We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids had a ball”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Stamullen, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids had a ball”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here from 06.10.2013 to 13.10.2013 and upon arrival they couldn't have been more helpful. The male receptionist was lovely and kind. I had requested a ground floor apartment as i had 2 young kids and surprisingly i got one. Anywhere else i have been have never been granted.
The rooms were a bit dated and need a major overhaul, but because we book an all inclusive holiday we didn't mind as all we done was sleep and wash there.
The pool area was amazing and the kids loved it. There were numerous differnt slides which was lovely compared to the bland pool you do see in some complex's. There were loads of different pool depths for all ages.
The food was amazing and had loads of different variaties, plus very healthy options too as i don't like feeding my children junk food all the time. We had no problem with the bar staff, if i'm honest the only problem was the vodka measures were wow a bit too strong, but that's a good complaint:). We only ate out once in the town during our stay, so that says it all about the food at the hotel.
The entertainment for the kids was very good each evening. Mini disco to start following by a show. All the pirates engaged with the kids at the mini disco and the kiddies entertainer Elisa was brilliant.
I would have no hesitation in returning back here again.

Room Tip: Not all ground floor apartments have the view of the pool, so if you want a pool view ask for the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    393
    171
    116
    90
See reviews for
1,148
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
banchory
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

the only reason im giving this 2 stars is because its in a good loction and the food was ok.

we went all inc from 13th to20th oct .the drink was dire food was ok but the snack menu was a joke you could only get certain things off the menuif you were all inc the rooms were meant to get cleaned every 2 days but they were not we got clean towels once and had to ask for that .the staff just did not want to know apart from paul the barman the pool area was great for the kids.it wasnt long before my daughter made a friend got woken one morning at 6am with the cleaner cleaning the room next door .

santa ponsa is a nice place and i would go back there.

the sad thing is this hotel has the potenial to be a good hotel.

ps.take apoop scooper for the pool

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithBanchory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel / resort while holidaying in Santa Ponsa Majorca recently. First impressions from looking at the outside it looked fantastic the pirate theme frontage is huge and very well done, makes one wonder what to expect when you enter, this is where it starts to sink deep in the water just like the wreck of a pirates ship. The reception is small and manned by only one person who has to try and look after everyone trying to book in a the same time. Imagine the delay when a coach load of people with lots of baggage arrive at the same time and with children roaring and tired babies crying. After nearly 20 Minutes waiting in this atmosphere it was I and my wife's turn to check in, after going trough the usual formalities we were informed that our room was not ready and we would have to wait a while longer, not wanting to wait in the noisy atmosphere any longer we placed our baggage in the baggage storage area and went across the road to a little cafe for a bite to eat and some drinks. After 2 hours we returned to the hotel reception where thankfully the other guests had been looked after and had been allocated their rooms, for us it was not to be made any easier our room was still not ready so we went away again for a short walk which wasted another half hour of our time. Again we returned time now being almost 4.20 pm only to be informed our room was still not ready. I think the lady on duty could sense my mood and patience were running on Red at this stage and allotted us a different room, why this could not have been done hours earlier one can only wonder, but I must say I do not blame the lady for this as she was under a lot of pressure trying to deal with a coach load of people on her own from the start. She was as we learned during our stay a very nice woman who did try her best to make everyone feel welcome and did her best to ensure any request was looked after as soon as possible. So we got to our allotted room and first impressions were not to good, the two settee beds in the kitchen / sitting room were old the material covers on them were stained / smelly, the zips on them were broken. The table and chairs were also old and showed signs of a lot of use and were not very hygienic looking. The tap in the kitchen sink was encrusted in hard lime and the draining board was dulled and unsightly also from excessive hard water lime. The electric kettle supplied was also encrusted all over the inside, and the outside was dirty on top and around the handle. There was limited cutlery utensils supplied which also were stained from excessive lime as were the cups and plates. Some of the tiles on the floor were cracked and had small holes in them which would make me worry if we had children. Flimsy patio doors were facing out on to a small balcony which also was where the air conditioning unit was stored and cut down the amount of room in an already small area, the balcony was facing out over the swimming pools area which was very nice looking, more on that later. The bedroom was large enough for a couple and had two single beds and a cot should you require same. There was a large wardrobe and table which were adequate for our clothes etc. A long narrow window high on the front wall allowed enough light into the room. We learned later that the beds were also of an old vintage as they creaked with every movement and the mattress were lumpy and uncomfortable showing signs of a lot of use. The white walls had prints of runners / shoes on them. The bathroom was large enough for what one would use it for and a shower was installed in the bath a large hand basin and mirror were also included in the fittings. A sticker showing that the toilet had been sanitised was on the seat cover but when lifted a strong smell of urine hit you in the face. Not matter how many times you flushed the toilet the smell would still remain this a believe was because the bottom of the bowl was encrusted with the now dreaded hard water lime and could not be flushed away. The tap in the basin was also effected with the lime and the water struggled to come trough same. We later discovered that the shower head was also almost completely clogged up with lime and was unusable, the curtain shower and around the bath were also discoloured from this problem and were very unhygienic looking. On the way out for a meal that evening I reported these problems to a chap on reception who took note of same. The next day while we were out the shower head was changed ( with a used one ) but did work properly and the basin tap was also freed up so the water flowed freely. Nothing was done to the kitchen tap as the water was flowing adequately and the encrusted lime which was thick around the spout was left as I was as was the kettle. I had to scrape of the lime on the tap which took me 25 minutes using a knife and listerene mouth wash to remove same. I also boiled listerene in the kettle and left it to soak for an hour to try to soften and dislodge the encrusted lime from same using a rough scrubbing pad we had bough I scrubbed the inside of the kettle 4 times before it was clean and free from lime. We also applied the same treatment to the sink / draining board to try and remove the white type scum that is now incased on the draining board. We used only bottled water for tea and drinking while in the apartment but the lime in the kettle kept coming back every couple of days and had to be scrubbed out again I believe it was infused in the seals on the inside of the kettle that were not accessible to clean. Recycling / replacing is the only answer for this appliance. The white wall in this area were also stained with what appeared to be marks from some form of footwear. We ate all our meals outside the complex except for light snacks and discovered that if you did not clean up every crumb of food the was left on the sideboard or floor a colony of ants appeared from behind the tiles on the walls around the microwave oven and proceeded to take the place over. A notice showing the rules one must abide by while in the complex stated that the Volume of the Tv must be kept at a reasonable level so as not to annoy other guests, as it turned out the volume was controlled and fixed at 20 DBS which was ok if every one was in bed and there was not another sound to be heard all over the complex. This of course did not happen as the noise from the many children playing and enjoying themselves and rightly so in the pools area during the day made it very hard to hear anything on the Tv if one was in their apartment and wanted to watch a program / news etc. During the evening from about 7pm until 11pm the nightly entertainment provided for the children was excessively loud and it was impossible to hear the Tv at all. It was just not possible to sit and relax reading a book or to just chill out because of the extreme volume of the music and vocals of the actors over the loud speakers. The staff all over the complex were extremely friendly and obliging and were always dressed as pirates to ensure that the atmosphere was in keeping with the complex theme and was exciting for the kids staying there. A safety deposit box is available in the apartments to rent @ 18 euro a week and a deposit of 20 euro is payable for the Tv remote for the duration of your stay the Tv remote deposit is refundable on checking out when same is returned to reception. The entertainment provided in the evenings for the parents and children is very good though we did hear a few complain it was repetitive, the 2 swimming pools are very good and are also entwined in the pirate theme with an island and ship wreck in the centre of the main pool, the children's pool is also well laid out in a similar theme and the children seemed to love every minuet they had in same. There is a nice lobby in two sections which have nice settees to relax on but again the noise intrudes on this area also. There is internet available for a fee and a games screen also for a fee in the lobby. A small games room with pool table and shuttle table is also available. The children play in this area until late in the evening up to 11 pm and for anyone on the outside apartments near to this area it is just another cause of noise to have to endure. The house next to the complex have some dogs and the constant barking in the mornings is very annoying this can start anytime from 7 am and it is impossible to sleep on to a later hour. Would we stay here again definitely not, it is not at all suitable to people getting on in years or couples with young babies. There is no peace to be had and so it is impossible to relax either by the pool or in your apartment. For parents with young children it would be perfect the kids have lovely pools to keep them occupied and the entertainment provided in the evenings also keeps them entertained and gives their parents a chance to enjoy a drink or snack and to relax with their children.


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a wonderful time at the Pirates Village, stayed the 9th of October for 7 days.
Stayed on an all inclusive basis, and couldn't fault the hotel, didn't encounter any problems at all found the food and drink fine. Everything to keep the children amused, our 3 year old had a wonderful time, the entertainment team involve the children in everything.Only a short walk to the lovely beach, would really consider a return visit especially as all the rooms are to be upgraded this year,really great that you have a fully equiped kitchen with microwave, kettle and fridge if you need to use them, only thing I would have liked was the pool area to be cordoned off of an evening as the stage and all the entertainment takes place really close to the deep end.
All in all a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nice family hotel with wonderful animation team and minidisco! We didn't have meals, so I can't estimate the quality of food. But apartments were very nice. I liked kitchen - we had all necessary equipment. I asked for microwave, and got it next morning without extra charge. The only thing that could be better was cleaning. You know, how it is with little babies, so cleaning every 3rd day was insufficient . But anyway we liked our holiday!!!!
Me and my 6 years old son had a fun! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s-e-v-o-4-k-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunderry, Meath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went the first week in october.. Weather was fab.. Pirates Village was fantastic on arrival my boys so excited.. Pool area lovely, kids spent hours in the pool, plenty for them to do, slides plus bigger pool for a swim. Plenty of entertainment at night for kids. we didn't eat at hotel as we where self catering so can't comment on food.. Rooms where basic spanish style apartments but clean, towels changed every two days..staff very helpful, lock on suitcase stuck, 5 mins later knock on door and sorted!! recommend bakery beside hotel..mmmmmm It's only 5min walk from beach. Plus little cafe called Bob's place hidden away does best battered Fish .. It's a little Gem. :)

Room Tip: we had baby and buggy, there was only one lift and even thoe our room was in a quite part.. it was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed all inclusive at the Pirates Village in August 2013 for 10 nights, the hotel was fully booked.

If you are a child, you will love this place, on tap drinks and ice cream, food when you want it and pools with slides, what more could a child want.

If you are an adult however things are very different. The rooms, very basic, info said would be cleaned every other day, this did not happen, towels were to be changed every other day, again this did not happen. Food, not a great choice and not very warm on some occasions and no microwave to warm it up in. Not a great selection, salad choice was the worst I have seen, you could get cucumber at breakfast but non at lunch or tea time. Kids food was always the same, pasta and some type of sauce together with chicken nuggets and something else. Not enough seats in the inside restaurant for everyone to sit at especially when it was raining. Pool area could have done with a good clean. The pool itself although looked good, had plenty of missing tiles on the inside and plenty of kids had to wear pool shoes to protect their feet from being cut. We bought our daughter some shoes after she cut her little toe quite badly. The pool bar area was filled with old tables and wicker chairs which were a bit wobbly, had screws sticking out of them and the covers were filthy. Again not enough seats for everyone to sit outside on a night to watch the entertainment. I appreciate the bar staff will bring you out a table however the tables get closer and closer to the pool which is deep and the kids are running around and anyone could fall into the pool as no barrier is put up. Only one toilet available in the hotel for people to use on a night, ok if you don't mind queuing, however a little bit ridiculous really and it was quicker to go to your room.

To be honest, don't think would return to this hotel. As someone said when we were there, it is ok if you are a chav but if you are not, you may not enjoy your stay

Room Tip: not facing the road, request a room away from the road it will be a lot quieter for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
39.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
39.0 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Property: Pirates VIllage
Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing