We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Check In - Quick and efficient, the staff were friendly and helpful. Bit of a rip off that you have to hire a kettle and fridge etc but as its a half board/all inclusive hotel it wasn't too bad and we didn't miss having them.

The Hotel - first impression was that it was clean and very modern. Lots of sitting areas in the main reception. The hotel has 4 lifts which is needed at meal times as it can be quite busy. The rooms could be doing with an update (reason for 4 stars and not 5) but they were clean and nice and cool so not all bad. The pool are was great, clean and lots of loungers. Seemed to be good activities for kids and adults although I much preferred lying at the pool. For those who book with Thomsons the reps are the best! So friendly and helpful and a great presence in the hotel.

Location - Fantastic, 2 seconds to the beach which is a bit windy during the day so only went once. 4.50 Euros for a lounger which is the average. Lots of shops/supermarkets/pubs and restaurants all in walking distance. Lots of good Irish pubs with live music.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,607 - 1,613 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just spent a week half board at the Rey Don Jaime, the hotel was spotless throughout, there was plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner, however we took our own T-bags as we find hotels use poor quality tea and I also took a jar of jam to breakfast as those small individual jams are tasteless. The hotel has an excellent position just minutes from the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. We had a room at the reception side of the hotel, unfortunately you do not get sun on the balcony till late afternoon, the view was across the resort to apartments/houses which was okay and we experienced no noise what so ever and slept well every night. We took our own travel kettle as they charge 12 euros for 1 week and 20 euros for 2 weeks to hire one. The staff were very friendly and we got excellent information at reception of places to visit using the bus service. The pool area is large and there were plenty of sun loungers, umbrellas and chairs, however we went in low season not sure if there would be enough in high season. We had an excellent holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel and the resort.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel get more sun, rooms overlooking the pool get the best views. Take own travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

returned today from a 7 night stay and loved every second of our holiday. Have read some negative comments and all i can think is people are to picky. Food was great im a fussy eater so is my 8 year old son and we never went hungry i only struggled one night but stuck to salad and chips that 1 night other nights included carverys of beef/pork/turkey and gammon with all the trimmings breakfasts were one of the best ive had in mallorca and ive stayed at a lot of hotels 1 tip dont rush in at 8am wait till maybe 8 20 all teh food is brought out at 7 40 and by 8am eggs can be cold by 8 20 they are re-filled.Hotel is clean and tidy could do with more comfortable seating in reception rooms are nice we overlooked another hotel at the side of the don jamie wasnt ideal but not worth complaing if you are unhappy reception will move you with no hasstle , All staff are excellent happy,friendly and do there best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Location great not in the heart on the strip but 2 mins walk away with a bus stop 5 mins away taxis are cheap as well 8 euros to magaluff 10 to palma nova. Thompsons Reps are FANTASTIC Nikki knows her stuff ! Amy is friendly and helpfull BUT JAMIE is the best rep i have ever had the pleasure of meeting worlds cannot describle how lovley this guy is. Tip ... if you like to go to sleep early of have young children ask for a high room away from the pool and bar area as the entertainment is very loud and goes on till after 12. all in all i would not hesitate to return to the rey don jamie i would go back tomorrow more than anything good base to explore....... TV remotes 10 euro deposit ....

Room Tip: high floors and away from pool bar area if you go to bed early with little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariesabel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The location is very nice, beach was ok, expensive beds on the beach, Tthe staff in this hotel did not want to be there, except for the thompson activity staff which were very good,
Tthe noise during the night was unbearable all you could hear was dogs barking, you had to drink their discusting all inclusive drinks to sleep at night.
The food was not very good it all tasted the same and always cold.we certainly would not go there again.
The lady serving and preparing snacks round the swimming pool is one to avoid her attitude stinks and was very rude.and served rubbish food.

Room Tip: very noisy over the restaraunt and very long walks to rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Think we stayed in another hotel to some previous reviewers. Perhaps it depends on what room you are staying in and what attitude you go with. The Don Jaime is a lovely Spanish hotel catering for all nationalities young and old alike. Please note ...if you don't want to be in a hotel with Spanish guests, stay and holiday at home and eat egg n chips...... As for the hotel, it was spotless. The service from all the staff was professional and friendly. Entertainment excellent (Max and Ros superb) and we enjoyed watching the same said Spanish pensioners dancing the night away...( give me that any day over a gang of British hens and stags)... We emailed ahead and politely asked for a pool view room on a high floor. And that's exactly what we got. room 478 ( probably the best room in hotel in our opinion) gorgeous view over the sea and sunshine on large balcony from 8am-8pm :0) The location was perfect. Quiet but still just a short walk to the strip. We were all inclusive and we feel it was great value for money .Drinks good measures and efficient bartenders so no queuing. Breakfast was a feast ,blackpudding, tomatoes( as well as beans) and even English bacon along side the Spanish bacon. If im honest dinner wasn't in the same class .altho we always found something to eat. Some of the dishes were a little bland and lacking in flavour. The only negative thing about the hotel is, we felt, was that the outside area around the pool wasn't big enough for the amount of people staying there .Plenty of sunbeds but not enough space to put them all out. It was our first time at the Don Jaime but if we could guarantee staying in room 478 we would be back like a shot. Thankyou Don Jaime staff we had a great holiday( the weather was great too)

Room Tip: room 478 everytime :0) Wraparound balcony so got the sun 12 hours a day and view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eviebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just back from a week at the Don Jaime. The foyer was lovely but was then disappointed with the rooms, they were quite small and dated, we had a view over another apartment block and roofs, not so good though they were spotless as was the whole hotel. The location was excellent 3 mins walk to beach and 5 mins walk over the small bridge to the strip. We stayed all inclusive and food & drink was very good though got a bit repetitive, although I find this in most all inclusives. All staff excellent. All in I really enjoyed the hotel and would certainely reccommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannyMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Nice clean hotel. We went early May and found it full of OAP Spanish ladies!! They were quite rude and never smiled, things got better when they all left and more younger couples arrived. The food and drinks were all of a good quality and they had plenty of choice. We stayed all inclusive and felt it was good value for money. Plenty of outside seating and sun loungers also a good pool bar and snack bar. Very close to the beach and a lovely quiet location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#18 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pirates VIllage
Pirates VIllage
#8 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £57 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing