We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
St.Annes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Hotel: The hotel is excellent, and very modern, the rooms are very good with a balcony and sattelite TV. 4 lifts and a disabled lift, also an inside Pool, and internet acces.

Food and Drink: There is a great verity of food and drink, we nether went hungry, a great slection of differnt types of food for breakfast and Tea. You could also purchase snacks throught the day.
And Drink ? The hotel had evrything, with great waiters serving you prompt.

Pool: The pool is excellent, there is an adult pool and a small pool for toddlers to play in. A lifeguard wsa on hand every minute. just Brilliant, you coluld spend all day in the pool, or sunbathing by the side of it.

Entertainment: The entertainment, my lord its brilliant, 1000000/10. Oli,Rosh and Max are brilliant with all ages, from the toddlers to the adults, you could speand all day with them as they crack jokes and entertin you. They are a credit to the hotel.
They are one of the main reasons i return evry year.
At Night there is also great entertainmen, Max and Oli, ask them to do the shaky shaky dance, haha. There is bingo were you can win up to 200 euroes and then a live entertainment act.

Nightife: As you come out of your hotels, you can turn left, were you will find peaceful and rich pubs and bars for the family, and offt, if you turn right, there are great barps and dico's and nightclubs for all the teenagers, i would rate it as good as Magaluf for nightlife.

So yes, i love it, ive been four times, i hope to go another fourty.

Rob Hutton.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakyShaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    778
    353
    108
    80
See reviews for
721
1,039
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Just back from the Rey Don Jaime and what can I say but just a brilliant hotel.

Hotel and Bedrooms-

I was told hotel was refurbished recently and it was a lovely refreshing looking hotel. Bedrooms were nice and comfortable.

Restaurant-

Great choice for breakfast and dinner. Buffet had something for everyones taste. Even my 6 year old fussy eater daughter loved restaurant.

Pool-

Great pool area and small childrens pool, there was plently of sunbeds available when I was there but getting busier towards end of my stay. The hotel doesn't open doors to pool area until 8.30am and always a queue of people waiting to reserve sunbeds.

Entertainment-

What can I say left the best to last, Max, Rosh and Oli are a credit to the hotel. Morning, noon and nite they keep adults and children entertained. Special credit to Max who when they had illness among the team, he went solo for the whole day keeping adults and children entertained. My daughter wouldn't leave hotel because they were that good. Great night time entertainment with quiz's, bingo (you have to see Max or Oli do the mixy mixy, shakey shakey dance!) and different entertainment every night from tribute acts, to comedians, magic shows etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This hotel is in a great place close to everything across the road from the beach and bars. The staff were great the entertainment staff were fantastic hats off to them. Plenty of games and fun if you want to join in. which is good to meet people. The rooms do need to be updated. the breakfast is second to none the evening meals were getting better as the holiday was going on. The bst deal is at the pool side at dinner time burgers / hot dogs chips and a soft drink for 3euroes. Plenty of space at the poolside.
The night time shows were good most people liked to stay at the hotel for the shows. A good hotel for the young and the old. Go out of the hotel towards the beach turn left and head along the beach to the main strip go to betty boops bar great staff free pool tables and darts down stairs great for the family. Churchills bar at the bottom of the strip is good value. Turn right when you go out of the hotel and head up the street past mcdonalds and burger king and you have more livley bars. The beach is clean and safe
on the whole Santa Ponsa is a great place. Will go back. If you go Tell Max that JIMMY WITH THE F said hello. Great place for the young chidren.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at Rey Don Jaime. We read the reviews before we went, and we were rather "put off" & almost changed our holiday, but decided to give it a try. We are so glad we did, because we had a great time. It no longer belongs to the Marina group. The hotel was closed for 3 months for refurbishment. We have been to this hotel before and loved the Spanish look about it, so we were shocked when we arrived to find thats gone.It is very nice, but I have to be honest & say that I do prefer the Spanish look. Rooms were ok with new mattresses, but there could be more linen change. Clean towels every day, but only 1 linen change.You are not allowed a free kettle in your room unless you have been to the hotel before, which I think is pathetic.The staff were friendly except the manageress who I never saw smile once, or speak to any guests. I am a very fussy person when it comes to food, and there was always something there for me. Yes there was chips for breakfast, so what! you don't have to eat them. I have to give 100% to the 4 entertainment crew, they worked there socks off to give everybody a good holiday.The children were very well entertained also.We went to a Thompson Gold last year & the entertainment at the Jaime knocks spots of the gold entertainment. We would never go to a gold again, only good thing was no children, total waist of money.Anyway back to Jaime, we really did have a super holiday, and can't wait to go back next year.I recommend this hotel, but you can't please some people who just like something to moan about.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diamondoxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We visited this hotel for a quick weeks holiday in April 2009, but what a mistake. Don't get me wrong, the hotel which is part of the Spanish Marina group is fine, clean rooms, nice staff but what a wrong time to go.
The spanish government have a scheme going where every year in liason with certain hotel s,spanish pensioners can get reduced priced holiday. The Marina group is part of this schme and regretably they had come from all over Spain to the Rey Don Jaime. The hotel was 98% full of rude old people who gathered in groups around the coffee machine and toaster.
The food was disgraceful, breakfast was garlic, bread rolls, and cold tinned tomatoes, yes no hot food at all. This despite there being english, Irish and Scottish couples staying.
My heart went out to a couple of ladies who had a young lad with learning difficulties in a wheel chair. he only ate breakfast so every day they had to push him to a restraunt and buy him food, despite being on full board.
Being a old valid customer of the hotel group, I spoke to the manager, who I'd met before, Monica , in her 30,s . She listened to my complaint of cold food or lack of food and then shrugged her shoulders and said"it's not summer" and walked off, leaving me annoyed.
So advice, check first with your agent that half of Spain's pensioners are not booked into your hotel the week you're going and Marina group, hang your head in shame, Majorca is a tourist island and because of their treatment, I know at least a dozen british couples that wont stay in your hotels again.

Luz Follower

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

After a weeks cruise we spent a week at the don jaime and had a really great time.We found the rooms big and comfortable as was the bathroom with plenty of hot water for washing and showering.The meals were adequate with quite a choice and they even had a micro wave oven to pop your meal in to make it piping hot it that's how you liked it.The animation team Max,Ollie.Rosh and Shelley really went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and arranged plenty of pool side activities for all to participate in and it was all a great laugh,they also did a lot of evening work arranging quiz's,bingo etc. and also participated in shows of their own which in our opinion were very good though some folk thought that they were 3rd. rate but then it's hard to please some folk.The professional shows which were put on were very entertaining as was the lady and man who both sang in the Bar a few evenings.The only bad things we encountered was the fact that the security box key for your room cost 3 Euros a day plus 3 Euros deposit, it doesn't sound much but a fortnight's payment is roughly £45,also the T.V. if you wanted the remote control for it it cost you 10 Euros per week.Prices in the Hotel were on the pricey side but you have to put that down to our own economy with the pound not doing well against the Euro.Overall we would give it 8/10.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

The public areas were very nice, lovely and clean. There are 4 lifts which were a pleasure as there was always one waiting. The pool area was good with plenty of sunbeds and good outside seating area. The staff were very friendly and helpful
Now the bad...the room was certainly not a 3 star standard. The bathroom was manky with a chipped and stained bath. The toilet was not very clean on the outside and you could see the outlet pipe on the floor was very decayed and stained. The sink area and mirror was less than spotless and the tiled area needed a good scrubbing. The beds were squeaky and the pillows smelled of sweat. The walls are paper thin and you could hear your neighbours very clearly, (even them turning over in their bed).
The dining room had new furniture and looked very inviting. However, once you approached the hot food, thats when things changed. The bacon was greasy and smelled very piggy, the fried eggs were stone cold and the beans were dreadful. The scrambled egg was disgusting. The evening meals were no better. The hot area was worse than school dinners. Everything was either sloppy or burnt. The soup was tasteless and appeared to be of the cheap packet variety. Some of the salad was past its best. The only good thing was the cheese area and the desserts. I certainly would not recommend this hotel and feel that it is only at best a 2 star rating

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#36 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,805 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Property: Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing