We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Accommodation basic, food not good, entertainment poor and very, very loud as held outside. Not enough seats to watch it anyway. No food available on arrival at five past nine because restaurant closed at nine. Only saving grace for this complex are the beautiful swimming pools but sunbeds placed right up to the edge of the shallow pool made it difficult to access at times. Would not return.

Room Tip: As far away from the entertainment area as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    388
    171
    115
    89
See reviews for
1,132
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with two kids 1 and 6 looks amazing from outside. We read the reviews and really didn't know what to think we are not fussy at all this was our 1st holiday in a few years. When we arrived we were told our room wasn't ready and it would b over an hour untill we could get in so tht was a nightmare hanging about with kids who desperately wanted changed for the pool. We read all the diffrent reviews about the food and honestly though we would b ok as we are not fussy so disappointed wasn't really anything to choose from and the stuff that was there didn't even go as a main meal... The main concern for me was the entertainment right beside the pools very dangerous my son kept runing towards the pools wasn't relaxing for us atall. I defo wouldn't recommend it to anyone with young kids ur holiday will b a nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The pool area is great for kids,slides for all ages etc.the food is terrible! The dining area is chaos,it's too small and the selection is about a quarter of what most all inclusive hotels offer.you have to queue up no matter what the time is.i would hate to be here in peak periods.it really lets down a decent hotel.i stayed for 10 days and didn't have a main meal for the last 4 of them.just couldn't be bothered with the hassle!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephmcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is very nice and the pool area great for kids with the slides. Entertainers are fun people and make it so special for the kids. The rooms are what you would expect for this price and they were clean but the food is totally inedible. Most days I couldn't even eat as it was just so badly cooked. Meat was over done to the point of it being hard, salads were not fresh and the veg was limp and watery. I gave a piece of fish a go one day and it was like rubber. If we were not all inclusive I'm sure it would have been a great holiday but the food let it down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed in a themed room, although this was still pretty basic. This was really the only downside.
Entertainment is all obviously centred around the kids which is what we went for. The staff work extremely hard to put on a good show.
I've had lots of experiences of staying all inclusive and really I don't know why people are complaining about the food. Not a lot of choice but always fresh and hot.
If its a holiday for the kids you're after then this really is a great place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just returned home after a last minute 7 day stay at Pirates Village and all we can say is don't be put off by the negative reviews. We arrived with our 5 year old son ( who didn't know he was going til the morning of the flight) and we wern't disappointed . The only bad thing about the holiday was the transfer from the airport to the hotel which took nearly 2 hours as we were the last drop off. Would recommend just getting a taxi 39 euros and 20 minutes. As soon as we arrived we were impressed with the exterior and our little boy was so excited. Our room wasn't ready but the lovely lady on reception checked us in and told us to leave our luggage in a room and go and get something to eat in the buffet restaurant. Having done this we went back and our room was ready. We were going to book the pirate themed room but to be honest I'm glad we saved our money as there is nothing wrong with the standard ones. There is everything in there that you would need. There are plenty of beds around the pool but you do have to be down early to get them beside the smaller pool/slide area. The beds are tied up on an evening and aren't unlocked til around 9 in the morning so there is a bit of a mad rush. If you are lucky the lifeguards may leave the odd ones left out if there are people still sunbathing when they go. Food was abit repetitive but you would never starve and there are a good selection of drinks. All in all this was a great holiday and are now looking at going back next year, but the prices seem to have gone up quite a bit, which may be due to them refurbishing all the rooms to pirate themed room. We will definately be back at some point.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the entertainment area so if you want an early night you are out of look but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family of 6 (2 grandparents,our son,wife and their 3 and 7 year old boys) have just returned from a week here and our only regret is that we didnt book 2 weeks.The pirates met us from the drop off coach and that was the start of the fun.The best thing about the place has to be the amazing pool area,tho the water temp takes bit of getting used to,this didnt stop kids from staying in the pool and on the slides for hours.The apts are large and kept spotless though a bit dated.The staff we met all worked hard and were very pleasant.The AI package was,we felt,ideal for a mixed age family with good food and very good snacks.The self serve beer,wine and ice-cream was particularly popular with our lot.The meals are buffet style with show chef cooking beef,chicken,kebabs and such like.There was always something to choose and standard was,in my opinion,very good.Only downside was sometimes having to queue for main meat dish or fried eggs,bacon.The staff went out of their way to get my 3yr old grandson and his parents on stage on his birthday to give him a massive cake and gave him a present of a free pic with all the parrots(yes parrots) which would normally incur a charge and id like to thank them all very much again for this.If you do wish to leave the hotel,Santa Ponsa is a very nice resort with a lovely beach.Going to the entertainment square is better in a taxi(trust me).There is a bus station at the end of the road where you can catch cheap buses to most places like Palma and Magaluf.Im not sure if the Pirates village is for older couples but if you go with kids youll love it.

Room Tip: All rooms face pool.Ask for 1st floor some ground floor rooms a bit dark and lifts not the best to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ahlbbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
39.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Property: Pirates VIllage
Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing