We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“o.k.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“o.k.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 13th-27th May 2014. On arrival quick check in but we were the only ones arriving, we were told pool view an extra 15 euros a day so didn't bother. Room was clean a bit dated old tele but a couple of English stations. Room overlooked the road which actually was a good view if you didn't want to pay extra for pool view, but even pool view some were side on not full view, we were on 3rd floor couldn't see the sea, but if you like football you could hear the game very well in the football ground opposite. First meal we had was evening not very impressive and not much choice of veg, most evenings there was a roast on, that was good. Sweets always the same, if you look at the website and see themed evenings we didn't get one and the food was never presented like that. Breakfast did have English bacon, the rest was very average, not topped up quick enough and did seem to be cooked and kept in the oven, breakfast was 8-10am I did ask for croissant just after 9.30 and was told no finished. Lunch not very good our all incl was part of the deal I wouldn't like to have paid extra for it. Pool snack bar was not good rubbish selection, it states till 6.pm, someone asked for a sandwich at 4pm and was told no finished, afternoon tea was the same 2 biscuits ever day, no pastries etc. Staff did multiple jobs the cheff always spoke. Bar staff and service good. Restaurant staff did'nt seem very happy especially the women. The maids were all friendly and spoke Pool was clean and we always got a sunbed. Entertainment every other evening some were ok, the rest of the time in house miss viva. mr viva etc. Bingo every evening. They did give us a courtesy room before we left. Would'nt go again.

Room Tip: looking onto main road or end pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    732
    328
    99
    72
See reviews for
676
952
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from a cruise and stay, and the stay, I must say was fab, I did read the reviews and thought, we'll go with the flow, and was pleasantly surprised, food I must say was always hot and really enjoyable, rooms were well maintained, clean towels everyday if required and rooms made on if required, staff very friendly and always saw reps around, all in all I had a great time and couldn't fault anything, didnt require a fridge so never had to pay for hire.

Room Tip: for ai rconditioning to kick in, balcony door needs to be closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Now in different hands. went to this hotel in Oct 2013 and had a really good time so booked for first 2 weeks in May this year. Boy what a difference. First week only catered for Spanish guests food was monotonous (to be polite) entertainment non existent. Second week many more British tourists arrived, unfortunately no improvement in food unless you want to live on burger and chips and not much to shout about with regards to entertainment. Many families and couples moved out for the reasons above.A ll in all would not recommend to my worst enemy.Please believe me find some where else.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I don't understand what people find to complain about, have they nothing else better to do.
The location was spot on for us, we were able to walk to the beach with ease, shops within easy reach, taxi and bus terminus around the corner, brilliant!
The food in the hotel was of good quality, nothing was ever cold, plenty of choice every meal-time, there was always something for everyone, even the fussy ones!!!
Hotel rooms were clean and tidy, pool area was always clean and we never had a problem getting a sun bed. The only thing we did have a moan about was the weather, it could've been warmer, but we did visit in May, so that was the risk we took. Overall a brilliant place to go, can't wait for our next holiday here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel ok location good food good rooms basic but ok staff very good. We spent a week at this location and felt really relaxed not one problem. It is ideal if you just want to relax and have the odd stroll around Santa Ponsa and visit the many British bars no hassle what ever

Room Tip: Just take the room allocated as you don't spend much time in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I must have been spoilt on previous Thomson holidays as I found the food at this hotel not to my liking.it just seemed that the menu was thrown together without much thought and found it hard to put a meal together.
The food was always luke warm and after a few days we noticed that burgers were on the menu every dinner and tea time.i have never been on an all inclusive holiday and had a choice of shepherds pie on the menu and Yorkshire puddings without the beef.The snacks at the bar also left a lot to be desired,burgers,chips hot dogs and make your own cheese toasties were on show everyday.
seems they cater for the over 70's who like traditional British food with hp sauce on the adjacent table.
we knew there would be surcharges for certain things and here they are.
Kettle was 12 euro,key to the fridge 3 euro a day,wi fi is 6 euro day but couldn't get any reception in the room.
on a better note the staff were very good and the Thomson reps couldn't be faulted.
it is fair to say I wont be going back to this hotel as I spent the price of the holiday again on eating out in the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

On arrival the check-in staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was very clean and more than adequate for us. Bedding was changed every three or four days with clean towels every day. The food in the hotel was very varied and of fairly good quality, there was always something to please most people. Although very early in the season there was a good selection of entertainment on. The Thomson reps were very good and there was always at least one available from about 8am till about 10pm. The animation team worked hard and tried to involve everybody in the activities during the day. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stockwood26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Property: Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Viva Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing