We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with some areas to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel with some areas to improve”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 days on the all inclusive tariff in a Junior Suite. In many ways it is as good as the brochure. The prestige area is quiet and close to the bar. I did overhear people stating that there were not enough sunbeds in the prestige area although I personally didn't have a problem.

The breakfasts are really good. A wide variety (I think the best I have sampled), lots of fresh fruit and freshly cooked meals.

Lunch is low key. I don't like fish and found the non-fish menu to be quite limited. This is not a huge issue, however as there are many snacks in the bar during the day (cakes, rolls etc) and you don't need to eat a lot.

Dinner is a formal affair. There is a wide selection of soups, starters, pastas and cooked meals. The do a rice based dish similar to Paella every night but we didn't get a paella during our stay. There are also a variety of hot meals, many cooked in front to you.

The first night had a great looking Sushi bar and the second had an amazing fish bar including half lobsters.

Dessert is Ice cream, Fruit, pastries and cheese. It changes slightly from night to night but is largely the same.

The included drinks with dinner are reasonable - there is a basic Cava, a choice of reds, roses and whites. There are also beers.

On the bar the all inclusive selection is quite wide but only included 6 cocktails (for some reason mojitos were not included) and 2 mocktails (I particularly liked the frozen banana). Often staff would bring your drinks to your sunbed.

The room was spacious with good aircon. We had a double jacuzzi bath in our bedroom (literally) and great views from the balcony.

I snorkled a few times in the sea ( there are jettys right at the hotel so you can get in despite the lack of beach) which was interesting - nothing like as interesting as the red sea but better than some reviews had led me to believe.

On the downside, the outdoor furniture isn't great quality. The sunbeds are comfortable but the sloping backs fall off if you try to adjust them. The wind is too strong for the parasols (I was hit by one that blew off its base - a passing lady was hit on the head by it) so you have to take them down and put up with the full glare of the sun. This area is also quite crowded (the normal area has sunbeds further apart)

When you are eating they are very quick to take your plates and will take your cutlery as well so if you have planned to go up for something different it is difficult to get new cutlery. The waiting staff in the restaurants are all overworked - there don't seem to be anywhere near enough which can lead to long waits for extra drinks.

The bath in the bedroom means that the sink is also there so you can't sneak into the bathroom during the night.

Watch out on departure day. All inclusive ends at midday so even if you take advantage of the late check out you will have to sort out a meal (or fill up on the bar snacks)

The item that really left me reluctant to go back was the lack of segregation of smoking an non-smoking areas. It seemed whenever we tried to sit on our balcony that out neighbour was also out there smoking, in the bar in the evening we selected seats by air quality rather than view (some views were outstanding and would have been great while watching the sun go down) and even on the sun loungers those around were often smoking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    562
    205
    104
    49
See reviews for
213
1,493
49
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

An excellent stay - would definitely recommend upgrading to the Prestige area, but the main pool area is still very nice. Great location and views. Quite good value when compared with other 4/5 star hotels and locations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank paul_taylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa De La Calma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Poor reception service, no porters to show to room, no help with luggage
Despite paying for all inclusive, further payment is needed for hire of safe, wifi access, meals by the pool, poolside towels etc.
No atmosphere around the hotel, very quiet, distinct demarcation between all inclusive guests in the main hotel, and those in Prestige Area.
Staff attitude appears to be do the least possible, 'take it or leave it attitude.
When we consider the amount we paid, we were very very disappointed would not return to this hotel, or any other iberostar hotels if this is a typical example

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We sincerely regret reading that apparently you were not properly informed about our All Inclusive basis and the extra charges for the use of the safe and internet connections; as you will see on our brochure and website, a full description of our different boards is duly reported and includes meals and drinks throughout our guests’ stay at our hotel; the extra charge for pool towels is a deposit that is returned upon check out; our hotel is also advertised as an Adults’ only hotel with no full animation program; we encourage you for future occasions to visit our website or contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you choose the destination, accommodation type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes.

Our staff strives to welcome each guest with the IBEROSTAR spirit and assist in any way possible to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay. We sincerely regret reading that you didn’t feel well cared after and passed on your remarks to our management team for revision and improvement.

Last but not least, our hotel counts with a porter’s service, we can only assume that he was busy with other guests at your arrival but would have been pleased to assist you as soon as back at our lobby.

Hopefully we will be able to fulfill your expectations in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel that can make all your wishes come true.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Luabay Galatzo last June at Paguera, 2 miles away,and had a brilliant holiday with friends, another couple, so chose the Iberostar Jardin on the basis of adults only and excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.
Check in was pleasant and our Junior Suite was amazing, with Jacuzzi, big screen TV , power shower and sea views.
Most reviews recommended upgrading to prestige. Both my wife and I and our friends, another couple,were glad we didn't, as it looked like the area was packed in like sardines and had no seaview from sun loungers.
The only reason I can't give it maximum marks is the evening entertainment was garbage. One evening there was a Scottish woman crying behind us. Turned out she was laughing so hard at how bad the singer was it made her cry. Other nights it sent people to sleep. Iberostar need to visit the Luabay to see how to half entertain.
Food was slightly below Luabay Galatzo standard also, but restaurant staff worked tirelessly to keep everyone happy. Apart from a couple of times, we always got an outdoor terrace table overlooking sea for breakfast, lunch and dinner, otherwise we had to wait no more than five minutes.
A word of warning, if you want to tip a member of the restaurant staff, put it directly into their hand as we found out that the maitre'de, who looks like Sgt Bilko, pockets all the tips that go into the box beside him at the entrance to restaurant.
Bar staff around pool faultless and rooms cleaned impeccably everyday.
Overall, a great hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dkmidblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We was greeted at reception by Jose, with a refreshing drink & small cool towel.
View from reception was fantastic.. Our room was one to remember, jacuzzi bath was in our open plan room, with separate shower & toilet. There was a very good choice of food everyday :) The bar staff were great fun & we're happy to join in the fun!! There were a few large double luxury beds at the pool side, which were very comfy & in the shade. Lots of sun beds for everyone. Whilst there I had a massage, which was very relaxing & enjoyable. Thought I would miss the beach as this hotel is on the cliffs, but I must say I didn't at all. Great to dive into clear waters off the small jetty. All in all the hotel is very good, comfy, clean, staff friendly & nothing to much trouble. That's what makes a great break :) Thank you all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley71warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Lesley,

It is always very rewarding to read our guests’ full satisfaction on their stay at our IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol and we thank you for your lovely review.

Friendly service, comfortable accommodations and high quality gastronomy being the prime pillars of our company, we are glad to hear we were able to deliver and will not fail to congratulate our staff for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa De La Calma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Not enough umbrellas on prestige area ,response from manager remove sun beds which made the situation worse.
Really good product why ruin it by not providing enough.
Prestige area great apart from this, but in the heat of the day ie 30 degrees plus
You need to be in the shade shame so easy to resolve

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having recently returned from the Jardin del Sol having been there 3 times previously we found out that the hotel had been upgraded with the addition of the Star Prestige area included.
The room we had reserved was a Superior Suite in the main building and we up graded at additinional cost as the original suite was dark and dismal.
On the seventh day of our stay my wife was waiting for me outside the main entrance of the hotel when she was accosted by 2 gypsy type females who whilst attempting to attach some type of flower to the inside of her bikini top robbed her purse containing 200 euros.
When reported to hotel staff the hotel did contact the police who on arrival said that this is now common on the Island.The hotel porter/sheriff guy also said that this was not the first time that this had happened outside this entrance to lone female guests.
The hotel dismissed our concerns and were in fact only to happy to get the rid of the police as quickly as possible.
If in fact this has happened before the hotel should be warning arriving guests as to this danger and my wife believes that if she had resisted these thieves she could of been harmed.
This incident was very traumatic and we will never return to this hotel again as the hotel management response was very dissapointing.

Room Tip: Stay in Star Prestige junior suites Level 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billyboro2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We first would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your many visits to our IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol and for the time you spent to review your recent holiday experience among us; we deeply regret reading that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion and will be forwarding your remarks to our management team for revision and improvement.

In Majorca, like in any other touristic area, thefts can occur; whenever a guest informs us about a theft outside the hotel, we immediately contact the closest police station for our guests to make an official declaration, but unfortunately there is not much more we can do and regret you didn’t feel well looked after by our staff.

Please receive our sincerest apologies if you experienced any inconsistency in our service; We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,808 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#36 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites

Property: IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites
Address: C/ Huguet des Far, s/n | Costa de la Calma, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Suites Jardin del Sol is your hotel for two if you want to explore Mallorca. Located in an exclusive enclave on the Costa de la Calma that faces the sea, the Suites Jardin del Sol hotel offers an array of experiences for couples that are in love or that want to fall in love. The 261 rooms of this hotel are suites that include a whirlpool bath and many of them feature spectacular sea views and also have a private pool. The Star Prestige service also grants access to a VIP zone featuring a spectacular pool with hammocks hanging next to the water, an exclusive bar, solarium with sun loungers and Balinese beds, armchairs with a perfect lookout to watch the sunsets and direct access to the sea. And if that wasn’t enough, the Suites Jardin del Sol hotel has a complete SPA Sensations, free Wi-Fi, an All Inclusive accommodation type (optional), two pools, golf course nearby, fitness room, entertainment workshops for adults, two restaurants and two bars with the best ambience... a bit of everything for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Iberostar, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Jardin del Sol Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Jardin Del Sol Suites Santa Ponsa, Majorca
Iberostar Santa Ponsa
Jardin Sol Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Sol Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing