We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think this hotel is slipping a bit!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Playas de Mallorca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
H10 Playas de Mallorca
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Think this hotel is slipping a bit!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

This is my 4th time at this hotel & I feel it is not as good as it was previously. On arrival we had to move room 3 times as the rooms we were offered were overlooking machinery or very small with not even a shelf in the bathroom & a hatch on the wall looking down into a shaft!! Eventually the manager did give us an excellent room overlooking the pools Room 403. Although the food was great & cooked properly we felt there was not much choice - chips every night or rice!! They used to offer lovely potatoes. At breakfast once the pancakes had run out the chef did not make any more if it was after 10am as breakfast finished at 10.30 - a lot of disappointed guests. As a result of this we ate out nealy every night & even for breakfast (a supermarket next to the hotel makes lovely rolls or baguettes). Most of the sunbeds were broken & you could not chose which position you wanted the bed - this did become annoying after a day or so. The pools were spotless & so were the rooms. Could not fault the maids or staff at all. Do not think I would return to this hotel unless it was for a long weekend only.

  • Liked — The prime location (opposite the beach) & near all the local pubs/restaurants
  • Disliked — The small rooms & the lack of choice in food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Couple73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    409
    208
    82
    29
See reviews for
310
496
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

If like me you like extensive reviews to know what you are going to get, please take time to read my review because, despite reading some negative reviews before going to this hotel, especially with regards to the food, all we can say is don't worry - the food is absolutely excellent and so much choice. If you are a fussy eater, which what some of the reviewers must be, go self catering and choose your restaurants according to your tastes because this hotel cannot be faulted on its food !! Here is a list of what you can expect:- First of all, there is always a chef cooking at a grill and, for breakfast they fry the eggs there so they are always fresh and hot (they have sunny side up or both sides fried), the chef also prepares pancakes and omelettes. There are also boiled eggs and scrambled if you prefer these. Along with Bacon, Beans, Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Sausages, Potatoes. There is always a large supply of bread (white and brown), white crusty rolls and selection of french sticks. There are yoghurts, fruit, a large selection of cereals, jams, butter, cold meats and cheeses, croissants, packets of cakes/cookies/croissants/donuts. Juices are fresh - orange, apple, pineapple. Tea, Coffee, Hot Chocolate. For Dinner, again the chef was on hand preparing meats/steaks/burgers/sausages/fish (plain options) and set out in the buffet were always soup, breads, meat dishes, fish dishes, vegetables, pizzas, chips, potatoes, salads, cheese, cold meats, pasta/spaghetti, dressings. Desserts included ice creams, fruit, fruit salads, cake, rice pudding, chocolate or strawberry or banana pudding, yoghurts, donuts, cheeses. As usual, you pay for your drinks at dinner times. The restaurant staff were always very helpful and friendly and were quick to clear tables and reset them ready for the next diners. We went during half term week and never was it too busy to find a seat or be catered for. They regularly replaced/kept the food topped up. The dishes were always hot and the plates were warm too! The hotel itself was the usual 3 star rooms, although bonus of a double bed and 1 single, bathroom and balcony. The room had a TV, although Sky News only English Channel. But, a 24 hour spanish news channel was good for catching the next days weather report (on Channel 5) There is a safety deposit box in the wardrobe (need to pay extra for use of this) and air conditioning in the room. 2 Lifts to the hotel which were always running perfectly. Non Smoking restaurant and public areas. If you are non-smokers, request a Non Smoking Room/Floor as we were originally allocated a room in the Smoking area but we had no problems when we requested a different room and were given a new room straight away. The room we had had a walk in shower which was much better for our needs, rather than the usual bath with shower over. Again, request your preference. Maids cleaned daily and replaced towels and they were very friendly! Only a stone's throw from the lovely beach - just across the road. The entertainment wasn't great during the day - hotel's own - and same old type of acts on the evening (parrots and magicians etc) and the children's playground not great but there is a little park just up the road to the right as you come out of the hotel. One complaint - do not pay/use the hotel's internet - extremely slow and expensive. If you go right out of the hotel and right again after the Rey Don Jaime Hotel and right again at the next little junction (5 min walk max) then there is a Cyber/Internet place there which is only 1 euro for 15 minutes, 2.5 euros for 1 hour access. Cheapest and quick!! About a 5 minute walk to the main strip for clubs/bars but still has shops/restaurants/beach right on doorstep and slightly less noise at night being set back from the main strip. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, mainly for its food and location.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — The Entertainment
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Holidaysunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crwbin, Kidwelly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

We went out to this hotel on 17thOctober and had a good time.The hotel was clean and tidy. The room was fantastic, had the end room on a corner facing the sea (368). The only downside was the food. the chef did not make sure that the trays were replaced with food for a while so sometimes you had to go without, once they had a "run" on a pasta and run out. the food was very "samey", although edible, it was very basic but then for a quick breakaway you do not expect gourmet food. The entertainment was a bit dicey but then there were plenty of nice bars , resturants or just stroll around the bay so, to us, it wasnot too much of a problem. All in all , it was a good holiday.

  • Liked — Near the beach, not near noisy bars but close enough to them if you want to go out to pubs and clubs
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonmrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

We returned from Mallorca yesterday after a two week stay. We went as part of a group of 12 to celebrate a Golden Wedding anniversary and booked, with Direct Holidays, at least six months in advance.
On arrival our rooms were allocated - 3 rooms on the 1st floor and 3 on the 3rd floor. We had requested to be close together!!
Our room (114) had no view, except the local German school and the couple whose Golden Wedding it was, could only see the back of an adjacent bar!!! Also this room (338) meant a walk of about 200 (two hundred) yards from the lift!! As they are both in their 70's, both of us asked to change our rooms. The following morning at Reception, in the presence of our Rep, we asked to be moved - we were told that the hotel was full and it may be possible to move us on Wednesday (day 5 of our holiday!!)
Wednesday duly arrived and we went to Reception to be told "there is nothing in the diary - so we cannot do anything. We can offer you a room ina sister hotel but that will involve a charge!" The other couple were offered a room near the lift but declined as they had 'settled in' by then.
We resigned ourself to the room we were in and made the best of a bad thing.
The hotel was clean and the restaurant and cleaning staff were very helpful and cheerful.
The swimming pool was very cold and the food was repetitative - same choices every day.
On the day that we were leaving a number of couples had the same problem and were told to come back "after breakfast tomorrow" - they requested to see a manager but were told to come back in the morning.
Ian Jones, Worcester Sunday 7th October 2007
ianjones14@yahoo.co.uk

Helpful?
4 Thank ianjones14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

I booked the hotel because of good reviews I had read about it in tripadvisor, and I have to admit that it was even better than what I expected. I went to this hotel with my wife and my 17 year old daughter.
From Palma airport you can reach the hotel using the Taxis at about 35 euros, the trip takes about 30 minutes .
You are warmly welcomed from the very moment you enter the hotel, the guy and the ladies in the reception are very friendly and helpful and speak fluent English. They always answer all your questions with a smile.
The rooms are clean and of good size, with a double bed and a single bed for the third person.the bathroom clean and quite OK. Our room had a balcony where we could sit and watch beautiful views of the pool and the forrest and sea. the hotel is halfboard ie. breakfast and dinner is included in the price. at breakfast you had a wide variety of foods to eat and drink. At dinner the foods were very good and you could find whatever you liked to eat , every night with different foods from seafood to vegeterian food. there was a grill with fresh cooking of fish and stake... that was very delicious, the personelle where all friendly and smiling.
The pool was clean and I played waterpolo with my daughter there.
The location of the hotel is in the center of the Santa Ponsa beach wich is one of the resorts in the south of Mallorca, about 30 km from the Palma city. this is a very nice place for a holiday with many cafes and bars with live music full of british tourists.
The hotel is The only hotel with such a central location overlooking the beach in Santa Ponsa. The beach is sandy and clean. We loved the week we spend in Mallorca.
We also enjoyed one day in the Aqualand of Magalug ( you could reach there by taxi at a cost of about 10 euros.
Another day we went around the southern part of the island by the ship , we baught the ticket just in front of the hotel, the trip was wonderful and we enjoyed it a lot.
We travel alot and I have stayed in many hotels in Europe and elsewhere and I have nothing to complain about in this hotel.
All in all we had one of our best experiences in Santa Ponsa Mallorca and I highly recommend both Santa Ponsa and the specially the Hotel and I will certainly stay in this hotel in my future visits to the island. I rank this hotel at least 4 star and I highly recommend it to everyone traveling to Mallorca.

  • Liked — Location, Friendly staff, Foods, cleanliness of rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sorush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

This was our second stay at the Hisperia playa de mallorca this year and we have already booked to go back next year. The staff are friendly and helpful. the hotel everywhere is spotless and towels and linens changed regularly. big bonus you don't need to take pool towels , for 10 euros you get them and change them every day and get your money back at the end of your stay. Another great thing NO FIGHT for beds around the pool. The room does have T.V but only one English channel. plenty to choose in the resturant both breakfast and dinner. The entertainment not bad , but most walk up to the sqaure( 10 min walk) at night , where there are different acts every night till 11.30. Resturants in resort good and fairly cheap. a quiet resort with some bars and clubs.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank shnookle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dudley england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

what can i say .from check in at hotel through and throughout our stay.we had a wonderful time our room was cleaned everyday and all staff had a welcome smile and and nothing was to much trouble.the food was of a high standard and the hotel certainly deserves an higher star rating .i can only comment for my self and my wife and i would also like to thank the mytravel rep lara for being so helpful polite and her bubbley personality shone through and nothing was to much trouble.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank bernieDudleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Playas de Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Playas de Mallorca

Property: H10 Playas de Mallorca
Address: Gran Via Puig Major 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Ciutat de Mallorca)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Playas de Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Hotel Playas De Mallorca for some fun under the Mediterranean sun! Our magnificent seafront hotel is just a stone's throw from the historic city of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your H10 Playas de Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Playas De Mallorca Hotel Santa Ponsa
H10 Playas De Mallorca Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing