We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

just got back today from a weeks stay at ray don jamie. Reception area was clean and very looked after staff were friendly too.

ROOMS!
okay but needed some tlc beds not bad had good nights sleep, but overall was a bog standard room.

POOL AREA
to many beds but not enough room but always got a good spot. pool was very very cold!!

FOOD
first few days was lovely after that was same thing everyday had to eat out.

MAX
what a guy always on the go keeps everyone happy old and young.

OVERALL
fantastic holiday loved santa ponsa and would return great hotel few bad points but thats just me. will put pictures up.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26kate36dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

stayed 4th - 11th june .... half - board ....We were delighted with the location of the hotel [ the beach is at the bottom of the road ] ... and we found the full english breakfast excellent [black pudding hash browns mushrooms baked beans plus your normal eggs bacon and sausage] it certainly filled you up till lunchtime.. the evening carvery was another thing we really enjoyed [especially the roast beef and pork] but their is also quite a big selection of other foods as well....we could always find something we liked ....I think the point raised about too many sunbeds is a valid one as they ended up all over the place by mid afternoon and it isnt the biggest of pools .. i could see it as a bigger problem when it gets busier.. we found all the staff very efficient and pleasant ..the hotel was kept very clean as well .... yes the bedrooms are a bit dated but we found them adequate for our needs.. Enjoyed our stay in Santa Ponsa which we found a very clean resort with plenty of bars and restaurants to suit all age groups .... we enjoyed Mactavishes which had tribute bands everynight {some better than others but a good night out} and Flozzies which was a bit quieter but very friendly... would certainly go back again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed 1 week at this hotel. It is very clean and well run, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom is outdated, difficult not to flood the floor after showering. The food was very good with ample choice. I did not like the swimming pool area although a nice pool, there seems to be too many beds for the size of the area. Entertainment was terrible, apart from the Spanish Dance evening which was good. Mad Max was very entertaining, bingo bongo every night got a bit boring. Would recommend this Hotel as average value for money.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor facing the front had no sun due to the trees in front of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nainy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel was clean, our room facing the front was Ok but nothing special the bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was dated.
The food was better than we expected for a mid range all inclusive with a decent selection at all the meals but the drinks were of very poor quality.
The clientelle were like something out of a holding pen for the Jeremy Kyle show or pensioners and the evening entertainment was dire,we went out after dinner every night or dissapeared up to our balcony.
Santa Ponsa is just another Costa Del Blackpool if that is your sort of thing,we will NOT return.

Room Tip: Go for the third/fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Myself, husband and our friends have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Rey Don Jaime. We had a good deal, because at the time of booking, Thomsons had a special deal of upgrading to all inclusive for 1p a day! Bargain.
The hotel is in a good position, being only a couple of minutes from the promenade.
We had a comfortable room on the first floor overlooking the front entrance. ( Room 160 ) Over the road was a sports park. It was quite pleasant to sit on the balcony before dinner to enjoy the evening sun and watch the world go by.
All the meals were good but some meat dishes tasted a bit bland. There was a good choice of fresh vegetables and some tasty soups. At breakfast real English bacon was on offer and it was the best bacon I have ever had on holiday....just a pity I only tried it on the last two days!
There were plenty of stacks of sunbeds around the pool but not a lot of space to put them in. We would have gone to the beach more often but thought the price of the beds on the beach were a bit high at €4:50 each. ( we only wanted them for a couple of hours in an afternoon.)

The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss. The Beatles tribute band were excellent, both their singing and music and they had the right stage presence too. Karaoke night was a laugh, so too was the Miss Excellence night. The people who left early before it had started missed a funny show. As mentioned by previous reviewers, Max is really good...but does he have to be so loud?

Finally, thank you to all the staff. You all work long hours, but still serve and look after everyone curtiously and patiently. A credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel has the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 26th May to 2nd June 2013.

When we arrived check in was done very quickly. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

About a week before we travelled, i emailed the hotel to request a low floor and pool view and two rooms next to each other. When we arrived at our rooms we got exactly what we requested at no extra cost, brilliant. We also requested extra pillows and these were delivered to our room within the hour. Rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard.

Pool area and the rest of the hotel was very clean and well maintained.

Breakfast was excellent. People has complained in previous reviews about meals at dinner but we always found something that we liked.

If you want wifi in your room and the rest of the hotel there is a charge of 20 euros for the week but you can only run one device at any one time. We also hired a remote control at a cost of 10 euros which we got back when returned at the end of the holiday. TV has a good selection of english tv channels.

Also there is a kiddies play park over the road from the hotel.

The beach is about a five minute walk from the hotel and also very close to shops, bars and restaurants.

Santa Ponsa is a excellent resort and we would certainly return to the Rey Don Jaime Hotel and Santa Ponsa.

Excellent holiday had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

the hotel offers great entertainment throughout the day,great fun for old and young alike..mad max is brilliant with bingo bongo...kids will love the entertainers...go the extra all inclusive well worth the extra...
we will be on our 6th year this year...

Room Tip: go asll in clusive well worth it.... also go vip for pirates excellent entertainment...also get to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#34 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pirates VIllage
Pirates VIllage
#8 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
1,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#11 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £56 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing