We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I have just returned from a two week holiday at the hotel Rey Don Jaime in Santa Ponsa, Mallorca. Both my family and the family that I was also travelling with agreed that the hotel was one of the best we have visted in years.

The rooms were clean and spacious but lacked enough storage space. The rooms did not have the best views from the balcony but they wern't terrible by any means. The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels and sheets; the maids were friendly and helpful.

The food in the hotel was fantastic! It ranged from chips to stuffed aubergines! Some nights were themed Italian and Spanish. The amount of food on offer was immense; sometimes we found ourselves having about three meals in one night! The waitresses were helpful and friendly. On one night the hotel arranged for a birthday cake to be made for my sister and they presented it to her during dinner singing happy birthday.

The pool was fantastic but you do have to get up early if you want a chance to a good position and sunbeds round it. Their is a kids club on offer and games during the day round the pool e.g team olympics.The beach was 100m away and was pure white sand with loads of sunbeds on offer. Jet skis and pedalos are also on offer.

There is loads to do at night. The hotel has a fantastic entertainment team who arrange shows everynight either performed by themselves or professionals. Everynight their is bingo and a quiz.....watch out for Mad Max he is hilarious!!

Outside the hotel their is restaurants and shops galour! I assure you that you will not be bored.

This hotel had nearly no bad points and I am assuring you that this hotel will not be a disapointment. We deeply enjoyed ourselves here and hope that you will too.

  • Liked — Close to all amenities.
  • Disliked — Rush to claim sunbeds round the pool.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GaryHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    759
    344
    105
    79
See reviews for
699
1,012
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We had an excellent time at the Marina Rey Don Jaime 16/8/08 to 23/8/08. Food was fantastic with a good selection. The staff were very polite and friendly and the entertainers good and welcoming. we were "lucky" to get a lounger by the pool as there was normally a queue at 7.30 am every morning, we would always get a bed at 9 ish without any problems albeit they were probably not in the best spots. we did 'nt stay in every night but saw a couple of shows that were good particularly the 4 tops tribute band. we normally eat out on holiday but the food was so good we stayed in most nights. the rooms were clean and a good standard and with a good air conditioning system at no extra cost. the Hotel is situated close to beach and bars etc. I would recommend it and i can see why people return year upon year

  • Liked — Cleanliness and food quality
  • Disliked — Not enough rooms with sea/pool view
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2008

just back from the rey don jaime it was just fab what a children team they worked so hard even though it was so hot Max was mad but great we all loved his shakey shakey in his bingo . my 9 year old daughter loved it the pool was really big and lots 2 do
in the night there is a kids disco and party games.the food had something 2 offer for everyone it was a good choice the rooms were cleaned everyday with clean towels hotel staff really friendly would recomend this hotel brill the theme parks are really good so much to see really brill rides and water slides
we all had a fab and would go back to this hotel again which we never done before becose it was that good hope u have a good time


love kath,john,kaylee

  • Liked — lovely pool clean rooms good food
  • Disliked — more sun shades
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Just returned from a weeks holiday in the Rey Don Jaime with a friend. Had a lovely, relaxing holiday.
Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Our room was spacious & comfortable. As mentioned in other reviews some rooms don't have amazing views but as we spent the whole day by the pool or at the beach this wasn't a problem.
The restaurant had lots of choice for both breakfast & dinner.
Sunbeds - people do queue quite early in the morning for their prime spot by the pool. This didn't effect us as their was only two of us we never found it a problem to find a space somewhere. But if you are a family and you want to be close to the the pool edge then you would need to get up early to get your sunbeds. Also pool isn't as big as it looks in the brochure but this wasn't a big issue.
The entertainment staff were amazing providing activities from 11 to 4 each day for young children, teenagers & adults. Then in the evening they continue with the entertainment including professional acts on some of the nights. Travelling home yesterday the most comments made were how the entertainment staff made their holiday.
Hotel is 3 mins walk to the beach which is lovely. Also where all the shops are. This hotel is the perfect location for shops, bars & the beach.
Really wish we'd booked to stay 2 weeks. Would def recommend to family & friends and would also return myself.
Apparently they are due to give the hotel inside ( outside was done recently) a refurb in the winter so I can imagine that next year the hotel will be even better.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, fun & lively
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raoSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Have just returned from the Rey Don Jaime Hotel after the best holiday we have ever had. We had looked at the reviews before we went there and were slightly dubious about some of the comments but can honestly say we cannot find a single thing to complain about. The room was a perfect size for 2 plus teenage daughter and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. There were so many options we did not know what to choose. Others have complained of the sewage smell - we only noticed it once and that was on first arrival to Santa Ponsa. We did not get bitten by mosquitos at all, in fact did not even see any!! The entertainment was second to none, so much so that we only went out once the whole time we were there as there was no need to do anything else. The entertainment gang were fantastic, catering for toddlers, teenagers and adults and ensuring no one felt bored. What a variety - tribute bands, hypnotist, dance acts etc etc. And if you miss all your soaps while on holiday, the English pub in the hotel shows them all on the big screen. I can honestly say that we have just had the best holiday we have ever had and can't wait to return next year.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of room, pool, whole hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fpitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Arrived home today after only booking a week before travelling. I hope this review is helpful especially to families with children. Short transfer from airport which was great as travelling with 5 year old. Reception staff very helpful and welcoming even though we were checking in at 3.30am.
Our room didn't have a very good view but we requested room change and were moved the next day to a room on 4th floor with nice view. Rooms basic, we had 2 single beds which we put together then the third bed was put in for our son, this does take up quite a bit of room but adequate. Didn't hire a fridge as 25 euros per week, paid 33 euros to hire safe for 11 days.
Pool looks bigger in brochure to actual size (I have uploaded pictures of pool and hotel) but very clean and excellent for children as separate childrens pool and main pool is quite shallow at one end so very safe for children, my 5 yr old could easily walk in up to half way across main pool. As only one exit point from pool area through hotel very safe for children. Be warned there are limited sunbeds in high season and we had to queue every morning to get beds around childrens pool, some people queued from 7.30am but doors not opened until 8.30.
Other people mentioned problems with mosquitos in the area, we have never been bitten before but we both had a few bites which can get very itchy, my son didn't get bitten once. There is a chemist near the hotel that sells antiseptic sticks, the chemist gets very busy! lol
Hotel entertainment team fantastic- could not fault them in any way, they give all the children plenty of attention and plenty to do all day. There isn't an actual kids club at the hotel but they do run sessions for little ones during the day by the stage area. Plenty of activities for older kids, teens and adults to take part in during the day. Nightly entertainment great, my son loved the Disney show and all children can take part if they want to. Drinks very exp in hotel -1 bottle of Smirnoff ice just under 5 euros, however the local supermarket sells bottles for 2.25 euros each.
Food - buffet had plenty of choice and food high standard. Only point I would mention is that if you have very fussy eaters that only like fish fingers, burgers etc there is limited choice for children. My son enjoyed the fresh fish, chicken etc and they have chips, mash, jacket potatoes,rice, veg etc.
Hotel is in excellent location 2 min walk to beach and shops, small childrens park right outside hotel.
I would recommend going to Marineland, we had a fantastic day with dolphin and sea lion shows and plenty of photo opportunities, there is a free bus service from a nearby hotel, then we got a taxi back (10 euros).
We had a great holiday with fantastic weather. The hotel is suitable for all ages from the very young to elderly, if you like a quiet holiday without children running around then this hotel might not be for you as is very family focused. Excellent

  • Liked — The entertainment
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILuvHolidays-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Last year I wrote a review in response to some adverse comments . We have been to this hotel on 3 previous occasions but this year was the best yet. Previously we had travelled as a couple or with other adults and had used the hotel as a base for Santa Ponsa and surrounding area. This year we took our 7 year old grandaughter and hardly left the complex.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The buffet meals are plentiful and provide a wide selection. The entertainment staff were excellent and worked very hard. The evening shows were also of a high standard.
If you need to leave the hotel the nearby beach is top quality and the Spanish Square is worth an evening visit .
Another excellent holiday and we will be going again.

  • Liked — Very pleasant overall environment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,074 reviews
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Property: Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing