We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Read reviews before going was a little apprehensive as I was taking my grandson with us did not have to worry about anything as we could not fault the hotel food,pool,room and very clean all staff very pleasant and worked so hard to make your holiday.Yes it's 3star but we could not fault this hotel at all and big big thanks to kat she was very helpfull and we got home safe sound big kiss from wee Jay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaykack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    706
    320
    97
    71
See reviews for
667
922
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

we booked Rey don Jaime on the 23/5/14 came home 6/6/14 we all had a fantastic 2 week break in Rey don Jaime . we have been to this hotel 2 x before but it was 10 years ago . the hotel it self is very clean. the food was excellent for a 3* and the choice to choose from was fantastic, the first week was warm with a few clouds and the second week was really hot ! all the staff in this hotel was lovely. all the staff worked really hard and it showed . some of the bar staff have been there for years and years ! the first week we had entertainment every day and that was brilliant second not so much ! bingo was very good money for 1 flyer but it was very hard to understand the caller ! The beach is just 2 min walk with lots & lots of shops. wifi in the hotel is £6 euro a day or go in to mcdonalds and use there wifi for free ! the swimming pool is lovely & big very cold first thing but does warm up with the sun . kids are not aloud to have any li lo in the pool or no plastic balls. but when the play the games in the afternoon it was alright for them to play with the hard ball and hitting people on the head and hit a lady as she was reading a book as we moaned they did change the ball. when u get your sun bed in the morning you have to que but if your gone more than 40 mins they take the towels off the bed and you have to collect them of the life guard ! as to let others use the beds so be aware ! we had a birthday and asked the chef if he would bake a cake for next week omg it was huge it tasted delicious and there was no charge. so thank you ! complements to the chef ! couldn't fault the reps at all Thompson reps was fantastic always there to help ! just want to say be careful out side the hotel is 2 woman trying to sell flowers they have stole money of few people we was talking to she came up to me I told her to do 1 and get lost ! she shouted back in Spanish I said whatever ! so be alert and also purses are being taken from bags so be aware ! we all had a wicked 2 weeks and deffo be coming back !!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marie983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have just spent 2 weeks here 19th may-2nd june an the only thing disapointing was the weather ,lots of cloud an little bit of rain but was still warm but do like blue skies.The location is very good not far from a lovely beach although sunbeds quite expensive at 4-50 euros per bed an same for brolly.The check in was very quick an we had a room at the back which we decided to see if we could change an this was no problem at all and got one at the front ,which was perfect for us.We had a lovely view with sun on the balcony in the evening an it was nice an quiet.Rooms basic but clean ,good English stations on tv if thats what you want.There was always a rep on hand should you need one an they were very nice an helpful.The food was good an lots of choices .a carvery nearly every night which was cooked beautifully ,always something for everyone even if your a fussy eater like me,would be nice if the dress code was no shorts at evening meal but thats my preference.Excellent entertainment every other night but on the other nights a bit rubbish an needs changing.Only one game of bingo every night which was good an also paid good money.The pool area was nice too many sunbeds close together but plenty of brollies .Drinks were good an bar staff quite nice .Overall a very good holiday an will definately go back an would just ignore the negative comments.Have a good hol if you go im sure you will .

Room Tip: sunny balcony at the front an nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having read the reviews about this hotel before we went we were very concerned. However we had a good time and found a lot of our concerns to be unfounded, yes the rooms are very dated but it was clean and comfortable and we spent very little time in our room. The food was OK some days better than others but we always found something that suited us to eat. The holiday reps were very good. Always plenty of sun beds but they are very close together, too close in fact. This is a family hotel so there are obviously lots of children here, we normally use couples only hotels and only problem was that there was nowhere for adults to get away from the kids. The resort is lovely plenty of shops and places to eat out if you wish, beautiful clean beach. Would we return again in the future, probably.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having read the reviews before we left for the airport I have to say I was more than apprehensive about our stay here. However I am pleased to say that we have just come home from a great week.
On arrival check in was friendly and quick, because we had to wait on the transfer coach for so long at the airport we were very late in arriving so had missed dinner, however we were told that there would be a cold meal available for us shortly and there was. A nice salad, with drinks and desert.
Our room was at the back of the hotel on the top floor, the view was nothing startling but this was not a problem for us and we liked the quietness in this part of the hotel. The room was spacious and very clean. Safety box key hired from reception, there was a fridge, but we did not pay the charge to rent and the TV had BBC1, BBC2, ITV & ITV2. We do not watch TV on holiday as a rule but, it was nice to catch the news when getting ready for dinner. There was a hairdryer in bathroom and we had maid service everyday, with fresh towels, beds were changed couple of times and were very comfortable.
The food was all good, I am a very fussy eater and never had a problem getting something the whole week. I have to agree that the food could have be warmer, but it was fresh and good choice. It was nice having the choice of "english" bacon at breakfast time as I am not a lover of spanish bacon. At lunchtime there was a good choice of hot and cold dishes in the dinning room or toasties, burgers & hot dogs by the pool. The evening buffet was plentiful. There was always 2 soups, a "special" served by the chef either roast meats or paella. Then 3 or 4 other dishes and a pasta dish. Plenty vegetables and vegetarian options, stuffed peppers, homemade tarts, pizza, boiled potatoes, roast potatoes and chips. Dessert was 6 or 7 choices and always the best custard I have ever had overseas! If all inclusive like us, beer, wine, soft drinks and water were served from the bar in the dinning room. We did not find the food to be all processed, dishes had obviously been made from scratch in the kitchen. I do agree with others that the dress code of some guests was unusual, especially for dinner.
We found the Thomson Reps to be very friendly and helpful and especially liked Cat and Liam's 5pm quiz was entertaining!
The pool area was spacious and clean, yes the sunbeds were very close to each other but at least there were plenty of them and more importantly plenty umbrellas for shade.
We did not sit inside for the evening entertainment, but did hear it from outside, bingo nightly and then an act. I personally feel that the entertainment started too late and it would have been good to have something going on from 9pm, the girl was very enthusiastic and very popular with the children. The bar staff were friendly and we never had a problem getting served. During the day coffee and tea all ready to help yourself and there was a water station available at all times.
The location was spot on, close to the beach and bus station for getting about further a field if that is what you are looking for.
We would return to this hotel again at the same time of year, I do not think it would be our choice in July, August but that is only becasue we do not like madly busy hotels.
All in all we had a grand time and would recommend to family and friends. If you are looking for 5* luxury or coming in off a cruise you are likely to be disappointed with some aspects, that is why it is rate 3* but I would give it 3*+. New owners seem to be listening as the reviews appear to be getting better, they deserve a chance to work on areas for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WPOOH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I have been to the Rey for the last five years,This year as in the past two years, my daughter and son in law have been with us, They love the hotel. We were very apprehensive this year as the roomers were that the hotel had changed hands and also the fact that the manager Monica, Tom, Max & Rosh had all left,

Well let me [put your mind at ease< We have just returned from seven nights at the rey, with six other friends that we have met over the last five years and we cannot fault it, Yes there have been some changes, there are new owners but we think its for the better.

The staff where wonderful as ever, all the restaurant & bar staff have new uniforms and look very smart, they also have name badges and so instead of calling the signor or signora you may call them by the first names.

The food this year was some of the best we have ever had, and on one night we had fresh salmon, prawns, mussels, beef steak, steak & kidney pies and chicken, so i do not know where some of the previous reviews where mad from but they must have been in a different hotel to me.There were one couple who remarked last night that the beef was the best beef they had tasted in years.

Its true if you cruise and then stay at the rey the food is different, you are going from five star dinning to three star Spanish buffet.

Juan Rico is still the same lovable rouge chef that try,s to fill your plate , so that you have the best meal you have ever had.

He is the same as all the restaurant , bar and reception staff, They all are friendly and helpful, they always have a smile and greet you on every occasion. The same goes for all the rest of the staff including the cleaners they always say hello, The reception, bar and restaurant have been redecorated and the hotel is as clean as i we have ever seen it.

Entertainment wise, Yes there is no bingo bongo Which we all loved,But times change and Tom , Max and Rosh have moved on to better things, I hope they find what they are looking for and good luck to them all.

the new animation team is lacking in experience , but make up for it in enthusiasm, and they will learn just as max had to when he first started, so give them a chance, the acts who come in from out side are just as good as the previous years, the bingo is still running, as are the games around and in the pool.They are still played every day as usual, I wish to wish both Raffial and Teresa the best for the coming months, and see you both in September. great job last week.

The Thompson reps this year are very good. They run a champagne quiz at five o'clock, which we all looked forward to and the banter with Liam, from Belfast was great, so keep it up. cat was great with anything to do with Thompson. and Aiden was Aiden bubbly and bouncy. They run a non prize fun quiz all day , that realty keeps you brain going.

the new owners are going to make changes and we think they will be for the best. So we will be going back next year just to see.

Well to end the hotel is still as great as ever, the staff are as great as ever and Santa Ponsa is as beautiful as ever, So if you are thinking about booking this hotel, the stop thinking and book it, We have already booked for September and are counting the days till we go back.

The only down side we had this time was we had really bad flight times,and the pool view rooms are extra. But you are not in the room that long to worry about it.

Its elscorchio so you are outside most of the time.

I hope this review has been helpful to any new holiday maker who is thinking of booking the rey, or to any returning holiday maker that may have doubts. we think that even with out the changes that have been made so far the Rey has changed for the better.

Hope you have a great holiday,

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but the ones on the front have a better veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Carlton Stephen... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Been here 3 years on the run now. I've always loved my time at the hotel, the entertainment made it for me every year. This year it was a bit different, the male entertainer in my eyes was very rude! I tried joining in the games and I just couldn't because his attitude was really not good. The bingo at night was boring and if we asked him a question or couldn't hear him he would about shut up which in my eyes isn't what he should be shouting. The women animation was fantastic with the children, of what I saw they all loved her. She had a lot of enthusiasm and was always smiling. The Thompson reps where just a credit to the hotel, always so happy and helpful and there seem to be atleast one rep around at all times to help us. It was also nice to see them a lot more involved. Food was brilliant as always and it's a good hotel with great staff! Hope this helps everyone :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa

Property: Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Viva Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing