We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great time had :)”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My partner and I are recently back from spending a week in Santa Ponsa at the Rey don Jaime hotel.

Upon arriving, the hotel staff and Thomson reps were friendly and helpful. We were quickly checked in and made aware of our welcome meeting.

Our room was tidy and clean. We did have to pay 24 Euros for the safe (you get 3 back) and if you want a remote it is 10 Euros. (we never bothered) and the fridge is more money.

We were there at the start of may and this was a spanish holiday. If I were to go back I would go a week later to avoid this.

The rooms were tidied every day and the bedding and towels changed daily. Could not fault them for that.

The pool area was spotless as were the toilet facilities. In fact everywhere was always tidy and clean.

The food in the dining hall for breakfast and lunch was lovely, although i think the dinners could be improved, for the price that was paid. The snackbar was lovely too.

Max the entertainer was fantastic, very friendly. Everyone loved him. (although the entertainment was a bit dated)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    778
    353
    108
    80
See reviews for
723
1,039
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

stayed may 2-9 2013
half board

rooms were clean and furniture inside room was good condition. beds ok 3 singles with 2 pushed together shower was like a power shower. we had room at front (445) with a palm tree obscuring a bit of the view towards the beach ,which over looked astopitches and one way road.
this road is not a busy road nor is it a rat run. We did here the music from DUBLINER opposite when we sat on the balcony but once inside room no problem. the front did not get sun til very late so could not sit and sunbathe on our balcony

AIRCON had it on for 2 nights ruunung during the night but it did nothing to lower the room temp all it did was make a noise so just switched it off

breakfast typical 3* but did have black pudding

Dinner 5 nights we managed to find something we could eat
other 2 nights poor
No seperate cart with kids food so kids might struggle

note if not all incl the water on your table cost 3,10 EURU
water/wine have been on table for a long time and are uncorked/water opened and are quite warm not sure how much they charged fot the wine

when you go in dinning room food in the left side was always warm as the heating lights seemed stronger than the ones heating the food on the other side which ofen seemed cooler resulting in food that was not hot enough, but you could use the microwave

pool side plenty of loungers but this was the start of the season

This hotel has LOADS of Spanish OAPS over from Murcia, Alicante and Barcelona at this time of year so be warned as they do take up most of the rooms in the hotel as they get it cheap from Spanish gov. do not know how the spanish gov can afford this.

if not AI 2 half pints of lager will cost you a steep 5.80 euro

EUROSKI super market two of these are located on the same road close to each other only a 3-5 min walk away from the hotel turn right out of hotel then right again at the end of the hotel straight up to main road. 1st one is on your left 2nd further up road 1min on your right

SMELL as you walk toards the beach from the hotel you will pass what seems to be a water treatment station which does smell as you walk past it, nothing that made you sick just a smelly whiff that we did smell on the days we had at the pool as this plant is directly opposite the bottom end of the pool area
there is no river that runs past this hotel as mentioned in a previous report there is a concrete flood way that had no water in it at this time of year and it runs out to the sea so should not ever have dirty smelly water in it. The smell comes from the water plant.

Hotel is 2 min walk from beach.
when you turn left at bottom or road to prom you will see a guy sitting in a wheel chair in a salsa bar one night we sat oposite and decided to go over and sit inside BEWARE. Girl came over got our order 2 cokes in a botttle she arrived with cokes then later brought bill 9.40 EUROS.
go up to Floozies for a cheap drink

night time acts not up to much and did not comee on till 22.00

Hotel is in a good positon in santa ponsa

would i return not sure like to try differant places

PALMA airport had to get on a bus from air plane to airport bus goes along a one way system so takes a few minutes and you have to wait on the whole plane disembarking same when flying out and can see this leading to delays on peak seasonand hot inside buses with not many seats most people are standing
Check in has changed and is now one snaking que to checkin 36-47 much quicker now
still very hot inside airport so hope you are not delayed

Room Tip: room to road side do not get much sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank primera786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few days this week for a small meeting and overall the hotel is fine. Okay food, good location and close enough to the resorts of Palma Nova / Maguluf and nearby Palma which is 15 minutes away. Rooms are clean, fairly basic - however the power shower in the bathroom is first class. There was a large senior citizen congress on whilst I was there meaning that the bar / lounge area was totally taken over with Spanish senior citizens meaning that a quiet drink was just not possible. Worth checking with the hotel about any such convention before hand. On a final note, the hotel has no carpets in the rooms or corridors (typically Spanish) so you have to be prepared for noise from late returning guests. On the whole, the hotel is fine.

Room Tip: It's a quiet location anyway, sop doesnt really matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed in April for 2 nights. Rooms were basic but comfortable. We were half board, meals were varied and nice. Good value for money. Very central location. Pool looked nice but to cold to use (the weekend we went it rained, believe it was good weather before we arrived and after we left!). It was very busy with Spainish pensioners!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 000Rach000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend (aged 18 and 19 at the time) went to this hotel last year. We thought it was fab! The location is absolutely perfect, literally 5 minute walk (if that) to the beach, bars, shops and restaurants. The beach is stunning and massive! Sun beds are v expensive but thats the case everywhere. There are watersports too, we went on a pedalo which was a laugh! We stayed AI and found the food and drink absolutely brilliant, couldnt fault it at all although I preferred breakfast to evening dinner because some evenings nothing really stood out to me, I ended up choosing something because I had to but I find that this happens at most hotels. There was always plenty of room in the restaurant, it never felt over crowded. Evening entertainment is great, so much fun! Starts off with the kids disco (we were usually still having dinner when this was on but caught the end some nights and the children looked like they were having a ball!) then they do bingo bongo, followed by a quiz, followed by an entertainment act. All were great, we actually stayed in the hotel every night and made the most of the AI cocktail menu! The only downside is, we went in May so it was still a bit too cool for outdoor entertainment so it was held in the bar area but this isn't the biggest and we found if we didn't get there early enough we would really struggle for seats. There is the option to sit outside though and listen in so that's good. The hotel itself is very modern, clean and bright. The pool area is lovely and all sunbeds get the sun during the day. Unfortunately, I wasn't overly impressed with the rooms, they were very old fashioned and small but the bathrooms are nice and an average size. I would highly recommend this hotel! Perfect for everyone but I would say the majority of guests were families and older couples.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlxx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Was at this hotel twice last year and had a great time. the staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us the reception staff were fantastic and the entertainment was great Max is great at his job whether entertaing kids or adults.Night life is great and only a short walk to the bars. looking forward to going again this year and meeting the staff again
K Beattie Glasgow

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Last year we went with our 2 children, both were 14/15, they had a whale of a time, took them at least say give or take 4-5 days to settle in, and make friends, but they enjoyed which is always a good sign, Max works so hard at his job and is always hilarious! so much for you to do, nightly bingo and quiz! pool table for the kids to play, food is spectacular! light walk to the beach, also Western Water Park is a very good place to take your kids they will love it

Room Tip: Not too close to the pool area if you sleep early! can be quite noisy, but who would sleep early wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaydee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#36 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,806 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Property: Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing