We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No surprise, now gone from the scene”
Review of El Rodizio - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rodizio
Cuisines: Barbecue, Spanish, Steakhouse, Brazilian, South American
Dining options: Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No surprise, now gone from the scene”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a really awful meal here in September - 2013. We were the only two diners. Two very pleasant Argentinian lads cooking & serving. Very good salad bar - it was the meat [allegedly the places speciality] which was very poor indeed and barely edible. The meal was appallingly bad and it was obvious that the place wouldn't survive long. This restaurant was only open in this form for a couple of years.
Previously it had for 27 years been Paco's Special Restaurant - one of the better places to eat in Santa Ponsa and one of our favourites during our regular annual holidays in Santa Ponsa over the last 25 years. Was very glad to hear that the owning family of Paco's have taken control and re-opened again as Paco's so we'll be eating there in August.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crossgar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Steer clear”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had barbecue chicken and it was as tough as an old boot and dry. My daughter had bbq ribs - when she ordered them the Spanish waiter who couldn't speak much English went to great lengths to explain that the bbq sauce was out of a plastic contained like Tomato Ketchup! As she didn't fancy anything else on the menu she persevered. She paid for it as they ran straight through her and she spent the whole next day vomiting anything she tried to eat. My other daughter got Pork Fillet Steak and she quite enjoyed it. Service is extremely slow - we waited more than 30 minutes after ordering the food before it was served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Having eating at some great Brazilian steak houses (Fogo De Chau, ATL) this was just a complete disappointment. The setting is pretty horrible we were seated next to an old man stinking of body odour, smoking a cigar and watching the TV (spanish soap) really loudly. The salad bar was tiny, limited and very very dry. The best bit was the chimichuri which was nice. The "10" selection of meats was rubbish, I dont class pineapple as a meat and a hot dog sausage wrapped in chewy bacon with a bit of horrible cheese is not Brazilian OR edible. The waitress bought our drinks over then promptly left whilst I had to try and endure the endless chewy overdone meat with no further drink or water. After first two pieces of meat just wanted to pay and leave but with no waitress anywhere in site we managed, just, to stay to the end. I honestly advice you not to bother, it is just not nice at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simmo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calvia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT SELECTION”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I shared a mixed kebab and there was more than enough for two. We ate outside, which is not the most picturesque of locations, but we got caught up in the experience, joking with the staff, so forgot where we were. At here twice, and the staff remembered us and were most welcome. We are in the area for a while longer so will return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent steakhouse”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I visited this restaurante a few days ago with friends.I ordered the fillet steak and my friends chose the Sirloin,theirs was pretty good but mine was fantastic,I would go as far to say one of the best I have had.Argentinian beef is delicious.I can also recommend the house wine which was more than pallatable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrfussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rodizio also viewed

 
Santa Ponsa, Calvia
 
Santa Ponsa, Calvia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing