We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is a pretty standard Spanish 3* hotel, but it did the job for us.

We arrived at around 10pm and were checked-in quicker than you normally find in hotels. We made our way to our 1st floor room, which was fine. We had pre-requested a cot and this was in the room when we arrived (which is quite unusual). The cot was of a good standard. The room was pretty basic and the TV in the room was something from the1980s (I’m sure they don’t make screens that small anymore). There was only one pillow each in the room which meant I didn’t have a good first night’s sleep, we requested more after this.

The hotel was quite noisy at night. They try their best by closing the corridor doors but it doesn’t help much. The music in the hotel goes on until midnight and the walls are paper-thin, so you can hear everybody going into their rooms throughout the night.

Breakfast was ok, but they need more staff as we had to clear our own table pretty much every morning so that we could sit down.

We didn’t use the pool, because it was too deep for our 2 year old (even the kids pool was too deep). Everything was clean and the location of the hotel is good. Throughout our stay, the staff were always very friendly, pleasant and helpful (and this includes the maids). Overall, the hotel wasn’t bad, but it was very much 3 star.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudithCharmers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    136
    89
    38
    30
See reviews for
120
126
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great value A/I short break.
Hotel a little dated in some areas but absolutely spotlessly clean everywhere.
Food of good quality but could of been hotter.
Staff without exception polite,helpful and cheerful.
Rooms small, but adequate, great complimentary toothbrush, sponge, shower cap, shower gel, soap.
Pillows could of been better, but beds comfortable, nice balcony.
Hotel in fantastic position a very short walk to beach, bars, shops and restaurants.
Free wifi in small lobby area only.
Safe in room, but very expensive to hire almost 8E a day!
Quality and range of drinks good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

just came back from a 4 day stay here (June 2nd to 6th) and sickened to be leaving the place behind, had a wonderful stay here. caters for all people of all ages, was a good mix between families, teenagers,people in their early 20's, couples and people older than this. relaxed atmosphere with an energetic ents crew who did alot to keep the guests happy.

positives -
Value for Money - got an incredible all inclusive deal, which had plenty of food and drink available all day long (you can also eat in the other hotels 10m across the road)
Location - one of the best located hotels in SP - about 50m off main strip and 2 mins walk from Beach.
food - very surprised - plenty of choice, well cooked and meant we didnt actually have to leave the building at all for food, which we didnt expect.
beer - really good quality.

rooms - see my tip below.
the rooms are small enough, but come on - you dont go on holiday to spend it in a hotel room. we slept and showered/changed there and that was it.
the shower is small, but exceptionally comfortable with great power in the hot water, i didnt want to leave it (and im 6ft3 and had zero problems getting in and out of the bathroom/shower so it mustnt be that small after all ;) )
we slept well enough, some noise from noisy people inside the hotel (kids, late check ins, etc etc) but that can be expected in all hotels and has nothing to do with the hotel.

last review is a bit misleading as the hotel was fully functional and was completely full as Santa Ponsa is busy and will be for rest of summer - all meals were served in the restaurant which is very big and well laid out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobthedonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Booked Pionero hotel for mini break 2-6th June, but ended up here as the other was over subscribed! 2 1/2 hrs on transfer coach for 30min transfer. arrived 3pm but rooms not ready, rude receptionist, no pre booked poolside rooms available. Accepted roadside room on 4th floor, very small but clean, shower room ridiculously small, anyone slightly over weight or pregnant would have trouble getting in!! Rooms tired, and very noisy at night making it difficult to sleep. Someone had carved their name in our headboard! Wardrobe doors dented and hanging off the rollers, needed replacing. 30E for safety deposit box. All other staff helpful, polite, hard working and friendly, most guests complaining they had also ended up at this hotel by default or not given poolside rooms as requested. Restaurant bright and clean, plenty of choice for food but it was only ever luke warm, no matter what time you ate. Sunbeds sparse and all had towels on well before breakfast. Pool freezing. Animation simple to say the least. Same receptionist on duty when we left this morning, she was just as rude and abrupt as when we arrived. She needs to learn some communication skills. Hotel close to a nice beach, but just around the corner from Santa Ponsas' version of 'Magaluf'. Its not awful but I would not recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weddingroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

just returned from a weeks holiday 26 may to 2 june where do i start arrived at hotel to find it was not open ,we were then sent over the road to the santa ponsa park ,stayed there for one night so couldnt unpack case,as we were told we would be going back to our hotel the next day when it opened,bearing in mind we had been on the go since 6am it was now 2pm,as we had been on the bus from airport for 3 hours which if you go by taxi 40 euros as we had to wait for another flight to come in before we could set of. we then got in to our hotel on the 3 floor brilliant pool view room small but very comfortable,till u get to the bathroom what a joke that was the shower was built for a midget who weighed no more than 6 stone as the sink was right in the way to get in it if you are larger than 6 stone you have no chance of getting in. we then had to go over to the santa ponsa park for our breakfast and dinner, and the pioner for our lunch as our hotel had not started doing meals yet,the pool looks great did not try it a small area to sunbathe you need to get your towels on beds before 9.30 if u want a good space. reception staff great dining room staff exellent rushed of their feet as you sit at your table and they bring your drinks to you as well as clear up after everyone,rooms cleaned everyday exellent .overall you get what you pay for,i would not stay here again in this hotel but would go to sister hotel santa ponsa park you pay more as it was a 4 star hotel but a lovely room and bigger bathroom.overall a big let down but a lovely area near the beach and a lot of bars and shops.hopefull now that it is open it will be great it is definatly only a 3 star .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trurolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 4 years ago and the food was terrible but rooms were great so searching to go back to the beautiful resort of Santa Ponsa we chose the hotel again because it was one of the cheapest even with the all inclusive package and to our surprise the food had improved but the rooms were just as we remembered and not as good as we expected them to be. We hope to go back if we find the same good value though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton u k
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

plesant suprise as an investagation on google maps showed a deserted santa ponsa must have been very early morning take and also the hotel entrance very small but upon entering reception it was soon realised that the hotel was of a very good standard room was very kleen and comfortable we were on the street side and found this quite intresting fantastic location so close to shops and beach restraunt was of good standard and the selection of food was very intresting with something to satisfy all tastes overall a very good late summer break

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemSouthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
#22 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Pionero
Globales Pionero
#14 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
#34 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Playa Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Property: Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Address: Gran Via Puig de Teix 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Playa Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel is located in the buzzing area of Santa Ponsa and just 20 minutes from Mallorca’s capital, Palma. The hotel is only a short walk from Santa Ponsa’s beautiful wide and open beach and nestled in the heart of commercial centre of this lively tourist area. It is the fantastic option for a family holiday. The hotel comes with the all inclusive option and forms part of a holiday complex together with the Globales Pionero Hotel and the Globales Santa Ponsa Park Hotel which allows you to enjoy a wide variety services and facilities the complex has to offer The Playa Santa Ponsa has swimming pools for adults and children as well as a solarium for relaxing days by the pool. The hotel is air conditioned so you can enjoy the lounges and bars in comfort. The rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel’s own international entertainment team is on hand to provide you entertainment day and night with scheduled activities, games and sports competitions. In the evenings there is a variety of shows and music performances that will keep the whole family amused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Globales Playa Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing