We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most of its kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Better than most of its kind”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in Punta del Mar during the first two weeks in June. It's about the 10th 4/5* all-inclusive I've visited in the past five years, so I'm comparing it with others of its kind.

Location is everything. Santa Ponsa is an okay place for famlies, but nothing about it had ever drawn me there. The hotel, however, on a headland about a mile out of town – that's different. I only went into town twice. Enough has been said in other reviews about the views. I'll add that there's a hill (slight slope, really) to the first shops, bars and restaurants, which are a couple of hundred metres from the entrance. There's no need to venture further than that if you don't want to. There are a couple of supermarkets too (handy for buying water much cheaper than in the hotel) and a taxi rank.

Entertainment: Bingo or something starts at eight, and is followed by singers etc. I went elsewhere. The entertainment's probably great if you're into that kind of thing.

Food: Ah! Better than most of what I've experienced. Breakfast: Spanish and English bacon. Spanish, English and German sausage. Eggs cooked four or five ways ... you get the idea. I ate breakfast once in Arkles, down at the shops, for 5 euro and it was very nice, but you can get the same and lots more at the hotel (Real tomatoes, not tinned). They don't push the boat out at lunch. Some people skip lunch while others have a 'snack' at the pool. The snacks are of good quality – cheeseburget etc – and you order them from a menu just like in a regular cafe. The items are priced for those not on all-inclusive: 5.50 euro for a cheeseburger. In the main dining room, food trays that are almost empty are quickly replace; food isn't left lying around – which is good from a health perspective.

Rooms: There are different types with balconies giving shade and others open to the sun. Some reviewers have referred to the rooms as dark and small. My room (a standard room) was narrower than normal but also a little longer. You can walk between the foot of the bed and the wall with ease unless you're an elephant. Lengthwise from the wardrobe to the balcony door: space big enough for a chair, bedside table, two single beds side by side, bedside table, armchair, table, armchair ... How big do you need? My balcony was not private (visibility from both sides and above). This is the compromise you make to have sunshine. It was much longer than the usual, and furnished with a table, two chairs and two sunbeds.

I was going to ask for a west-facing room (facing the open sea). This would have been beautiful for watching the sun set. However, when the sun's going down, it turns the sea silver and almost impossible to look at. West-facing rooms offer shade until around mid afternoon.

Outside space: There is enough but not much. It's not always possible to get a sunbed or one of the ten or so comfy double beds. The hotel counters this by having someone patrolling and picking up beds 'blocked' by the towel-blocking idiots. I saw quite a few puzzled faces on people who blocked sunbeds, went off for breakfast, then returned to find their towels had been lifted.

My only complaint is that the door to the poolside area remains locked until half eight or nine – not good if you just want to stretch your legs. Also, the door to the Blue Bar area (which is outside and has great views) remains locked until half four when the bar itself begins serving. I don't see why they can't unlock the Blue Bar area for those, like me, who want to escape the music down at the pool – and the smokers who puff around the door and render part of the pool area quite unpleasant. The problems would be solved by bringing back hanging for smokers and sunbed blockers.

Would I return? Yes, I think I would – and I can't say that about most other hotels I've visited.

By the way, the small indoor pool is a great place to get out of the sun. Sauna and steam rooms free on all-inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavidCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    485
    204
    102
    59
See reviews for
217
1,155
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed in Sentido from 2nd to 9th June. The hotel was great. From the second you arrive and see the views from reception you know that you are somewhere special. The staff were fantastic and could not be more helpfull. The food was terrific and the Al-a -carte was one of the best eating experiences that we have ever had.
The only thing that I found not to my liking was the evening entertainment. Craig and Thomas did a great job but I think that the hotel could have managed to push the boat out a little bit more with better entertainers.
I have to say that we are already thinking when we can go back to Sentido and I hope that it will be sooner rether than later.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 612 and 614 and they were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are grateful that they have decided to spend some time describing his experience with us at SENTIDO PUNTA DEL MAR.

It's great to read that our services have contributed to make your holiday a splendid experience.

I lament to read that the entertainment program not covered your expectations, I will contact the manager to communicate your mention, and we try to improve our offer.

Thank you again for your appreciated comment and we hope to see you again,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Took my mum here but didn't enjoy it for a couple of reasons. First the rooms are small. Maybe if you pay for a big suite you get more space, but for us it was very tight. Secondly the food is not up to par. Actually breakfast was good but dinner was repetitive and lacklustre. We ended up having to pay to eat out in town most nights which was not the idea of going somewhere all-inclusive! The hotel is clean and modern but not worth the high price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We are currently still here 11/6/14 and it's simply lovely here, we have a junior suite which we are so glad we paid for, the suite is HUGE, the bed is HUGE, the bathroom is HUGE, we have 2 balconies, one has a sun lounger on it, 2 massive sliding wardrobes, 26 clothes hangers, 32" tv with all the English channels, a large sofa bed aswell, the whole room (and hotel) is white, teal, completely modern, the staff are so friendly, the bar staff are funny and attentive, and the food is out of this world, something different every day, all very tasty and appetising, and the desserts....Wow!! The best part for us is there are NO children here, so no silly kiddies discos/characters etc, and the pools are beautiful with double bed loungers and NO-ONE hassles you to join in or anything, I would recommend this hotel mainly for couples over 30 who just wanna chill, very impressed!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Funnyman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I would like to thank you for spend your holiday time to describe and show on Tripadvisor your experience with us.

We are glad to see that you are satisfied with your room, comfort and relaxation are important points on your holiday, and it is a pleasure to see that we have covered your needs.

We also thank you for your mention on the quality and variety of our buffet offer, we communicate our staff your gratefulness.

Our adults only policy, aims to offer a peaceful and relaxing holiday away from the noise and chaos, to offer an alternative to routine.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Punta Del Mar 10th-17th May as a group of 4; two couples aged between 21-24. The hotel is predominantly for older couples but this made no difference to us at all, we met some lovely guests & fitted in fine.

Hotel itself & the majority of staff are fantastic.

The views are spectacular, from reception, hotel room, pool area and especially from the Blue Bar with Manu's cocktail of the day.
Rooms are great with a large balcony, four star hotels however don't usually have two single beds pushed together to make a double & sandpaper towels.

The Spa is very relaxing with free use of facilities which we used every day.

Entertainment team, Tomasz & Craig are very friendly & really good at entertaining their guests, great programme if you want to get involved.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was great, best meal in the hotel, lots to choose from. We only ate lunch at the pool bar but with a menu for choice and brilliant service from Davide & his team we enjoyed it. Two of us really enjoyed the a là carte restaurant but we were surprised that there was no menu, no option for what you ate.

The biggest bug bearer for us which i've also raised with Thomas Cook was on our first evening upon arrival to the buffet restaurant we were totally belittled in front of other guests by the restaurant greeter, this was due to men not wearing full length trousers (3/4 or ankle length smart trousers weren't allowed) the Thomas Cook brochure or hotel website does not state formal dress wear.

We were given an inclusive programme upon check in but after waiting 3 hours in the hotel for the 2nd room to be ready we hadn't had the chance to read the programme. The first room which was ready overlooked the 2nd which reception advised hadn't been cleaned, we could see directly into the room - the beds were made and room appeared vacant but we were still made to wait.
After an early morning flight and wearing the same clothes for 12 hours it wasn't a top priority to read the all inclusive programme.

Regardless, this doesn't allow for the service we received, certainly not four star. Due to the behaviour of the male staff member in the restaurant we were promised a bottle of Champagne from the hotel.... Still waiting. We only ate in the buffet restaurant on 3 occasions due to this treatment but the food which was on offer was only ok, nothing spectacular.

Worth while to mention If your a member of Phillips bike team you can wear what you like to the restaurant on an evening, staff are more than happy to let you in.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday & credit where its due to Manu, Davide, Tomasz, Craig, the bar staff in the pool bar & blue bar, maid service and the concierge.

The management does need to consider that if we are good enough to pay the price of the hotel like other guests we're also good enough to receive the same treatment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashley2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned home today from this amazing hotel, me and my partner stayed from 2nd june-9th june. Our room was on the 2nd floor and from the moment we arrived we were blown away. The receptionist was very helpful and polite. The hotel was immaculate. Views were out of this world beautiful to sit on your balcony or up in the blue bar admiring the sunset. Food was great, lots of choice and snacks throughout the day were also a plus! The beach is close by and the sea is crystal clear. I would recommend doing the boat trip to Palma, lovely! The Spa was also very nice using the sauna and the steam room after a long night was always refreshing.The room was always clean and beds made as were the towels changed. Me and my partner wanted to stay at a hotel which was contemporary and relaxing, we were very impressed and had a superb holiday here at the Punta Del Mar. We will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lindseyx88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for share your personal impressions on your recent stay in our SENTIDO PUNTA DEL BAR, it is great to know that we have covered your expectations and you enjoyed with us.

We also greatly appreciate your praising comments about our staff and service, our main goal is your satisfaction,we work daily to achieve maximum satisfaction.

Thank you for mentioning the stunning views from the BLUE BAR and the room, all our room have a sea views.

it would be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Majorca.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the moment we stepped into the cool calm reception area we knew we were somewhere special. Greeted by truly stunning views of Santa Ponsa bay we were welcomed with a cold glass of orange and a friendly smile. Our room on the third floor was like being at the front of an ocean liner, fabulous views of the sea and an added bonus of sun loungers. The rooms are fairly tight on space and with limited storage but were recently renovated so are fresh and clean with lovely spacious bathrooms. Who stays in their room anyway?
The food was fine with plenty of choice, not always piping hot, Spanish night was our favourite. The hotel staff were so helpful, especially when we hired our bikes! The restaurant staff too were wonderful.
Pool was a little small and very very cold but clean. The spa is a must,so relaxing and calming.
Our favourite hang out of all was the Blue Bar, on the roof, fantastic to lie on the beds listening to chill out music,drinking the cocktail of the day, or as our scottish ladies would say, `work area`, watching the sunset.
A short walk down into Santa Ponsa gives you a lovely safe beach and all the regular shops and bars. I do think that in July and August the laid back atmosphere may give way to a more Magaluf type feel.
We had a wonderful week despite some dodgy weather! Our expectations were exceeded and we will definitely be back next year. Thank you to the manager and your lovely staff.

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view, we had 325 and that was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Firstly I would like to give you my sincere gratefulness for spending your time to write your nice opinion about our hotel and staff.

It is very enjoyable to know that you enjoyed your holiday in all the aspects with us. Our philosophy is to receive and care for our guests from the first moment at SENTIDO PUNTA DEL MAR.

We also appreciate you reference about our restaurant, the meal is a very important point, and we try to give you the best quality and variety.

The views from the BLUE BAR are stunning, and it is a perfect place to relax with a cocktail or sangria.

We hope that our hotel will remain an option for your future holiday in Majorca.

Kind regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.8 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,074 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Property: SENTIDO Punta del Mar
Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing