We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playas del Rey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top quality all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

A thouroughly enjoyable stay. Simply excellent. If you are looking for a lovely, peaceful, relaxing get-away and a hotel with very friendly, professional and helpful staff then look no further than the Playas del Rey Hotel. After a 4 day stay here I am already planning a return - the rooms were cleaned immaculately daily and there is free WiFi - and the hospitality was not confined to just the hotel - Santa Ponsa itself is a lovely place with great amenities for your holiday requirements and entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveJ1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu E, Director General at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Clients,

thank you for your time to write us your Feedback, we are proud to read these and even better to read that you like to return.

Hope you will keep your promises and looking forward to welcome you "soon" again here at Playas del Rey

Kind regards

Tomeu Enseñat
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    106
    33
    21
    13
See reviews for
80
211
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My dream trip to Mallorca was even better because of Playas del Rey Hotel. I really enjoyed staying here with my boyfriend. Rooms are small but very nice, comfortable and clean. Hotel stuff is very pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts were great and WiFi for free (however little bit slow). Beaches are very near – one bigger and one smaller. And there are a lot of great restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu E, Manager at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you very much for input and feedback. I am sure the whole Team will enjoy reading this and we send our warm greetings to you.

Kind regrads from Mallorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Overall good hotel, but the room was very small and so was the pool, which was in the shade of the neighbouring high rise hotel, and there is not much space around the pool. The food for the evening meal was of a very high quality and was much looked forward too everyday, although breakfast was average at best. The rest of the stay at this hotel was as it should be and the bar/lobby area was very relaxing, the location of this hotel is superb as it is just a stroll in the sun away from the beach and many shops and restraunts but it was not noisy at night, overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisH1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Went to this Hotel in summer of 2011. Great little hotel and not too busy all the time like most other hotels. Pool is quite small, but if I'm honest it was all you needed as the beach is practically across the road from the hotel. The rooms are just the right size for the pair of us, and the decor very chic. If you miss getting a sunbed by the pool, there are a lot of sunbeds on the hotel roof which are a great little suntrap and you can get the sun all day long until it sets.
The staff are also very nice and helpful. Good choice of food at breakfast, although it was sometimes hard to find a table later in the morning. Breakfast could finish a little later. The only con I can think of is the location of the room. Our room overlooked a large block of flats which were noisy with children and dogs from time to time which meant I slept with earplugs to avoid getting woken up early in the morning.
All in all, a great little hotel though and not too expensive which is a great plus!
Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu E, Manager at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thaks very much for your review. We look forward to see you again at Playas del Rey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just come back from santa ponso playas del rey hotel, the hotel is clean, as for going half board i really would not bother, you are unable to choose a starter, or sweet, and get only two choices for main meal, the first night i was there the main meal was goulash with either Noodles, or Pasta, I ask for Noodles but got pasta, the menu for half board is poor to say the least when I asked if there was a menu and was quite prepared to pay a little extra I was told NO, only to see that people who came for a meal was given a Menu. The hotel at night is non exsistant with no atosmphere at all with nobody at the bar. I saw many couples bringing back takeaways and going to thier room. Other than the hotel being in a good location does not have much going for it other than being clean. I would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu E, Gerente at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you very much for your comments in Trypadvisor, they really help us to improve.
We are truly sorry that you did not like our menu. I can assure you that for the following season we will increase the variety of our food menu. In terms of quality we shall continue using the best ingredients.
Best regards from Playas del Rey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This modern, smart and friendly hotel is well located and was good value for money. The staff were attentive, chatty and, well, plain nice (Manuel, Dania and Marco take a bow!). The food was also good - breakfast was continental buffet style with a good choice. Dinner menu on half board was a little limited and portions were not massive (which suited us in the hot climate) but excellent quality. It's less than five minutes to a lovely beach. We had a wonderful week's stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

i stayed in this hotel in 2009 before the refurbishments. i loved it then but adore it now!! the staff are excellent and communication was brilliant. i emailed the hotel earlier to request a certain room and on my arrival, it was there for me with complimentary fridge.
the breakfast is excellent, so much choice with very good quality products. this is the first hotel abroad that i have been able to drink the juice. with regards to the drink prices, the bar across the road was much more expensive and it was serving cheap local spirits at an higher price than the hotel's imported liquer.
the location is excellent as it is next to some excellent restaurants ans the free wifi in the hotel is an added bonus. i will definately be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#12 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golf Beach
Hotel Golf Beach
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playas del Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playas del Rey Hotel

Property: Playas del Rey Hotel
Address: 76 Via Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Playas del Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playas del Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playas Del Rey Santa Ponsa
Playas Del Rey Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing