We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“SPOT ON” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SPOT ON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

After booking this hotel only 1 week in advance of going I was looking forward to getting to the resort and relaxing with my wife and son for 10 days and was not disappointed. Getting from the airport to the hotel on the shuttle only took 25mins and upon arrival the check inn to get your wristband was quite quick so no sitting round ,all the staff at reception spoke real good English so event the broadest of accents could be understood. My room was only on the second floor so could walk to it however there is 4 lifts to use if needed. The rooms were very clean and tidy and were cleaned every day with fresh towels to use even the floors were moped and disinfected every day. The pool area and the hotel itself was also kept very clean more so than other hotels with more stars than this one the entertainment for the kids is second to none even though my son was to old to join the kids club lots of kids joined in and the girl who took care of them was very good at her job there was family games trough out the day for every one to get involved in and we did the entertainment guy was exhalent his job also making sure we all had a good time.
Some times the entertainment at night was just a little holiday park for me with bingo and alike but there was shows and bands on after that also we saw a comedian on one night and he if on again is not to be missed. The bar staff are really friendly and very quick to serve so not much time stood at the bar as all inclusive the drinks and branded but it was ok apart from the cocktails as they are from a cocktail vending machine behind the bar (don't ask) the Mojito tasted like mouth. The area is very accessible for disabled users and even a hoist at the side of the pool as for the food I can not give enough praise the breakfast was perfect from fruit to cooked every thing you could want with no waiting for a seat as large dining area dinner and lunch also spot on very large selection of food and if you like roast beef and Yorkshire puds well you wont be disappointed I was given nearly half a cow on my plate the choice for vegetarians isn't that good though but there is a selection for them. Drinks at the dining table is collected from the bar in the room and you can get large bottled water wine beer and pop for you table condiments also available if you want them. The staff in here are very quick to take away your plates how ever don't look happy if you waist food which is only right why should you put mountains of food on your plate when you can go back as many times as you like (TAKE WHAT YOU CAN EAT AND EAT WHAT YOU TAKE ). There are pool tables and tv rooms for the kids as well as games and pinball and a little park just outside for small children tennis and football courts over the road if you want them. I really can not find any faults with this hotel at all unlike my next review for a hotel I stopped in a week later please read my review on that one???? .To some up this a great hotel and under rated star wise if you are looking for a hotel next to the beach with no noise and something for every one this is it .

Room Tip: All rooms ok as no noise round hotel after 12.30 am anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Litronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    687
    310
    96
    70
See reviews for
658
884
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

just got back today from a weeks stay at ray don jamie. Reception area was clean and very looked after staff were friendly too.

ROOMS!
okay but needed some tlc beds not bad had good nights sleep, but overall was a bog standard room.

POOL AREA
to many beds but not enough room but always got a good spot. pool was very very cold!!

FOOD
first few days was lovely after that was same thing everyday had to eat out.

MAX
what a guy always on the go keeps everyone happy old and young.

OVERALL
fantastic holiday loved santa ponsa and would return great hotel few bad points but thats just me. will put pictures up.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26kate36dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

stayed 4th - 11th june .... half - board ....We were delighted with the location of the hotel [ the beach is at the bottom of the road ] ... and we found the full english breakfast excellent [black pudding hash browns mushrooms baked beans plus your normal eggs bacon and sausage] it certainly filled you up till lunchtime.. the evening carvery was another thing we really enjoyed [especially the roast beef and pork] but their is also quite a big selection of other foods as well....we could always find something we liked ....I think the point raised about too many sunbeds is a valid one as they ended up all over the place by mid afternoon and it isnt the biggest of pools .. i could see it as a bigger problem when it gets busier.. we found all the staff very efficient and pleasant ..the hotel was kept very clean as well .... yes the bedrooms are a bit dated but we found them adequate for our needs.. Enjoyed our stay in Santa Ponsa which we found a very clean resort with plenty of bars and restaurants to suit all age groups .... we enjoyed Mactavishes which had tribute bands everynight {some better than others but a good night out} and Flozzies which was a bit quieter but very friendly... would certainly go back again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed 1 week at this hotel. It is very clean and well run, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom is outdated, difficult not to flood the floor after showering. The food was very good with ample choice. I did not like the swimming pool area although a nice pool, there seems to be too many beds for the size of the area. Entertainment was terrible, apart from the Spanish Dance evening which was good. Mad Max was very entertaining, bingo bongo every night got a bit boring. Would recommend this Hotel as average value for money.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor facing the front had no sun due to the trees in front of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nainy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worksop
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel was clean, our room facing the front was Ok but nothing special the bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was dated.
The food was better than we expected for a mid range all inclusive with a decent selection at all the meals but the drinks were of very poor quality.
The clientelle were like something out of a holding pen for the Jeremy Kyle show or pensioners and the evening entertainment was dire,we went out after dinner every night or dissapeared up to our balcony.
Santa Ponsa is just another Costa Del Blackpool if that is your sort of thing,we will NOT return.

Room Tip: Go for the third/fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Myself, husband and our friends have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Rey Don Jaime. We had a good deal, because at the time of booking, Thomsons had a special deal of upgrading to all inclusive for 1p a day! Bargain.
The hotel is in a good position, being only a couple of minutes from the promenade.
We had a comfortable room on the first floor overlooking the front entrance. ( Room 160 ) Over the road was a sports park. It was quite pleasant to sit on the balcony before dinner to enjoy the evening sun and watch the world go by.
All the meals were good but some meat dishes tasted a bit bland. There was a good choice of fresh vegetables and some tasty soups. At breakfast real English bacon was on offer and it was the best bacon I have ever had on holiday....just a pity I only tried it on the last two days!
There were plenty of stacks of sunbeds around the pool but not a lot of space to put them in. We would have gone to the beach more often but thought the price of the beds on the beach were a bit high at €4:50 each. ( we only wanted them for a couple of hours in an afternoon.)

The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss. The Beatles tribute band were excellent, both their singing and music and they had the right stage presence too. Karaoke night was a laugh, so too was the Miss Excellence night. The people who left early before it had started missed a funny show. As mentioned by previous reviewers, Max is really good...but does he have to be so loud?

Finally, thank you to all the staff. You all work long hours, but still serve and look after everyone curtiously and patiently. A credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel has the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 26th May to 2nd June 2013.

When we arrived check in was done very quickly. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

About a week before we travelled, i emailed the hotel to request a low floor and pool view and two rooms next to each other. When we arrived at our rooms we got exactly what we requested at no extra cost, brilliant. We also requested extra pillows and these were delivered to our room within the hour. Rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard.

Pool area and the rest of the hotel was very clean and well maintained.

Breakfast was excellent. People has complained in previous reviews about meals at dinner but we always found something that we liked.

If you want wifi in your room and the rest of the hotel there is a charge of 20 euros for the week but you can only run one device at any one time. We also hired a remote control at a cost of 10 euros which we got back when returned at the end of the holiday. TV has a good selection of english tv channels.

Also there is a kiddies play park over the road from the hotel.

The beach is about a five minute walk from the hotel and also very close to shops, bars and restaurants.

Santa Ponsa is a excellent resort and we would certainly return to the Rey Don Jaime Hotel and Santa Ponsa.

Excellent holiday had by all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#8 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel

Property: Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing