We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Maybe our expectations were too high, but we were not that impressed with this hotel. We'd saved up especially to go somewhere nice and we booked here cos it was adults only so expected some peace and quiet and chillaxing time round the pool but that didn't happen. Sunloungers were always all gone by the time we got to the pool and most days we had to lie on towels which wasn't comfy. We found that noise carried through the whole hotel at night, so romantic evenings on our balcony were against a backdrop of bad music and people on the mike from the entertainment. It did go quiet after midnight though. The views were really nice and that was definitely it's strongest point. Food was a bit boring for us, but I guess we are used to more adventurous flavours. We ate out in town a few times and found lots of restaurants there. By the way, the town centre is around a 15 minute walk away, as is the beach, so bring some walking shoes. The Blue Bar was a nice
area and had a good vibe but no bottled beer! We are not into cocktails so we think they should change their policy up there. Not as good as we hoped it would be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Thomas,

Although we lament reading the service imperfections on your recent stay at our Sentido Punta del Mar that you point out in your review, we are grateful for the time you spent to share your experience among us, It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
After comments and suggestions from our clients, this winter a glass has been installed in our lounge bar to soundproof from the animation and ensure the relax and rest for our clients.

A sunbeds policy has been implemented from summer 2013 to ensure a sunbed for every client and this policy has had a good welcome (sunbeds not used in a period of 30 min , towels will be retired for our lifeguard. Time extended 1 hour in lunch time).

In reference to the suggestion the Blue Bar service . This season we offer more than 3 kind of bottles beer , apart of pressure beer for all inclusive service.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Sentido Hotels will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

My friend and I stayed at the punta del mar in august 2013 ,what an amazing holidays we had , everything was spot on ,from staff .rooms .everything ,we are coming back in august this year hope all the staff are the same , as they were all very helpful and pleasent , our regards to Javier .Bernado and all, also to the boys Sam and Adam on entertainment , see you all in August , hoping we get the same rooms as we have requested them. 509 510 , many thanks to all from Lucy and denise

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucy959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Lucy and Denise,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Sentido Punta del Mar Hotel for your getaway to Mallorca and for the time you spent to share your feedback on your stay, we are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time among us.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the comfort of our accommodations and amenities.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your highlight on the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff, Sam, Adam, Bernat and Javier we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your praising comments; to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel at your earliest convenience.


Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for a week in September 2013 in junior suite. Excellent food, accommodation and service. Could not fault it, staff were extremely friendly especially those in the restaurant will return in 2014

Room Tip: go for suite 208 over pool and view to marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear James,

First and foremost we would like to express our gratitude for the time you took out of your day to write and share a review on your holiday experience at our Sentido Punta del Mar Hotel. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests take back home some nice memories of their holiday among us.

We also thank you for your mention on the quality and variety of our buffet offer and about our staff .


Once more, thank you for your time; it would be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Majorca, and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here in September last year for our first wedding anniversary. On arrival we were told that we had been overbooked and were to go to the Jardin del sol,which was a few yards away, (we were most annoyed as it was our first anniversary and the hotel had been informed of this before our arrival) but on arrival at that hotel we were not disappointed as we were given a junior suite (jacuzzi, large terrace, own shower, separate bedroom, sea view) and it was a very nice hotel. We spoke to the Manager of the Punta Del Mar at our disappointment that we had been overbooked and he informed us that it was actually the Central Booking System that had actually overbooked and it was all over the island, not just them. He apologised and we were given a junior suite on the 2nd floor, which was very spacious, a bottle of bubbly and fruit arrived for us to celebrate our anniversary, we were given a late check out free of charge by the hotel and Thomas Cook gave us a free trip to Soller, so it turned out all right in the end and we were quite happy with our inconvenienced start. (The Manager was a very nice and understanding man, who invited us into his office and explained and apologised, even though it wasn't the hotel's fault.)

We the started to enjoy the holiday, the al a carte restaurant was absolutely gorgeous, 8 courses, but very nice, a nice taster menu and the waiter was great at explaining what every course entailed, very attentive and pleasant guy. The buffet restaurant is the best we have ever been to for an all inclusive hotel and we have been to many! Food is hot and is replenished often, lots of choices, wine and beer on tap in the restaurant, help your self.

The Blue Bar was great to go to for a cocktail and watch the sunset before going to dinner.

A few bars and shops only ten minute walk from the hotel if you want to get out of the hotel for a wee change. The square was a again about a ten minute walk to watch some tribute bands, where there were several bars, with waiter service whilst you sit, watch and listen .

I have recommended this hotel to my friends and family.

The hotel was spotlessly clean. The views are brilliant, a very relaxing hotel, staff very friendly and pleasant. We look forward to meeting the Manager and Concierge again who helped make our stay a very pleasant one and hope this will be repeated this year!!

James & Gillian Millar

All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and have just booked to go back this year again!

Room Tip: Every room has a sea view, on talking to others there wasn't a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear James and Gillian,

Nice to hearing you!!! I would like to give you my sincerely thanks for sharing your experience.

Your stay is a perfect example how to solve initial bad experience and how our staff is involved to satisfy the expetaction of our clients.
Your good comments means a great value for me and for my team

I am waiting to seeing you soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Read stories about this hotel with it's one or two minor problems, we found them to be true but it did not hinder our 2 week stay in any way. The hotel, staff, and entertainment were faultless.
In fact every thing was so good, we are going again in may 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, we stayed in room 107 which was just far enough from the bar, and enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank davekirka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Davekirka,

It will be a pleasure to give you another time welcome at Sentido Punta del Mar.

Clients who stay year after year in our Hotel , is a full satisfaction for our staff and personally for me as Hotel manager.
I trasnmit your wonderfull words to the staff.

I looking to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked our room and one week after realized that the price had suddenly gone up very much so in that sense we were very happy. It looks that the sooner you get you book your room the cheaper it is with this resort. This hotel is perfect for couples and groups of friends looking for a nice holiday and service is good and cleaning is very good. Views are nice and there is a lot of parking outside the hotel but after 9pm it is difficult to find a parking anywhere near the hotel. We saw the entertainment one time but it was not special but the bar was nice for a drink or two.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sweden20092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Sweden,

Thank you for your kindly comments in reference our service . I would like to inform you that a new parking for clients it will be available this season 2014. After listen some suggestions and comments from our clients, we invest in a new parking to improve our service in the Hotel.

I hope to see you in the future and enjoy again with us.

Kind regards
Javier Escalas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our stay started on the wrong foot from the beginning when we did not get to our room till 3pm as the room was not ready and there were no excuses. The hotel itself is what we expected although the service was more of a 3 star hotel but the views did compensate for the lack of service. I have some mixed feeling about the hotel cause though we said it has great views the uphill and downhill is not what I wanted from my holiday. Also the sandy beach is some 30 minutes walk from the hotel so taking into account the walk to and back from the beach is very tiring and the hotel should provide some sort of transportation as I can not see anyone enjoying such a long walk for 7 days.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Ddavies1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Davis,

I regret your experience at Sentido Punta del Mar. All the staff and the management is involved 100 % trying to give the best service to our clients and your opinion about our service under 3* is a bad information for us. In the future , it will be very important for us , to know at the moment , why your expectation were not satisfied and try to solve during your stay..
In reference the checking time. I would like to inform you that check out is at 12.00, and the housekeeping department, cleans the rooms till 15.30. So, the time for check in is from 12.00 till 15.30. In a busy day can be longer than 15.00 but no than 15.30. This fact it happens in 95% of Hotels around the world
Finally, we take in consideration a transfer from the Hotel to the beach in the future. Thank for this suggestion

Thank you for your opinion and stay at Sentido Punta del MAr

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.8 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#34 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 180 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
3.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing