We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better”
Review of Hotel Delfin Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Delfin Mar
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We spent in the hotel 7 days in the first half of August. We had a nice view from the window on the pool and the sea. Rooms were clean, but to our dismay, the fourth day stay we found a cockroach on the floor.
The food was delicious, everyone can find something suitable.
Service during meals were beyond reproach. Waiters were friendly and polite.
There was a lack of music by the pool, with the exception of days when the younger bartender was working, so the atmosphere in the evenings was suitable for older people than for people under thirty.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Iwona_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Have stayed at this hotel for the last 3 years albeit on a room only basis so cannot comment on food side of things.Have always had a street facing room and never experienced noise from revellers or refuse collection lorries.Reception staff have always been very polite and friendly.Will return again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LIZ_2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel in July 2011 although we were booked for its sister hotel Delfin Siesta Mar that was overbooked. Being AI guests we found it very difficult, the unhelpful staff did not want to accommodate us probably because we were English speaking they seamed to favour the Europeans more. The pool area is very small and not lots of sunloungers the hotel had no entertainment at all not very good when your AI.

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms are very noisey with road traffic refuse collections etc also dont think all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Katmc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I just spent 10 days here with my mother late June/early July 2011. We had half-board. The beds were hellish, I hardly slept all night as our room was overlooking the street which was loud (revellers, garbage disposal trucks early morning) and the management had forgotten to give us adequate curtains for the room. I asked for an extra pillow but for some reason did not get it until almost 2 days later which was ridiculous. I was told I had to "wait" for a certain person to bring it to our room who wasnt on duty when I had made the request. The reception staff were ill-informed and not exactly eager to please! They did their job, unsmiling, and often with no enthusiasm at all. How do these people get reception jobs in hotels at all? The food was not bad but definitely not 5* standard, maybe 3*. The tastiest thing on the evening menu were the beefburgers! The other meat was tough and I did not see much fish. Paella was on the menu though one evening which was very nice. The plentiful breakfast buffet was okay, but the cereals were cheap-tasting said my mum, as were the dates and figs.The fresh fruit however was delicious (melon, pineapple). The breadrolls and baguettes were delicious too, in fact there was a big choice of bread and cakes, but unfortunately the fried eggs and baked beans were cold at 8 a.m. even! The eating area reminded me of a works canteen and the atmosphere was not that great. Tables around us were being noisily and constantly re-set by unfriendly staff.The drinks from the machine at breakfast were revolting, as were the "fruit" drinks from the machine next to it. We could not fault the general cleanliness of the hotel (pool, outside area and rooms) though.The hotel atmosphere itself was a joke, such a pity as sitting round the pool with a drink after dinner was just not enjoyable. It was like sitting in a library, but without the books. The pool itself was very clean but so small that I could only swim a few strokes before reaching the other side. There were never enough sunbeds which interestingly the Brits had laid towels on since dawn, not the Germans! In fact it was a nice young German father who gave up HIS sunbed twice for my mother!!
Apart from one Flamenco evening at the hotel, there was no music, nothing. To be honest, I have booked better hotels in Cala Gran for all-inclusive, which were far cheaper, nicer and where the food was better. Santa Ponsa is a nice place (perfect for visiting Palma or Port D'Andrax etc) but even though the hotel is so close to the lovely sandy beach, I still would not book this hotel again. The hotel just about offered what it was supposed to do (according to the brochures) but not even a tiny bit more. We were a bit disappointed to be honest. I had expected an overall better standard for a 4* hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cinder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and myself stayed from 23rd April to 30th April 2011.Everrything was just perfect
Selection and qyality food was excellent. Service second to none.Cleanliness 10/10
Just 3 minutes walk to a very nice sandy beach

Negative:entertainment very poor non existence- Unable to get direct view of the sea as
other buildings obstruct ion

Lee Eliades -England

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank browneyesBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

this is a rare find. This hotel delivers on all levels. Food is high quality and good choice ( buffet style)waiters/waitresses ensure clean tables and attentive service. Rooms cleaned to a high standard. Staff are well trained, work very hard and seek to give an excellent service.
Reception staff helpful and as expected fluent in many languages.
Hotel provided Majorcan evening and flamenco entertainment which was again high quality.
Has indoor and outdoors pools which are very clean and well maintained.
Overall, a quality product at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waleshive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This was our second time staying at Delfin Mar because we loved it so much the first time. If you are looking for a nice and relaxing holiday in Santa Ponsa, then this is the hotel for you.The rooms are very clean and very nice. There are lots of good inexpensive restaurants and pubs in Santa Ponsa and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lou00_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0 mi away
Delfin Siesta Mar
Delfin Siesta Mar
#19 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Bahia del Sol Hotel
#28 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#34 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
0 mi away
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
Delfin Apartamentos Casa Vida
#33 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfin Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin Mar

Address: Rei Sanxo 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £78 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delfin Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 89 rooms of the Hotel Delfin Mar are designed to maximize the comfort of your holiday in Mallorca. With functional furniture were you can find the space to relax, ideal for family or friends holidays. All the rooms are eqquiped with telephone, TV, safe (payment) air conditioning / heating, hairdryer and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Delfin Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Mar Hotel
Delfin Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Delfin Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing