek they had lots more on & everyone got served quickly.

The food was excellent, fresh every day, plenty of selection @ breakfast between cooked breakfast food, cold meats, fruits, cereals & breads, yoghurts etc. Lunch was different every day again with a good variety of hot & cold, soup etc.

We had decided before we went that we were going to go out for dinner instead of eat in the hotel since we got such an excellent deal & were still well within our spending budget, we did go down to look one night & it seemed quite similar to lunch with a variety of hot & cold food.

As far as eatin out goes, Crocodillos - what was once amazing (I was in Santa Ponsa 3 years ago & it was some of the best food I'd ever eaten) is now rubbish - both of us left the majority of our food it was so bland & the cuts of meat were rubbish, so disappointed to ruin a good memory, should have listened to my mum who was over the week before me & said the same thing. It's reputation still clearly keeps it going though as it was always packed.

There's an Italian place a couple of doors down from Crocodillos (think it has 'Sacilia' in its name or something similar) which is fantastic, both the pizza's & pastas are outstanding.

The Rhein restaurant (up past Meson del Mar) is also really good but be warned if you get the set menu, the starters are as big as the main courses!

If you like walking the Marina isn't too far away & then a lovely walk around it to see all the boats too once you're there, with a very nice cafe & an excellent restaurant too beside it - if you're after a 'posh' slightly pricier dinner, go to the marina.

  • Liked — Excellent food variety
  • Disliked — Too many tree's around pool blocking sun
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

I've just got back from a week at the Santa Ponsa, and let's be clear ... it's a two star hotel; I booked late via travelrepublic, and got a very good price. So I was not expecting a four star or even three star experience.

But, in most of the essentials, I got a three star - or better - stay.

The place was clean, both the room and the shared areas. The breakfast was very good, in choice, quality and quantity. I didn't have any other meals. The lifts worked well, the bar was just like every other hotel bar - including fairly ropey entertainment - I only caught a few minutes here and there - but it clearly pleased the regulars. And the hotel is ideally placed within the resort, easy walking distance from beach, nightlife, taxis, shops.

All that let the place down was a lack of fridge, kettle and aircon in the rooms - but that's exactly what you don't get in a two star hotel.

The regular complaint here is of rude / surly staff. I didn't experience that, but I'd guess you might if you were in a hurry. The place is seriously overstaffed, and - as always happens in such situations - the staff get chatting a lot, and don't like being interrupted.

When I'm on hols, I'm not capable of being in a hurry, but I did notice that I often had to wait while an internal staff conversation ran its course before I got noticed. I can understand folk getting upset at that.

If you want a bargain, a value for money place to stay, this may be for you - I'd happily rough it there! But if you *need* three-star facilities, you'll suffer.

My only complaint is the stupid Brit idiots who completely selfishly and unnecessarily put their towels on the sunbeds then go shopping for four hours. And, as always, they lie and blame the Germans for doing it first - Not so here, or most anywhere in my experience - it's a purely Brit trick. As a Brit, I'm ashamed of those "people".

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — small rooms with few facilities (usual two star experience!)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank heenan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week. 2 adults and 3 children (12, 7 and 3), I was very impressed with this hotel for the main reason that it was supposed to be 2*. The only thing that let it down was the fact there was no air con. (we have been told by one of the entertainers that they are going all air con next year) But we managed to hire a fan from a shop run by a english guy for 1 euro a day. (his leaflet is in the tourist information office) The hotel was a couple of minutes from the beach - perfect! The evening entertainment was great (something different every evening) and if you didnt like what was on, you could go to either of the other 2 hotels that are linked to this one. The entertainers were very nice, making you feel welcome and taking the time out to get to know you individually.
The surrounding area was great for what we wanted. Every evening we went for a stroll and they often had stalls out on the streets as well as the usual touristy shops.
We visited Aqua Park one day (21 euro adult, 13 euro child over 3) We got the bus from Santa Ponsa and for the 5 of us it cost us just over 5 euros one way.
I found this hotel, the area and the entertainment perfect for what we wanted. A lovely week away in the sun with no stress!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no air con
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri_Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Firstly, I´m writting this review while in Majorca staying at the santa ponsa playa. On first impressions the hotel looks good for a two star hotel. It seems that they do have a cockroach problem which doesn´t go down well with the younger ladies travelling in our group of six. You know the feeling; you wake up at 6am to a cockroach sitting on the wall just above your head.. you can imagine the screams from the ladies... We stayed all inclusive, the drinks are plentiful but service is very, very slow during the daytimes, only one member of staff on the bar for the whole hotel. You get plenty of time to eat, meals and snack are served very regularly, the only problem; it´s just not that nice, but i suppose their is always salad. The entainment is acceptable, the entertainment team work very hard to try and please everybody. As for the rest of the staff, well it wouldn´t hurt to smile once in a while. I think some of the staff treat their travellers more like prisoners than tourists. One other thing DON´T waste your money on any inflatables for your kids, we spent over 25 pounds on airbeds and floating chairs to be told they couldn´t be used on the pool.. I must admit, I am well a well seasoned traveler and have been all over the world from spain to panama and this is the first hotel that I have ever seen telling kids off for inflatables in the pool! It´s like the staff don´t like people having fun in there! As a result of the attitude, the pool is always empty, which might be great for some people. The location of the hotel is fantasic, about 1 minutes walk to the beach, which is really nice, and the shops are even closer! The santa ponsa area of Majorca is lovely. So, to summerise, tidy hotel, lovely area, cockroach problem and the staff are very unhappy in their choosen careers! If you do choose the Santa Ponsa playa as we did on a last minute, cheapo, deal.. Please, please remember to bring a bag of smiles for the staff at this hotel. Would i return; no probably not!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff atitude
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DekUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
#22 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Pionero
Globales Pionero
#14 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
#35 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Playa Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Property: Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Address: Gran Via Puig de Teix 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Playa Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel is located in the buzzing area of Santa Ponsa and just 20 minutes from Mallorca’s capital, Palma. The hotel is only a short walk from Santa Ponsa’s beautiful wide and open beach and nestled in the heart of commercial centre of this lively tourist area. It is the fantastic option for a family holiday. The hotel comes with the all inclusive option and forms part of a holiday complex together with the Globales Pionero Hotel and the Globales Santa Ponsa Park Hotel which allows you to enjoy a wide variety services and facilities the complex has to offer The Playa Santa Ponsa has swimming pools for adults and children as well as a solarium for relaxing days by the pool. The hotel is air conditioned so you can enjoy the lounges and bars in comfort. The rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel’s own international entertainment team is on hand to provide you entertainment day and night with scheduled activities, games and sports competitions. In the evenings there is a variety of shows and music performances that will keep the whole family amused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Globales Playa Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing