We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but wasn't impressed with the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Clare Island, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but wasn't impressed with the Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for over a week. Wasn't impressed with the decor of the hotel, needed refurbishment. Room was small (twin beds), bathroom was small, shower leaked all over the tiles every time we used it. Only one socket for plugs so just as well we brought an extension lead. You had to pay a deposit for use of air-con, television and iron etc. Wifi only in lobby area. Didn't enjoy the breakfast and I am not a fussy eater. Hotel was very clean which was good. Tried to book tickets for waterpark but the receptionist was rude and didn't seem to know much about free bus. Had to pay for a cup of ice €0.50 (ridiculous). There was no fridge in the room which was a big let down as it would have been nice to have cold water. We could hire a fridge through a company hotel deal with at €40 for the week, obviously we didn't. Wanted the use of a iron and was told to wait maybe an hour or two. Was there only 1 iron for the whole hotel? Computer in lobby doesn't work yet it is still there for you to pay money into. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel (overlooking roundabout) as the back of the hotel overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nia_G400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    112
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
34
161
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Plaza. Firstly, some housekeeping:
Air con- €10 deposit for the remote control
TV - €10 deposit for the remote control. Five channels, 3 English (itv, bbc1 and bbc2) and 2 German.
Safe - €23 for a week, €3 returned at the end. We were told it was €3.50 per day, but must be a discount for a week..?
Wifi - free wifi in the reception area if you ask for the password at reception. The wifi will just about work around the pool too if you're lucky.

The hotel is very clean, rooms standard for Spanish hotels. We heard a little noise through the walls but not very much. There was a bit of sunbed blocking during the second half of our week (when there seemed to be mor Brits and Irish arrive) but still enough to go round. Almost like having a private pool at times, super quiet most of the day.

Breakfast choice fairly standard for a Spanish hotel. Evening meal was good (for the price we paid). Usually fish, two types of meat, chips and potatoes or rice. Always something both of us would eat plus soup and salad.

We requested a room at the front of the hotel, great for people watching. Didn't have any problems with traffic noise (other than the grass being cut on the roundabout one morning).

Great location for everything in the resort, quieter bars at the left and front then noisier end at the right only 10 mins stroll away. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank michjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Gem of a Hotel
Liverpoolbud, Northwest

Great hotel in the perfect location if you are looking for a quiet break in Santa Ponsa Room was twin - push beds together! Safe in room - at cost Nice balcony overlooking the road - great for people watching and evening sunshine Dining was as to be expected for 3 star half board and no complaints from Us as food varied , warm and plentiful. Pool area was a joy - plenty if sunbeds - quiet - no early morning towels - shade if you wanted it- pool was clean. Drinks from hotel bar were 5 euro for 2 large cokes Would stay here again in santa ponsa

The best thing about my stay was...
Location - not near the "strip"

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liverpoolbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a small hotel very clean and the staff very helpful. The rooms need a bit of modernisation, but they were ok, comfortable and cleaned daily. The hotel itself is very quiet, the poolside was never overcrowded (and the pool very clean), the dining room was also never crowded and you never had to Q for breakfast/dinner. Breakfast was good and the evening dinner wasn't too bad either. There was always a reasonable choice of dishes despite it being a small hotel - we were only there a week and we never had a problem with the food. The dining room staff were always polite and helpful.
Our room was on the third floor (I think there are only about 50 rooms) and we overlooked the front, with a nice view across to the beach. The bus to Palma etc it next to the hotel, do take a trip to the beautiful city of Palma, it is only 1/2 hour on the bus and really cheap. There is also a taxi stand in front of the hotel; unfortunately the drivers don't have a volume control and they yatter on all night long, which does eventually get on your nerves, especially if you have your windows open. So if you don't mind not having a beach view ask for a pool view as I'm sure it's quieter around the back.
We didn't really use the bar area so I can't comment on that, but it was always busy which is a good sign. We always went out in the evening and would sit in a German bar (run by Spanish) a short walk from the hotel (turn right as you leave the hotel, cross the road and you come to the shops - it's just there and I recommend it to you).
Santa Ponsa is a lovely little resort, and yes it does have it's noisey area but you don't have to go there do you. What impresses me is the wooden walkways down to the waters edge, great for pushchairs and those less able. It's the second time I've been to SP and I really do like the holiday atmosphere of the place.
When we booked the hotel we knew we might have to pay extra for some things eg wifi , and a safe in our rooms. The safe was about 23 euros for the week, we didn't buy wifi as it was free in the lounge area. But what we didn't expect was to have to pay extra to have air-con, and it is a considerable extra onto your budget - around 80 euros for the week (I can't remember exact price). We decided not to hire it, mainly because it was a lot of money, however, if you are going in hot weather and have a front facing room (which the sun beats down on all afternoon) please budget extra and pay for it. Our room was hot and airless, and on the nights we opened the patio windows we were just kept awake by the taxi drivers etc., I was knackered when I got home. LOL.
Would I go back to this hotel? Yes, I think I would but I'd budget for air-con. It is in a lovely spot and very convenient for the beach, and as we love the beach it was ideal for us.

Room Tip: The hotel itself is very quiet, but remember the front of the building is in a busy area, with taxis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanKirkWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

lovely quite hotel being adults only,no problems getting a sun lounger they were available any time of day and very comfy with cusions. rooms ok but no fridge for cold drinks,but air con was cold as you wanted,tv with English channels.only disappointment was the food hardly any choice and very bland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Brilliant my first time in a small hotel 54 bedrooms. The staff were all very friendly and had time for their guests. My bedroom was spot on overlooking the pool. the hotel was really tranquil there was no shouting or screaming or noise during the night unlike some of the big hotels. I could go to bed about 2am and there was not a sound perfect peace and quiet. I found the food to be pretty good and varied and more than plentiful.Taxis and buses were both within 50 metres. To have action you only had to walk about 400metres up a slight hill to all the excitement it was like a mini Magaluf with all of the youngsters getting bluttered and having a great time. I would definatly be going back and would recomend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FRANCISMILLOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very clean hotel Position great handy for buses and taxis. Shops bars and restaurant all nearby.
Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast fine plenty of choice. Dinners very poor mostly chips chicken and fish very poor salad if you got cheese there were no cold meats. The puddings were ice cream jelly angel delight and usually melon. - very poor selection. I would probably come back but only book bed and breakfast.
,

Room Tip: Some rooms are noisy near a generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandD12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel

Property: Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Address: Plaza Santa Ponca 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely renovated Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel is situated only a few steps away from the beautyfull sandy beach of Santa Ponsa.In this modern and elegant hotel you will enjoy a variety of modern installations that will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Santa Ponsa
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing