We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here as a family in an apartment on the first floor. Positives were good all inclusive in terms of the alcohol especially the cocktails even though you were limited to fetching 2 per person per trip to the bar. Good snack options available throughout the day. (toasted sandwiches, hot dogs, burgers, chips, ice creams) Nice rooms with a lovely pool view and good pool area for sunbathing. Now the negatives, food was quite poor with limited choice and the hotel was very noisy. Firstly its on a main road so the bedroom backing on to the main road had load noise all the time and through the night (binmen, cars, people etc) plus it was noisy from other guests on the balcony. The lounge with the 2 beds had noise from the entertainment by the pool, which went on till the early hours of the morning and included the guests shouting etc at 1-2am. But overall it was a good holiday and we made up for our lack of sleep at night in the day on the sunbeds. Nice location, just a few minutes walk to the beach and a good selection of shops, cafes and restaurants and just a short bus ride away to magaluf.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    399
    176
    117
    94
See reviews for
1,181
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from a week all inclusive at the Pirates Village. If you're looking for value for money and a great family holiday then we highly recommend it. The main part of the hotel is recently refurbished with the addition of the pirate theme. Externally the hotel is very impressive as you approach from the airport, my 5 year old son was screaming with excitement! Foyer is very welcoming and upon check in we were greeted by 'Jack Sparrow' and some of the crew. Apartments although basic, are clean and spacious with flat screen tv and kitchenette with fridge and microwave.
However, the best part of the hotel is the newly built pool area complete with pirate tower (with walking plank) in one pool and mini pirate castle in the 2nd pool. The 2nd shallow pool also has caves and 3 separate water slides and of a course a shipwrecked pirate ship :-)

The pirate theme is also continued into the all inclusive restaurant although avoiding over kill and certainly not tacky. Food wise, if you're comparing to a 5 star cruise, then you'll find fault but expect to get what you've paid for and you'll be happy. The restaurant is not very big but personally I prefer this to the huge dining areas you find at other places. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were well catered for with a nice selection of salads, fruit and hot choices. Kids selection was a bit limited so my son ate mostly from the main offering. We ate out at a local restaurant twice in the week we were there but this was down to us wanting to explore the area rather than being unhappy with the food. The town of Santa Ponca is a short walk away with some lovely restaurants plus there are 2 well stocked supermarkets nearby, one literally over the road.
However, what really makes this place are the staff. From Robbie who does a brilliant Jack Sparrow cameo, Ellie who tirelessly entertains the kids at the kids club and evening entertainment through to every single member of the bar and restaurant staff we couldn't have asked for better. These guys work so hard and deserve every credit. We were a party of ten adults, 2 five year olds and a 2 year old and we all had a fantastic time.
Look out for the twice weekly pirate attack, brilliant fun.

Our only complaint? My son (a Pirates of The Carribbean addict) couldn't find Captain Barbossa so he wants to go back to look for him!

Room Tip: In peak season ask for a room away from the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Where to start what a week we had our kids aged from 5 to 14 loved it! The food was good the pools amazing the entertainment for kids absolutely non stop the kids club was open every day except Friday from 10 30 till 6pm Ellie and Jasmine made sure every child had a new memory to take home! Bar staff were fab friendly and fun nothing was too much trouble! Dining room staff were always on duty cleaning clearing and refilling all of them very happy to serve! the entertainment animation staff were fab too Robbie was a fab jack sparrow but Miriam was amazing she did dance yoga and zumba classes as well as aqua fit for all the ladies she was brilliant and beautiful and also gave the kids a fab time too! Stephanie was the assistant manager and she was always going round chatting to the guests and was quick to sort any problems (none really that we heard of) we met some fab people from all walks of life and had a ball it really is a brilliant fun hotel but the thing that makes it special is the staff all of whom were keen to make you happy oh except for just one lifeguard who when asked by a lady to help getting a sun-lounger down he replied "No" and walked away he was the only grump and unfriendly member we came across but i will put that down to his bad manners! All in all id highly recommend it for everyone especially younger kids! Thank you Pirates Village we will definately be back!

Room Tip: Every room wa sgood but we were on ground level and it was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angiegnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

im in the pirates village at the moment.all i have to say that its absolutely fantastic.the pool is quality.there is slides for the kids.the staff are unbelieveable.they bend over backwards to make your kids happy.the pirates show was amazing and the kids club is great.i would really recommend this hotel and i will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is my completely honest review and i hope it helps other families! We have just returned from 10 days at The Pirates Village. There was 4 adults 4 children in our party. The swimming pool area is recently renovated and very clean, there are a few water slides for children, although pool is extremely cold. Twice a week Weds and Sundays they have a pirate attack, which is very entertaining. Plenty of sun beds with no ridiculous people putting there towels out at 7 in the morning! Cleaning staff worked tirelessly, as did restaurant staff and bar staff. Lifeguards are very on the ball. Apartments extremely tired, they are in desperate need for refurbishment, but they say this is the next bit to be done. Children's club, was very good as was entertainment staff and the shows in the evening. I felt they needed a play park. We found the cooked breakfast a bit cold, but for us the lunch and evening meals offered a wide variety for all of us. There are also snacks during day. We stayed all inclusive which I would highly recommend especially if you have children. The Manager Stephenie was fantastic very hands on, she is a real credit to the hotel. The owner walked round not saying hello to anyone which I thought was quite rude. Overall for what we paid we had a nice holiday. The children really enjoyed it, which is all that mattered. We booked direct with Gran Isla, booked flights through Easy Jet and transfers through Sun transfers, which seems far cheaper than using a Tour Operator. It was right in Santa Ponca town so very easy to get to beach, shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to families, and I would imagine with the hard working staff they have, once completely renovated, it will be pretty perfect...

Room Tip: We asked for a room in a quiet location, as it's situated on quite a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed for one wk on a self catering basis. 2 big supermarkets very close, one opposite the hotel and the other less than 5 mins up the road. The apartments were big enough, bedroom had twin beds and easily fitted in the travel cot for my one year old. Pool area was great, plenty of loungers available. Private attack was great fun, my 3 year old enjoyed the mini club, they were very nice to her when she got tired and upset and came and found us straight away. All staff very friendly. Security on the door all day to stop non-guests from looking around. Only thing I could fault was they could do with more staff behind the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just got back from this hotel and are already looking at booking again for next year. From the moment we arrived myself, my husband and two children aged 8 and 5 have had a lot of fun. There are alot of activities going on in the day that you can get involved in, Maria and Robbie provide this and I done aqua gym everyday so was able to work off the amount of food I had eaten. It can also be a relaxing holiday too if needed as the pool area is very nice with lots of entertainment for the children. My children found the kids mini club amazing and Elisa and Jasmine who run the club provide a very safe and entertaining environment for the children, the children were very sad to leave when we had to come home. We went all inclusive and found the food really nice and plenty of choice. If you enjoy various foods and are not that fussy then all inclusive is a good option. If you are a pie and chips person then I would suggest self catering and there is a very good reasonably priced supermarket opposite hotel. Night entertainment was very well organised the girls loved the kids disco and all the shows which were very family orientated. All the times I have been abroad I have never found staff to be so hardworking and pleasant. Reception staff were very helpful and gave honest opinions on trips on whether they were suitable enough for the children also on arrival the tv in our apartment was not working but this was fixed straight away. All in all a wonderful experience for all the family and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
39.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
39.0 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Property: Pirates VIllage
Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing