We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pirates village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Aldridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pirates village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

we found pirates village really good for the kids.the food was nice but after 2 weeks we had a couple of meals out for a change.the staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful.rooms were clean and the cleaners came in every 2 days.
we went this year in july.the weather was great.
the only downside was santa ponsa itself.there was a constant smell of sewage around certain hotels and patrs of the beach were covered in fag ends and rubbish.
i would recommend the pirates village for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faz403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    388
    171
    115
    89
See reviews for
1,132
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Currently in the middle of our 11 day stay. With my wife and two young boys (aged 5 & 8) its great for the kids. The front of the hotel is excellent, reception area and dining area great.
Staff are friendly and work hard to get guests involved, with a pirate show around the pool, and the usual, aqua Zumba, table tennis, darts etc...
Food is good, not a huge selection, but we found there's was enough choice, however the sausages at breakfast are not great at all.
The rooms need a makeover.
Our room is a bit noisy, it's the 1st room on the corridor. I have stayed in better but I have also stayed in much worse.
I would advise all inclusive if not then your drinks bill could be expensive. Ice creams and small cokes are 2/3 euros each. It's not a very big hotel so no big queues for drinks and the bar staff are friendly and quick.
There's a well equipped and safe kids club.
The evening entertainment has been ok with a mini disco for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundalk co louth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

we have booked to stay in pirates village for sep this yr.when we booked with falcon it said a day trip to katmandu with taxis was included in price-i have not heard anyone mention this on trip advisor-so is it not included?also why has nobody put up pics of the rooms?instead of a hundred pics of the same view of the pool!if the rooms r that bad im dyin to see them.bit worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynncdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here in July and it was everything we expected and more.(2 adults + 1 child aged 11). We arrived on Friday night at 11-45 (20 mins from airport in a taxi). We checked in and went down to the poolside bar for a drink, staff were lovely. Got up on Saturday morning and went for breakfast at 9am and there was absolutely no problem getting a sunbed. The resturaunt and the staff was wonderful, the food was excellent, the choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good, something to suit everyone and a seperate menu for kids. All inclusive is definitley the way to go. It is the first year we did not go to a theme park or water park,this place is like a mini theme park for the kids.The kids club is fantastic, run by Ellie and Jasmine, a great break for the kids to get out of the sun for a while, they teach them the spanish songs for the mini disco every night and they put on a show in which a few of the adults also take part. The dynamics and energy of the entertainment team is unbelievable, Simeon, Robbie (Sparrow) and Mariam organised rifle shooting, darts, ping pong, water basketball, water polo and a trip to the Jutlandia on Monday to play football (we marched up the street singing with a big pirates flag). They also catered for the ladies with Aqua Areobics and Aqua Zumba twice a day. If you did want to go to a theme park, Friday would be the day to go as the team are off on Friday. The pirates attack which takes place a couple of times a week is absolutely brilliant and they get everyone involved. The shows every night were very good and plenty of room to sit around the pool and stage. All the staff were very polite and pleasant and the manageress Stefani would walk around every day and speak to the guests and was there every night while the shows were on and was never too busy to speak to any guest. We would like to thank you all for making our holiday so memorable. We have stayed at a lot of places that we said we would return to but not the following year, this is the first place that we will return next year please god. Looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the front of building would be quieter. Just traffic noise generally very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinakacoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Felt I had to write a review about this hotel as for us it was a terrible experience and one I should share with fellow holiday makers. I am sure you have seen the pictures of the pirate themed building and swimming pools, so no need to say that that all looked good, but beyond that this hotel is a massive waste of money for any family. The food is practically inedible and seeing as we were all-inclusive that obviously was a big problem that just wouldn't go away. Cold tasteless dishes with either too much salt or not enough seasoning. We literally only ate a handful of times at the hotel it was so bad. The people that stay here are not after a good themed hotel but just want somewhere to drink as much as possible and make as much noise as possible. Tables and chairs being dragged across the floors in the middle of the night seemed to a favourite pass time of everyone around us. The rooms are beyond basic. I stayed in nicer hostel rooms as a student backpacking than these rooms. Cannot describe how disgusted we felt.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank dickyfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in the Pirates Village for two weeks 17-31/7/13 (2 adults + 2 children aged 15 & 11). As you can see from facebook the outside is absolutely amazing and so are the swimming pools. They were everything we expected. Heaven for children under 10 but my pair also loved them. I particularly liked the seat in the larger deeper pool as I cannot swim but could go in and sit down to cool off. We never had any problem getting sunbeds at the pool at 9am when they are unlocked. Of course, there were those sad people who were up at 6:30 am tying towels to the umbrellas to "claim their spot"!!

I cannot praise the staff working there enough. They were ALWAYS polite, helpful and very pleasant both at reception and the bar by the pool. Thank you to Robbie & Maria for keeping our men entertained with Rifle shooting, darts and table tennis (there was Yoga/Aqua Zumba etc also if you are interested in that kind of thing) and to Ceasar at the bar for his good humour. The pirate attack was excellant, even we enjoyed it so it's not just for the little ones. It only happens twice a week to it's not overdone. There were some days when everyone working there dressed up as pirates but again, this wasn't all the time so when it did happen it was a nice change.

The room was absolutely fine. Some reviews mentioned the need to update but we thought they were fine - except for our wardrobe door that kept sticking - but as they have always made clear - their upgrade is a work in progress. The rooms were clean, had everything you would need for s/c and beds very comfortable. A/C was brilliant - esp when 39 outside !! I had emailed them in advance asking for a room on the top floor away from reception and the main road and was deligthed when we arrived to discover that is exactly what we had been given. They also replied to my email very promptly which is more than can be said for a lot of places.

We were s/c so I can't comment on the food other than to say we ate at the pool bar most days and the food was fine and reasonably priced. A large beer was 2.90/3.00.

We were only 5 mins from the beach (4 sunbeds 1 umbrella €22.50 per day) and 5/10 mins from restaurants and the main entertainment but the area around the apartments is quiet so ideal for families. The absolute best restaurant was Fat Sams and next would have to be El Jardin near the Spanish Sq (20 min walk) Tomas, the owner, is lovely and remembered us even though we had not been there in 6 years.

The bars had the usual entertainment (guys with guitars singing "Fields of Athenry") but Durty Nellys was a pleasant change - two Irish ladies who covered a wide range of music from Irish to Chart. They were excellent.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Pirates Village for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the third floor away from reception and the main road. Reception &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie94007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I thought this hotel looked fantastic from it's photos but the room was a shock. As we arrived along with a coach full of people, we ended up waiting over an hour to get to our room. Well, the wait was definitely NOT worth it. Small and dark the window is just ridiculous it's so small. The floor was dirty and the whole impression was eighties dive. Compared to the fabulous pool and the outside and reception of the hotel, it makes the state of the room so much worse. Finding it hard to see where these glowing reviews have come from, they just could not have been in the hotel I was standing in two days ago!! Hopefully more people will get the clear picture and not be fooled into thinking that this is a finished project. I will make sure that I never make this same mistake again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
39.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Property: Pirates VIllage
Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing