We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
washington
1 review
“Not the best holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2009

About over an hour away from palma airport, not the best location.The staff were not really helpful or welcoming.Rooms were not really clean, they were small beds crunched up together, very small bathroom and not enough room on balcony.The hotel restaurant was the worst you had to wait by the door for ages until a staff member came to seat you, if just walked in the staff would make you go back out and wait, the staff would not let you in with shorts on and if you put something on the table e.g cigarettes the staff would take them of you, food was the same all the time and cold.The beach was about 5 mins way but nothing to do, some good restaurants down by the beach.Hotel enertainment was the best.Overall not a bad holiday for a week, no longer and mostley for adults.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    139
    95
    38
    33
See reviews for
124
131
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Visited the hotel 26th Sept 08, approx time from airport 45mins, Hotel check in was quick and efficient, with lifts just off reception for ease of luggage. The rooms were light and airy, and spotlessly clean,as was the whole hotel. Guests can also use the sister hotel which shares the same grounds, pools (1 indoor), bars, resturaunts and nightly entertainment. Most rooms overlook other hotels or service areas.

We stayed all inclusive, which is probably more economical as bar prices start at 3 euros for local drinks,(Not Watered down like some) which is about the same as outside prices.

The buffet style food in both resturaunt was excellent, with plenty of choice for every taste, which was replenished regularly. drinks at meals are waiter served.

The hotel location was excellent, within easy walking distance for plenty of shops and bars, right in the centre. Central bus stop is just about 300 yards away, where you can catch the bus to Palma Nova, Magaluf, and Palma Town (30mins 2.5Euros), well worth a visit to see the Millionaires yachts, the fab cathedral, and the old town with its narrow streets, of fish resturaunts, bars and shops.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would certainly go back again ....

  • Liked — Cleanliness, service
  • Disliked — Poor views
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank don323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

just got back from the playa santa ponsa hotel had agreat week. found rooms very clean bathroom was small with a small shower but it did the job.always clean towels everyday.we were all inclusive the food was excellent warm and plenty to choose from. staff always friendly and polite. entertainment was great most nights. santa ponsa a lovely place would go back and stay at this hotel again should be a 3star.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — small bathroon shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Stayed in the Playa Santa Ponsa end of August 2008 with my wife for a week. Last minute booking but gteat holiday. Hotel spotless and ataff very helpful and efficient .Great value at around twenty two pounds per head for bed and full buffet breakfast. Some great Irish bars in the main street playing live music from 10pm till 04am in the morning but absolutely no hassle whatsoever as everyone just wants to enjoy themselves. Also visited several Tapas bars about one hundred yards to the right as you leave the hotel main door. This is where the locals go and you get little nibbles when ever you order a drink. very friendly and cheap. Over all Santa Ponsa and the Hotel Playa are great places to stay in, everything is clean and tidy, the people are friendly the atmosphere is relaxed (you can stand and look at a menu all day and nobody will try and drag you into the restaurant unlike Greece / Turkey etc). I suppose that if one was going to be picky then the shower in our room could have been bigger and the sreaky bacon at breakfast could have been less fatty but hey how long do you spend in the shower during a week and there was tons of excellent alternatives to the bacon. After reading some of the reviews it would seem that some people who go on holiday want to pay two star standard prices and get five star accomodation, a nice thought but in the real world it does not happen. 9/10

  • Liked — Great location , clean , value for money
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank enfield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2008

we've just come back and had a great time after reading some of the reviews i was concerned but it was better than a 2 star the pool was better then the pictures i could find, the kids club was good through the day and they did adult activity's like water polo and cocktail game, the food was good had variety every night breakfast was full english, fruit, breads and pastry's, cold meats.
some of the staff were abit slow or not as nice as u'd like but hey u always get one no matter where u go.
the showers are small but again i find they always are the room was cleaned every day and beds were made.
we took our 10 month old soon and went with my parents and 8 year old brother so a wide range of ages and we all had a great time.
the only thing i would say is if u are thinking of going all inclusive they told us it was only 30 euros a week so for us it was cheaper to do there rather than book all in.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank C-R-Z08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2008

I have just arrived home from a 5 night stay at this hotel and as with all hotels it has its good and bad points.
We arrived at 2 in the afternoon to be checked in by a male receptionist who didn't even glance at us and then were told he didnt know if our room was ready so we should go and check. We went up to the room and found it hadnt been cleaned so we went back downstairs and said we'd wait at the bar. We ordered some drinks which took a very long time and were then short changed. After half an hour our room was finally ready. The room was absolutely fine, good air conditioning and nice balcony with a great view, the bathroom was tiny but thats what you expect.
I didnt really enjoy the food in the hotel restuarant but my boyfriend loved it so I suppose that was just me being fussy. On the first night we were never asked if we wanted a drink, on the second night we were and were asked to pay right away.
I found the receptionists in all 3 hotels to be very unhelpful as we needed the contact number for our representative but none of them made any effort to help.
The good points of this hotel is it is kept absolutely immaculate, the cleaners came every day to change the towels and make the bed and if you didnt want to be disturbed in the morning they had no problems with coming back later on. The hotel is in a beautiful place with the beach literally just down the road. The surrounding area is brilliant and there are countless shops and restuarants. Our favourite was the cocktail bar which was part of the Wok Wok restuarant, the staff were amazing and the bar was beautiful. All in all our holiday was brilliant, we didnt spend much time in the hotel as there was so much to do. Its a fine place to sleep and have breakfast but I wouldnt spend my day there.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Food and staff.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daizee_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Ponsa hotels

Fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Playa Santa Ponsa and were impressed with both the accommodation and the all inclusive package. The rooms were more modern than shown on previous reviews, the hotel itself was spotless and in a really convenient location. Only downside was our room was on the 'not so quiet' side of the hotel (ie, the main road) which was a pain come 6 in the morning, delivery trucks, bin lorries and countless motorbikes - not good. Food was good, bar staff a bit on the slow side, however, the restaurant staff could not do enough for you. Would recommend for a short stay/week long holiday, very small but beautiful resort but then you have Palma Nova/Magalluf practically next door for those wanting a longer, more livelier holiday.

  • Liked — Food, location
  • Disliked — Noise, tiny lifts
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
#21 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Pionero
Globales Pionero
#14 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
#35 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Playa Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Property: Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Address: Gran Via Puig de Teix 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Playa Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel is located in the buzzing area of Santa Ponsa and just 20 minutes from Mallorca’s capital, Palma. The hotel is only a short walk from Santa Ponsa’s beautiful wide and open beach and nestled in the heart of commercial centre of this lively tourist area. It is the fantastic option for a family holiday. The hotel comes with the all inclusive option and forms part of a holiday complex together with the Globales Pionero Hotel and the Globales Santa Ponsa Park Hotel which allows you to enjoy a wide variety services and facilities the complex has to offer The Playa Santa Ponsa has swimming pools for adults and children as well as a solarium for relaxing days by the pool. The hotel is air conditioned so you can enjoy the lounges and bars in comfort. The rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel’s own international entertainment team is on hand to provide you entertainment day and night with scheduled activities, games and sports competitions. In the evenings there is a variety of shows and music performances that will keep the whole family amused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Playa Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing