We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab place!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recently took my 18 month old here with my partner, the staff welcome you so much everyday they would all go out of there way to make effort with her which was fab, everything is really good just the pools the only down fall & there's too many sunbeds not very safe for toddler to be around so we went out a lot, the square is great for kids bit of a walk but loads to do, we only ate breakfast in hotle but every morning it was great, loads to choose & always cooked we'll ignore the people who are moaning this hotle is the best one around all the others looked awful compared to this one

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    745
    335
    101
    77
See reviews for
684
985
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Santa Ponca the hotel was excellent in every respect the staff could not have been more helpful & the food was excellent yes some rooms face another hotel but what hotel has every room in a perfect location spend your money here you will have a great time

Room Tip: Do not treat the staff like idiots the man behind me tried to make them look like idiots if it had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from 2 week AI and very pleased. Read bad reviews, after booked. Any problems sorted very quickly. Rooms bit dated but spotless. Towels and sheets changed when needed. Food a little repetitive but always hot and well cooked. Always topped up, even 10 mins before closing. Snacks by pool bar all day. Service in bar quick. Staff very nice. I am someone who treats people with respect and get same back. Entertainment bit hit and miss. Couple good nights. Sometimes went out to Square too so never bored. Thomson reps worked hard and always available. Will definitely go back soon.

Room Tip: Just back from 2 week stay and had lovely holiday. All inclusive. Read bad reviews after booking so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 566sixtysomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned home following a 3 night stay at this hotel.
Reception staff not at all friendly & not at all helpful.
Room was dark & not particularly clean, charges for use of fridge & safe
Bedding & towels threadbare
Restaurant? Canteen poor, large choice of food but poor quality

Overall not great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 335louisec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Rey don Jaime, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much, we are grateful for the time you spent to review your overall stay.
Moreover, we really lament that we could not covered your expectations during the time you spent in our hotel.
We take note of your comments and we will do our best to improve our service.

Kindest Regards
Mónica Sánchez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years, purely and simply because we like the resort of Santa Ponsa.
Taking into account this hotel has recently been taken over by the Viva group and its rating of 3*
I will try and give an honest review. Apparently the new owners are charging extra for the rooms with a view, maybe they should consider reducing the cost of the rooms on one side of the hotel where the only view is looking directly into the rooms of an adjacent hotel.
Unfortunately we were given one of these rooms and immediately requested a change of room to the other side of the hotel, which reception arranged instantly.
The reception, restaurant and lounge area have recently been refurbished to a very good standard, unfortunately the rooms although very clean are looking very tired and in need of investment.
The food this year was excellent, plenty of choice of hot and cold food at every mealtime (the comments implying there is only chips and burgers at this hotel are ridiculous (I suggest the writers of these comments book an urgent visit to Specsavers)
The staff on the whole are very friendly and efficient the only exception to this is two or three really miserable barmen.
This is the first time we have visited the Rey Don Jamie in June and it will certainly be the last, the hotel was overrun with loud and at times very ignorant Spanish teenagers. One evening they had their own disco held on the ground floor the noise was so loud we could hear it in our room on the fourth floor, it became the norm to hear them shouting and screaming at 03.00 hrs. Their standard of dress in the restaurant was a disgrace but nothing was said to them, it appeared the management condoned it.
Would I return to this hotel? probably but in future it would be a lot later on in the season.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonestKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Rey don Jaime, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,
Firstly we would like to give your sincere gratefulness to spending your time to write your opinion about our Hotel.
We would greatly appreciate your very positive review of the improvements made at the hotel.
We are glad to hear that the reception department helped to satisfy your request regarding a room change.
We really appreciate your comments about the choice and variety of the meal, it is very important for us your review.
Please, excuse us for the attitude that may have had these members of our staff, it is a very important point for us the customer service in the Hotel.
This June we had during a few days a group of young customers, they have been advised by the hotel management to respect the other guest, and to not do any noise at night time.

Thank you once again for all your comments, and we really hope that you are coming back as a regular customer of the hotel Rey Don Jaime.
Regards
Monica Sanchez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

went as a couple in June for a week and had a great stay at this hotel. we stayed one week all inclusive.
we used the hotel little through the day as we were either on the beach or on an excursion. we found the food was what we expected, breakfast was full English or continental and we found this was ok with plenty of choice. the evening meals you have plenty to choose including a roast most days. puddings were a bit disappointing.
pool area very busy but had plenty of beds available. we didn't go for the entertainment so cant comment but it was always busy.
we enjoyed the beach which is only a 3 minute walk away.i recommend the boat trip to Palma on the Majorca Cat on a Saturday(4 hours on boat, 4 hours in Palma).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ijl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

back from holiday two weeks ago,stayed in the don jaime.9 years we have been going to the same hotel now.can find no problem with the hotel .ok its getting a bit dated now but rooms are always clean ,staff through out the hotel friendly.monica the manager explained some of the upgrades that will happen in october to us .we will be back again in sept.we have never had a anything other than a good time in this hotel .thank you again.don jaime
bruce & norma craik forfar

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brucecraik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,725 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,047 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Property: Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing