We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Stay - It's Perfectly Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Third Stay - It's Perfectly Fine”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at the Rey Don Jaime for 11 nights All Inclusive. This was our third stay at the Rey Don Jaime within three years.

When we first arrived the lovely reception staff allowed us to have a look at two rooms so we could decide which one we would like to stay in. Although this was only offered to us after we mentioned it was our third stay.We chose a room on the third floor which was parallel to the stage out back. This meant a) Good view of the entertainment and a good view overall b) If we ever wanted to get an early night or relax in our room at night we could hear the entertainment which was pretty loud at times.

The food at breakfast was brilliant as always. A lovely choice of British cooked food and cereal. However this year I felt lunch and dinner was a bit of a hit & miss. However when it was good, it was good! If there was one suggestion I would love the hotel to take on-board it would be to LABEL ALL THE FOOD AND LABEL IT PROPERLY. One of my family who was traveling with us is currently pregnant and has to watch what she is eating and that was extremely difficult when food wasn't labeled or the label wasn't detailed enough. There was one instance where she was about to eat a salad when we alerted her to the fact that there was sea food in it. She was unaware of this as the dish was not labeled. However, we could always find something to eat and the head chef was very funny and had lots of banter.

The hotel rooms were great and very clean thanks to the good work of the cleaning staff who were very friendly. The air-con in the room is fantastic.

We had no issue with the shortage of deck chairs as we always went to the beach which was literally a five minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel is in a great location and is very central to mostly everything!

We never took part in any of the daytime activities but the entertainment team always made a great job of entertaining the kids and adults during the day and deserve a lot of credit!

The WiFi is €20 for one week BUT it only runs on ONE device so if you have children who have multiple iPods or iPads it can be quite costly.

On our last day we had a very early flight but the staff were kind enough to open the restaurant for us so we could have some breakfast.

The hotel were also kind enough to give me a bottle of champagne on my birthday!

I've given it 4 stars (green circles if we're being pedantic!) but if I could award half stars (half green circles) I would give it 3.5 stars. All in all, it is a great hotel and I would advise travelers, especially those with children, to give it a chance! The kids will love it. I would definitely go back, but maybe not for some time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    756
    343
    103
    78
See reviews for
693
1,008
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

returned from rey don Jaime last Friday after ten of the best days holiday ever were a family off six and two grandchildren the food for a 3star hotel was excellent all inclusive drinks package excellent the entertainment team made this holiday special our party happily joined in with all the fun and games and had a ball the energy shown bye the entertainment team has to be seen to be believed I could not fault this hotel I would recommend this hotel to any family if you you join in the fun you will love this hotel I did not count the sunbeds or parasols I was to busy enjoying my self

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraser352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurreyMBAGuy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Typical British/German package holiday resort, and you truly do get what you pay for. A rather spartan but clean hotel with basic amenities. The aircon didn't work while we were staying there and it wasn't fixed even after we complained, but considering the weather wasn't so hot, we didn't think it was worth making a very big deal about it. Rooms are clean, housekeeping is punctual and good. The food is again typical of these resorts, catering to British/German tourists with very little Spanish food. Entertainment is low-brow with the usual singers and evening quizzes etc. All in all, it's ok if you want a cheap place to stay while you go about doing your own thing on the island and don't spend too much time at the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room facing "away" from the pool or the entertainment in the evening will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyMBAGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Rey Don Jaimee. Check in fine, reception areas fine, room with balcony great. Plenty of choice as far as food is concerned although the restaurant was similar to a large school dinner hall. On our first evening we had to ask what the procedure was in the restaurant as we were not given any information.There was no table service not even for drinks, wine was served from a bar by the glass and left a lot to be desired. The outdoor area was the most disappointing of all, it was packed full of sunbeds that you were barely able to walk between and hardly any shade! The hotel caters for 900 guests but has only 390 sunbeds and 63 parasols crammed into a small space around a small swimming pool. Luckily there is a lovely beach nearby with plenty of sunbeds and parasols for €13.50 per day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank partyleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked a triple room at Rey Don Jaime at the last minute via Thomson - we were quickly running out of options, and it was the last remaining affordable and decent-looking place.

To be honest, we weren't disappointed. For £400 for a week it was never going to be the Ritz, but the room was clean and good quality and serviced every day; the food was adequate (I decided to stay away from a couple of the meat dishes, but the rest was excellent and there was a huge choice for every course); the reception staff were really helpful and the pool and outdoor facilities were fine, if a little short on parasols.

Overall, our stay was great and I'd be perfectly happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Rey Don Jaime for 1 week all inclusive in August 2013. We are a young couple who just wanted a cheap all inclusive holiday by the beach. On this the hotel really delivered.

I have found most of the reviews on here to be accurate. In brief this is our honest opinion -

Rooms and hotel -
Very clean, maid service every day, staff are brilliant, all speak good English and are always smiling, quick clearing of tables in dining room. Bedroom was fine, we had a road view but it was very quiet.

Food -
Overall it wasn't great. Breakfast was a big selection of English fry up, toast, cereals, pastries, fruit and continental. Lunch and dinner very hit and miss. Food sometimes cold. Puddings were mainly weird jelly creations.

Pool and entertainment -
Nice pool, the sun bed queue was ridiculous. Pool doors open at 8.30 and we were told some people queue from 7am!! Not enough beds for everyone. Entertainment good for the kids, very loud and constant.

Location -
Very nice beach literally 5 mins walk. Beautiful views. Lots of little shops, chemist, supermarket etc.

Be warned - there is a disgusting sewage smell from the hotel next door which wafts across from time to time. Horrible.

We would go back to Santa Ponsa but not this hotel. However, it's cheap and cheerful, good drinks selection for all inclusive and close to lovely beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Went back to Rey Don Jaime for our third time and was a little disappointed with the food this year as the quality had dropped a little but is still above a 3 star all inclusive.MAX and ROS are the stars of this hotel without them we would not go back there,they work so hard each and every day as do all the team and always have a smile on their faces and always will stop and talk to guests the areFABULOUS.if you don't enjoy The Rey it will be your own fault

Room Tip: 472 has a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,074 reviews
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#10 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Property: Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing